If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

VW ID.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭Soarer

So what are these yokes like to life with guys?

Mrs. S's Prius is showing its age and we're thinking of changing.

It's the Life DX model, so has a bit of kit onboard.

Size of boot, real world range, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Range on 20" wheels 370-400km Summer, 290-300km Winter. Mix of 100/120kph heavy foot on motorways, 60-80kph roads, full comforts (20C cabin, heated seats/steering wheel in Winter, plenty of sub zero commuting) and AC on full blast in Summer. D mode, normal driving. No range mode/B mode driving.

Boot very similar to a Golf.

Thanks Davey. More than enough for anything we'd ever really do in one sitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 566 ✭✭✭electricus

I really like my ID.3 but based on price and spec, I'd be looking at second hand if I was buying now. €42,212.00 is a lot for the Life DX compared to some of the newer alternatives, even allowing for 0% PCP. For example the top spec MG4 is €36,500.

But with the pcp at about 7% on the MG, you’d end up paying more.

Plus I’d like to think the ID would hold its value better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭adunis

New id3 is 39k otr with zero options

I was hoping that too but VW dealer is offering 27-28k trade in for my 212 tour5 with decent spec and 77kWh battery. It was about 41k new. I know to expect high depreciation in first few years but not so much when new prices are still so high

The one I’m looking at is the Life DX, which has a decent amount of options and metallic paint.

Assuming you could sell it privately easily enough for a lot more?

To

i checked the price out of curiosity, not really looking to sell at all. It’s a great car and I’m really happy with it but the current pricing would give me second thoughts if I was buying now.

This is also true, 0% PCP swung the deal for me at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭September1

If possible get one with IQ lights, which I think is best feature on those cars. It does suffer more from winter than I28 and rumor is that even heat pump is quite poor.

Can’t spec anything I’m afraid. Stock car, which is why it’s 0%. Could go for the newer model, but then paying 2.9%. Not outlandish, but something I don’t need to be paying.

I’m not overly enamoured about spending this much money on an ID3, especially when the otr price of a model 3 is a couple of grand cheaper!

But when I put the VW pcp figures into the Tesla calculated, the Model 3 would be costing me €300 per month more at their 6.9% apr. Total interest over the 3 years comes in at €4776. Optional final payment for the model 3 is a lot less @ €13k ish

That’s a whole pile of cash that’s better off in my pocket than someone else’s.

Anyways, we’re gone way off the topic. The ID3 isn’t a bad yoke? Cruise control reliable? Keyless entry/egress? Apple/Android connection? Phone app?

Post edited by Soarer on

It has all of those features and the latest software is a huge improvement.

the phone app is basic but improving - it now shows location and warns if a doors or windows are left open. Map destinations can be sent to the car too, that didn’t work for a long time!

CarPlay and Android auto are well integrated, I haven’t had problems.

Cruise control and lane assist work well, it used to misread speed signs regularly but that has improved a lot (not sure if this works the same without travel assist?)

Overall it’s a nice car to drive, fairly quick, and comfortable on long journeys. The boot can fit a couple of large suitcases with room fora smaller case and soft bags, I’ve found it big enough for a family of 4 on a week away.it can’t take a roof load unfortunately

The service plans is worth considering, especially if it still includes tyres as if you get one with Bridgestones you will find they wear relatively quickly.

can’t think of anything else right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Comer1

18" wheels, 300 to 350km in summer, 220 to 280km in winter. Not by any means a heavy foot. That was my experience anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,378 ✭✭✭KCross

it can’t take a roof load unfortunately

It can handle a roof box if needed

Cruise control and lane assist work well, it used to misread speed signs regularly but that has improved a lot (not sure if this works the same without travel assist?)

ACC and sign recognition is on all of them. Works very well. I think lane assist just gives you the ability to auto stay in the centre of the lane. Without lane assist it will bounce between the lines (ie lane departure warning)

The service plans is worth considering, especially if it still includes tyres as if you get one with Bridgestones you will find they wear relatively quickly.

The service plan used include 4 tyres, it got reduced to 2 tyres, not sure if it’s still that or not but it’s not as good value as it used be anyway.

+1 on the Bridgestones. Melted off mine. Goodyears were much better.

It can handle a roof box if needed

I know a box can be fitted and works well for you @KCross but officially its not approved by VW:

image.png

not sure about the warranty or insurance implications bas d on that. I can’t even get the bike carrier fitted on my Tour5 because of weight limitations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭joe1303l

That’s a really poor trade in price but looks like VW seem to have a glut of used EV’s that aren’t selling. Unless your car has high Kms on it, customers were getting at least that money for 58kWh models earlier this year. Tesla recently cutting prices probably hasn’t helped.

Looks that way, quite a few with good spec and low mileage In the mid to high 20k price range.

https://www.joeduffy.ie/find-a-vehicle/volkswagen/id.3?priceType=cash&vehicleType=car&page=1

I suppose its the effect of Tesla reductions but unlike Tesla, VW are keeping prices high, though with low pcp rates to compensate - edit: clever as it makes it easier to buy new, even at the higher prices (as @Soarer has discovered)

I’m going to keep mine for a (good) few years which should level out the depreciation.The market will hopefully have settled when I’m ready to buy again.

Post edited by electricus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Mupchease

I want to test out how my battery is fairing after 100,000km what obd is recommended for the id3 ? No noticeable drop in range with the buffer. Same as new but I’m interested to see what it’s actually lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Stevie2001

Saw on offer today on done deal of 31k for a 232 ID3 58kWh Life after scrappage

0% APR too and gmfv of 22k

9k over 3 years/ €250 a month

Gonna be a alot of EV owners badly burnt over next few years.

When Volvo can make a 300bhp, 400km SUV for under 40k you know the low hanging fruit have been caught already.

I might finally be able afford an EV soon, that ID3 offer is insane for someone with a scrapper, or even just buy a scrapper for peaunts and register it, I doubt VW will care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

What were the actual PCP figures you saw, deposit, payments, balloon payment? I've tried the VW site but it actually gives me a headache trying to navigate it😡

This was over the phone, but they're easy to work out anyway with the 0% PCP.

For the in-stock ID3 (Life DX with metallic), the OTR price is €42,912.

The guaranteed future value/balloon payment is €22,326.

So you're financing €20,586.

Take whatever deposit you want off that figure (minimum is €4,500, max is €13,300), and then divide the remainder by 36.

So say you've €10,000 deposit, that's €10,586 divided by 36 = €294 per month for 36 months.

Don't ask me the numbers when interest is applied!

Don't think there are any ID3s at 0% anymore. All sold. You might get a base model ID4 on 0%, but that has no reversing camera on a near €50k car!

Don't think those numbers are correct @Stevie2001 .

And even if they were, the chances of you getting an ID3 Life at this stage is minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

That 22k balloon payment is a killer as it leaves you feck all for a future deal. I'd be happier with a higher monthly of around 350 and a smaller settlement figure. They only seem to tweak deposit and monthly payments which is sneaky, something they nicked from BMW and Mercedes 😏

Yeah, but not paying interest softens the blow.

If you walk away after the 3 years, it's only cost you what you've put into it.

You'd have to imagine they'll have to throw you some sort of a bone as regards equity in 3 years time. Otherwise there'll be a rake of ID3s and ID4s being returned and customers lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,378 ✭✭✭KCross

Gonna be a alot of EV owners badly burnt over next few years.

Its a run out model before the refresh comes in, so they are simply shifting stock. That offer wont affect residuals.

Its like how Tesla give offers at the end of the quarter to shift the last of the stock but as soon as they are gone the price goes back up for the next batch and people buying/selling those cars in 3+ years time wont be looking back at what the price was on the day the car was registered. They'll be looking at the market price which will be dictated by the OEM's/dealers/etc.

Cross you can't deny that prices are coming down across the board and used in particular are dropping like a rock, I don't get your affecting residuals :) Real people here are posting trade ins they are being quoted and in private market someone posted a 3 year old Kona EV for 20k in the bargain thread a few days ago, which would have never happened 18 months ago, residuals are dropping hard.