Has anyone seen the BBC Documantery " The Monkey Haters" ?

• 20-06-2023 11:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,263 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

I have not. I just seen a bit about it on the BBC news at 10. Some evil horrible people out there.

How could anyone do that to a poor defenceless animal? It makes my so angry. Animals have feelings and feel pain too. I would love to see the people who done this to the monkeys or any animal tortured too. See how they like it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Confused11811

I thinks it called the "Hunting the monkey torturers"

Very very destressing details here. DON'T READ IF YOU ARE FAINT OF HEART - https://www.bbc.com/news/extra/Iot1dIWVS5/hunting-the-monkey-torturers

However it was an amazing bit of investigating and investigative journalism which helped expose such a horrible thing. As inhumane as what happened was there was great fortitude and humanity in those seeking to get justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,356 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just wtf, there are some very sick depraved people out there. The quote below, from the BBC article, just tore me up.

And he tortured her for a year, right to the very end.

“When I remember her I feel really sorry,” Ajis said, crying again.

“Even though I was evil to her, she loved me."

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,172 ✭✭✭✭banie01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,263 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I thinks it called the "Hunting the monkey torturers"

No you must be getting it mixed up with another one.

It was definitely called "The Monkey Haters"

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just read that and jesus that's horrific. It was a hard read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Confused11811

My bad, it's the same subject matter with different titles. The article which I linked is a follow up to the documentary. It's probably the most disturbing thing I've come across in a while.

It's worrying to think that stuff is floating around on hidden groups and forums on various social media platforms. It also occurred to me that it's probably a feeder habit/scene to similar activities towards humans.

I've read stories of how Facebook content moderators and reviewers suffer with PTSD .... I can understand why now.

Hope it torments the scum until the day he dies.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I read this yesterday, but didn't watch the video attached to the story. I honestly was in shock after reading it. I still can't process it.

I looked today and the story was gone, but that story about some people in a sub is still news. I didn't see any mention of it on Irish media.

I don't know which is worse, this happens or people just could not care.

I guess it's no worse than sending your waste to the 3rd world for poor people and children to scramble over it and other mountains of waste and poisons to "recycle" it.

Or sending 100,000s live calves to Europe and Africa every year crammed into caged to be slaughtered cause we can make a few extra bob, and we prefer others to do the dirty work.

I think we have gone mad as a species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

There are some really messed up people out there. Animal cruelty isn't taken seriously enough in general. Ireland is a bit of an embarrassment in that regard. I'd love to know why we don't see stronger penalties introduced, it would seem like something every party would get behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't know which is worse, this happens or people just could not care.

I don't know if it's that people don't care - I think it's more that anyone who thinks about it for a second probably recognises that there is so much heinous stuff going on in the shadows around the world, but that we only have a limited amount of emotional runtime to devote to it. We're not built to expose ourselves to every evil of the world, and even less so to defeat every one. The best of us pick one or two causes to pursue and that's usually all they can do as individuals.

That's humanity in a nutshell - a lot of good and a lot of evil. Hopefully ye encounter more of the former than the latter...

I think people would care - they just don't know about it. Or they care so much that it's too upsetting for them to face it. I know this doesn't help but most people abhor cruelty.

After seeing this, an item on the news about a little girl who was abused to death, and an item about a nursing home where residents were sexually assaulted... lads I'm in ribbons. What a world... 💔

I count my blessings every day because I'm one of the lucky ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I watched a little of it last night - Jesus, tough watch. Some seriously sick **** requested "pull its teeth out" - That c**t need to be traced and incarcerated for a long time (at a minimum) along with the rest of them of course