The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Lionel Fusco

But that's nonsense if team C aren't good enough to beat the rubbish that shipped 2 hammerings they don't belong in the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Sure they just put the names in the hat, pull them out and when the draw doesn't suit, try again! That's what I heard this morning.

But all will become clear when we get to the semis and all this back door by any route nonsense is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,686 ✭✭✭tanko

What happened there was exactly what the black card was brought in for, dragging a player down to deny a goal scoring opportunity but of course the incompetent biased referee bottles the decision and gives a yellow card. A few minutes later a Westmeath player rugby tackles a Tyrone player to the ground, a stonewall black card but surprise surprise the clueless referee flashes the yellow. To cap it all he gives a really soft free at the death for Westmeath, shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,279 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

That doesn't prove head to head is unfair though - all you've done is provide an example of where head to head comes up with a different outcome to points difference. Which is something we all know is possible.

It's appears you are starting from a viewpoint that points difference is completely fair, and that therefore any other method which can come up with a different outcome must be unfair. Whereas in truth they are both unsatisfactory artificial means of separating teams who have performed almost equally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,607 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

blanch was talking about the Mayo vs Cork game as a "big game" that they always choke in.

So if that is the level of "big game" that they "always lose" then he is wrong because they have won a ton of much bigger games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,738 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The split condensed season is really rearing it's head now. 2 hurling quarter finals, 4 football preliminary quarters and 2 Tailteann semis all on the same weekend. Way too much. Some big games won't be on TV...again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Had a look at the rule there and it's as follows:

5.41 Notwithstanding provisions of existing Playing Rules 2.2 Exception (i), 5 and specifically 5.40, if one of the following infractions-

(a) To deliberately pull down an opponent (5.10) or

(b) To deliberately trip an opponent with hand (s), arm, leg, or foot, (5.11) or

(c) To deliberately collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play (5.12)

is committed on an attacking player who or, in the case of a Rule 5.12 (Football) Infraction, his team, is denied of a goal-scoring opportunity, as defined in Important Terms and Definitions 9, the following penalties shall apply:

(i) A Penalty Kick shall be awarded to the team affected.

(ii) The offender shall be issued with a Black Card and be sent to the Sin Bin for 10 minutes.

For me, that incident clearly falls into 5.41 (b) and should have been a black card & penalty for Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,311 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Kildare used to jam Croke Park under the Micko Era? All decked out in brand new pearly white geansai's. The Kildare support are just as flaky as their team. Probably worse than Cork, because Kildare should be doing miles better.

What I meant was it didn't really matter not as much as the Leinster Final where Kildare bottled it and then Ryan came out with excises.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭howiya

All games are never equal. Teams have injuries etc, play at home or away...

As someone else said nothing in your example points to it being unfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭PressRun

That is a genuinely lazy analysis of both of those incidents, but typical of general GAA supporters who literally don't know what they're watching most of the time. Stray kickouts are generally down to high presses and lack of options and space. The missed free was a last minute difficult kick with heavy legs in a replay where the game had been helter-skelter for 70 mins. James McCarthy literally said after the game that it was the toughest match he had ever played. In the drawn game, it was O'Connor who kicked a huge point from 40 yards from play to force the replay.

I think that's by design. The GAA would prefer big bums on seats in grounds rather than sitting rooms

The only thing I would say about Derry if Glass/wine Rodgers gets injured they are fecked. Very dependent on those two lads especially Glass.

Some of the attendances at yesterday's games would indicate they're not getting bums on seats. c.6,800 at Galway and Armagh.

Either way cramming all those games into one weekend is silly and too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭recyclebin

The other thing they haven't considered in a condensed season is spectators can't give up every weekend in such a short period to travel the country to see their team play. Come Monday morning and no one knows what day, time and location they will be playing the next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

H2H is perfect. It's like a mini knockout between two teams.

The jeopardy of not winning the group is a more gruelling fixture schedule.

It's home venue so they do know the location at least.

I don't see why it's too many games in one weekend. If you'd 16 teams playing in a club championship you'd have 8 games the one weekend.

The days of one ulster championship game a week and dragging it out over months are gone thankfully.

Most of the complaining seems to be coming from those not directly involved too. Any player I've heard interviewed or chatted to privately is enjoying the more games more often instead of training.

Take your Galway Armagh example. On TV. More would have gone if it wasnt on TV. Which is what the GAA want.

I'm not a big fan of neutral venues. There is a format where all teams can get 2 home games each. Basically 2 groups of 8 but only playing 4 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bobby_Bolivia

Galway Mayo on Sunday and the other 3 on Saturday is the latest.

The rugby is doing that now with groups where you are measured against teams you don't even play. It's absolutely stupid shte.

Ide say one game will definitely be Sunday and you would imagine it will be the big fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,541 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

First round of the Limerick County Football championship is scheduled to start Thursday 29th June, second round following weekend, hurling scheduled to start 3rd of August.

Slava Ukrainii

Still no word on fixtures for next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Cluxton and Rock both kicked last-minute points to win All-Irelands with the time almost up. Where were their heavy legs? Those are the margins between being a good or very good team to being a winning team and ultimately a great team. Those small margins, those small incidents, explained away as you do, made the difference.

Anyway I'll leave it there, as we are talking about this year's Championship, all I was saying is that the last 20 minutes from Mayo yesterday fitted the pattern of the last decade. If Mayo win it, you can come back and tell me I was wrong, but in my original post, I did say that at some point they may learn the lesson and harden the mentality. Perhaps this year, but I severely doubt it.

In fairness to Mayo though a better comparison would be Dublin 09-11. Dublin felt the weight of pressure and struggled to get over the line. It is the reason why I would struggle to back Mayo in final. They are much better when there is zero expectation on them.

If Derry/Galway were in a final I would give them a chance to win it on the day. Good systems keeps them in games always have a chance to let the play with spark do a bit of magic. But poor auld Mayo would likely crumble if they say the winning line in an AIF, They would have to fall over it the decades of pressure is way too much. I would even give the Rossies a better chance of winning a final on the day ahead of Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Lots of teams used to jam Croke park, and now lots of teams don't sell out grounds a quarter the size of it.

You don't need to be a rocket doctor to think of a few reasons why that is.

I understand that but all of a sudden Kildare come out with massive numbers when things look good. I always think if they had a fraction of that support/passion when things were tough might lift the team a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭PressRun

Sometimes heavy legs effect the kicking of the ball and sometimes you can get it over. Like I said, in the previous game, O'Connor kicked a last second point to get the replay in the first place, a similar high pressure kick. Sometimes they go over and sometimes they don't. This idea that absolutely everything is down to being a "bottler" or not is the type of shite talk you hear in pubs from people who've never kicked a ball. The team in those finals didn't lack bottle, they lacked the extra bit of quality up front really, but that's not as nifty a line to roll out.

The performance yesterday was a collective meltdown and the full exposure of the number 6 experiment as a failure. I don't expect management to change it up because they're utterly married to it now. The dogs on the street saw it wasn't working in February and they're persisting with it, so let them fall on their sword I suppose.

Cork and Roscommon is on Saturday at 2pm in PUC. What a crap time.

Screenshot_20230619_155813_Twitter.jpg

Galway Mayo clashing on TV overlapping with both the Tailteann Cup games. Where's the logic in that??