Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merging of PGA Tour, DP World Tour and LIV!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

LIV can still roll on. In fact it could get stronger now that there isn't the jeopardy of losing the PGA Tour Card and world ranking points.

What would now stop Rahm, Spieth, Thomas, Matsuyama and Scheffler joining a team?

It's also very important for the Saudis to not just have an east coast of America tour. They'll be wanting to show their flex all around the world. So LIV in that aspect is very important to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Russman

On a lighter note it will be interesting to see how some of them respond if asked how wanting to play less golf being a reason for joining LIV has now changed 😀

Could we see something like the ladies have with the ARAMCO team series maybe ? Wind LIV up and have a few team events around the globe in the off season ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭coillcam

There may be an element of "Ye took the soup!" at play for potential Euro Captains down the line. Although considering the ownership situation it's more likely their loyalty or compliance will be rewarded if anything.

I think the stadium/TGL product and Liv will merge in some way. The main tour will still be #1 but I suspect the new hybrid product will be pumped to the gills with prizemoney and promos. Expect to see more global stops for the pga tour, particularly the middle east. I wouldn't rule out a complete re-branding or re-tiering of the tours.

Could be something along the lines of:

Main Global Tour (US/Middle East) + periodic LIV/TGL events.

--------------------------------------------------------------

The remaining PGA/KF merge to one entity and DP/Asia merge to another entity.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Other regional feeders may change also.

What will be interesting for me is how the USGA and R&A deal with the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭TinaTiernan

It's all about money at the end of the day and with this, they'll all be richer.

PGA already upped the money to compete with LIV.

Rory is some eejit for saying he hates LIV but has no problem with PIF. He can't get any closer to saying he wants some of that sweet saudi money.

The rich get richer while us peasants will just face increased tv subscriptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is very likely and it saves face for the PGA hold outs. LIV will exist but maybe a different name. The Team Event thing is a definite for the future.

But saying that, I think they always had the ambition to have franchise teams. The IPL in Cricket is something that has interested a lot of people in the middle East.

But he has no real other option. On the face of it, its better for top level tournament golf insofar as prize money will go up (we assume), that's pretty much all the pros care about. They'd play golf in a car park if you paid them enough. He can't retire at 34 so he has to suck it up. There are some fights he can't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm saying that Rory categorically stated at his press conference that Liv is not a part of this merger.

He doubled down by saying he has always and still does hate Liv.

I don't think he'd be found that if it was part if the merger.

If it is then I think it'll change things for a lot of the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I'll never give up on Majors as I love them, as they mean something ....but was at this stage , somewhat sick of bog standard PGA events and the lack of meaning (as all so wealthy) ...I'm finished with the PGA now ..just so mercenary and all the stars, seem sort of brain dead, one dimensional spoilt children. Their answer to anything is ..we are golfers...we have no world view ..no responsibility..no ethical position...no opinion...I hit this driver 14 yards longer as I just signed for them..

Most of these guys have gone to college, but they seem completely out of touch with the real world ...modern life is very odd. America is particularly odd.

I'm 100 % finished with the nonsense of the Ryder Cup ..are they all going to be hugging and crying and a love in again at that....give me a break..

Perhaps I'll get more into amateur golf or give the european tour another go..find something that means something, has heart, soul and hope..

I'm sick of the lot of them..Phil , Greg , Poulter , Garcia , Bryson ...even sick of likes of McGinley and all the podcasters and broadcasters...

Golf is genuinely worse than soccer from a selfishness perspective...never imagined I'd see something worse than soccer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Have to agree with a lot of that Fix.

I was more interested in the East Of Ireland last weekend than what was happening in whatever tournament was going on in the states and, Tom McKibbins victory aside, the DP World Tour.

Zero interest in paying Sky Sports to watch PGA golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I think this is an opportunity for golf to go back to the drawing board. The finances are there now to satisfy the players and make some big changes. The calendar should be fundamentally reconsidered, and the structure of each weekend should be looked at. Do we need Thursday golf? Should all events have a cut line? More exclusive tournaments, smaller fields, etc. All on the table now imo. That's what this merger will be about. Use this platform to reimagine professional golf and set it up to win new fans and engage the global TV audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Well said. It really shows the silver lined bubble these rich golfers live in. "I'm just a golfer" or "that's above my pay grade"(!) are just not good enough (something like "I was only taking orders", but getting paid millions for it). And then those rich a-holes tweeting pictures of their fabulous holiday locations. Yeah, wouldn't you love to be following them. Such role models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

Agreed.

PIF wanted heavy investment/ownership in the PGA Tour. Mission accomplished. LIV has served it's purpose and will be gone in the next year or two.

PIF are now going to pump billions into the PGA Tour and own 40% of it. That makes them major players in global golf, which is what they wanted. Why would they continue to feed the loss-making money pit that LIV is? They won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

And all those players who signed up have to stay for their big money. Mickelson's contract was $100 million up front and then $33 million in three payments set over time. I'd imagine all the contracts are the same.

I think this is it exactly. Time will tell I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I’ve reassessed my interest in watching golf since LIV came about. I realised I don’t really care who wins a regular PGA Tour event or a DP World Tour event. And no way did I give a damn if Pat Perez or Phil made another bunch of money winning on the LIV Tour.

I like the Majors and will continue to watch them. I like the Irish Open as I can go watch these guys in the flesh. I still find that interesting. It’s an enjoyable few days out.

I watch the Ryder cup but never get excited about who wins. The behaviour of the American fans is probably the only reason I want the European team to win. It’s a pretty meaningless comp in reality imo.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Pretty much the same except I've no interest in the PGA Major, watch a few days/evenings of golf a year and that's plenty, rest I can grab quick highlights on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Next sport the saudis gobble up they'll have learnt from this

Jump first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

has this been posted?

I think Rory did as good as can be expected from the questions, the timing of it all, and how much he knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Inseparable means unable to be separated. They clearly are so my point is that you're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Excellent interview. Rory really speaks well and made his points clearly. He's a great ambassador for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,800 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

“Cop on you child”…jeez I wonder why you got warned for such a civil post 🥴

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Oh sorry bro, was just replying to your post…context y’know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,881 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Would love to see Mcllroy win again in Canada this week just to stick it to Jay Monaghan and Jimmy Dunne who threw him under the bus.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Can't be talking about warnings on a thread broheim. Got another warning for the one above!

FFS, would LIV golf exist without PIF?

Are you purposely being obtuse, or are you just trying to be a smart arse saying one is an investment fund, the other a golf organisation?