Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Who was calling for JOB to be a flanker? Perhaps you could recognise that just because players are on a team that won a final, doesn't mean they're better than alternatives from other provinces, or that they're better fits for Farrell's plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Are you putting Henshaw firmly in the 13 bracket or is he a 12 when it comes to Irish and Leinster selection? I am not quite sure what positions Osborne, Frawley and indeed Jimmy O’Brien are supposed to be. Seems to be very random. Personally I prefer specialists rather than selections based on certain narratives.

Ringrose and Henshaw injured - Aki suspended. Who is your centre pairing?

McCloskey and Jimmy O'Brien - if it's a sudden issue that crops up within a camp (like the Italy game this year).

Obviously if they've longer to plan or if its a longer term issue, they'll look further down the depth chart and call in additional players.

Also, congrats for making those player's versatility sound like a negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Are you putting Henshaw firmly in the 13 bracket or is he a 12 when it comes to Irish and Leinster selection? 

I'm not putting him in any bracket - it is the Ireland coach who, without fail, picks Henshaw at 13 when Ringrose is not available. Henshaw is both Ireland's first choice 12 and second choice 13.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I don't think Farrell, or Cullen, care too much about the old-fasioned stereotypes of openside, blindside and even no. 8.

France has never made any distinction and it has never really harmed them.

It's just about getting your best players there and finding a balance. If your 6 or your prop or hooker or lock can jackal, your 7 can tackle anything that moves, your 8 can pass of both hands... as long as you have fit, talented players with all the bases of pack play covered it's not important which numbers they all wear.

Yeah, that's a fair point, and I do think there's something to be said for a combo that just gets your best players out there, but I still think the best sides through international rugby history have tended to have guys who've played quite defined roles in the backrow.

I know rugby has evolved, and already Ireland are playing in this kind of way arguably (it comes across in interviews with Doris / Conan etc when they discuss how Doris still retains elements of the traditional 8's role while playing at 6), but I do think there is a specific sort of skillset from the 7 that other players don't drop as seamlessly into.

Obviously Farrell, O'Connell, Easterby and Co don't share that view.

I would not include Farrell in that judgement. He rightfully recognised that far and away his best 8 is Doris and picks him there. Cullen did not have his best row combination on the field. And we see what happened.

Antoine Frisch is not only a 13, despite what Munster choose to do with him. Having taken the time to check his club history you should have noticed that he has played at 12 his entire career (when not used as a utility bench player or starting at full back) before moving to Thomond.

You'd probably get slaughtered for suggesting we drop Furlong for the same reason!

Consistently performing... he played two games against a frankly underwhelming Gloucester and Racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

And the way Munster play, he and Fekitoa have been very interchangeable during the match. It was very noticeable at times on Saturday, for example.

He played in 12 of Leinster's first 19 games this season, starting 10 of those. Missed the Cardiff game because he was in the 6N squad, and missed some of the earlier season games because he went on the EI Tour. Started interpros against Munster (twice) and Ulster, subbed against Connacht.

Played 3 times in Europe, starting twice, getting MotM against Gloucester.

He was consistently playing well, and deserved his selection into the 6N squad, where he evidently impressed the coaches. He's a 6ft 4 guy who just turned 21 years old who is a good enough footballer to have started games in 4 different positions this season, and who is pacy and athletic enough to start on the wing as well.

In what possible world is it controversial that a guy with this profile is in the Ireland squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,673 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

He looked excellent while at it. He's probably the most exciting player to come through since Fitzgerald and Earls. Farrell is absolutely right to back him over Frisch

Regardless of his position, Frisch's club history doesn't really help the argument.

He was playing in ProD2 in France, then was a back-up at Bristol before being released after one season, but now we're missing a trick by not picking him for the national team?

He's a grand player but it's very hard to think he's hard done by in being left out of the Ireland squad, especially in a position where we have so much strength.

Osborne played two full games at 12 against Ulster, before Ngatai injured his hamstring.

By all accounts Bristol had no choice but release him after an administrative error relating to the salary cap. I knew nothing of him before Munster signed him but Bristol fans seemed to be very disappointed to be losing him.

I don't think anyone is saying he's a world beater but when there's no hard and fast limit to squad sizes, it would surely be worth bringing him (and a couple of others) in for a look. Schmidt named 44 in 2019 for the training squad.

Frisch was actually in line to be capped by France during their summer tour to Japan last season but couldn't go through injury. Galthie selected him for the French Barbarians in November also but he withdrew from the squad.

Well the form tight head is Stephen Archer.

editing for fat fingers typing and bad autocorrect.

Post edited by cuttingtimber22 on

I never thought he’d be included. But he absolutely is the form TH over the last 3 months. It’s his best spell in years, he’s been brilliant.

I don’t think it’s out of the question that Bealham could be our starting TH at the RWC tbh.

Bealham is the form TH, having proved that at the highest international level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,784 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Safe to say there's a lot of bias towards Leinster players in the World Cup training squad... If we don't do well in France it will be the reason... The IRFU really need to stop relying on the one province for players if they want trophies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Has Dave Kilcoyne adapted his game much under Rowntree? Not sure I've ever seen him pass , but didn't see much of him this season. Not sure how the Kilcoyne of old would fit into Ireland's attaching system.

Fair to say there's a lot of bias in the World Cup training squad towards the lads who just won a Grand Slam for us.

Cop on to yourself, will you?

Would be fantastic if people could knock the provincial sniping and bullshit on it's head for a few months and just focus on the RWC.

Doesn’t change my point of “Last 3 months”. Last International game was March.

Since then, Archer’s been in better form imo.

Highly debatable, and Archer has never been near good enough for international duty.

If we want to compare players, I think we need to do so in good faith and compare the same things.

Frisch was playing in ProD2 while Osborne was playing U20s. Kind of pointless to compare. Frisch was several years older at that point and had never been considered for national selection at underage level nor had be made it in the Top14, being cast adrift from SF without an appearance. He's very much an example of a late bloomer.

Whatever your views on the English premiership, his potential was recognised and he got regular playing time at Bristol where his potential was again recognised by Munster. He's had a very good first season there and it would not be a huge surprise if he earned a call-up to an extended squad (probablmy a surprise to his former coaches in France, that said). He did make the Emerging Ireland squad before he'd even established himself at Munster so his potential has again been recognised by the Irish coaches.

In his brief appearances, Jamie Osborne has turned heads. He's attracted attention and huge praise from players, pundits and coaches. There's little doubt that he's a serious talent. He first got luck with injuries to other players giving him a shot, then unlucky with his own injuries. He does not, at this point, have a body of work from which to ascertain if he is an international-level player. It takes not just a huge level of talent but also consistent performances to make that level, and a lot of players just will not get there. There are examples within and without this Ireland squad (Larmour, McCarthy and Baloucoune have the talent but are just missing the consistency or the versatility, Kleyn and Daly have the consistency but perhaps not the level of talent the coaches require).

Osborne, Stockdale and a few others have been selected presumably based entirely on promise and Ross Byrne and Kieran Treadwell for example seem to be there primarily for their consistency, at least where the national team is concerned. Some players seem to just fit the Ireland system better and that's a perfectly fine criterion for selection as well.

I think it's fair to debate the merits of players and the reasons for their selection without all this tiresome accusation of bias, accusing posters of hysteria or blindness or ignorance for having an opposing viewpoint. It's the Ireland squad, after all. We're supposed to be fans.

• Administrators Posts: 56,559 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I've never claimed he has been. But on recent form he's been superb. Yet your "lol" response is typical of the kind of disparaging remark he attracts.

It's part of the reason I've been really enjoying his recent form, tbh.

I can't speak for others but I'm posting 100% in good faith.

I wasn't comparing Frisch to Osborne because, as I keep saying, they're not in competition with each other. I was just saying the only basis on which to judge Frisch is his time at Munster, all of which has been at 13 and which has been up and down, if we're being honest.

If we're just looking at Frisch in isolation, and whether or not he deserves to be in this squad, the body of evidence in his favour is pretty thin. If he had been called up, as you say it wouldn't have been a shock, but equally he's not particularly hard done by to find himself on the outside.

You rightly point out that he was in the Emerging Ireland squad... but take that to its logical conclusion. The coaches had a couple of weeks to look at him and declined to look at him again. That's in contrast to Crowley, Frawley, Nash, Stewart, McCarthy and Prendergast who find themselves in the wider RWC squad seven months later.

Even from a Munster perspective, I would say Shane Daly has a lot more cause for complaint.