Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭dunnerc

All these Leinster wins hollow and tainted lol... i enjoyed every one of them , especially the ones against your lot 😂🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,116 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

@royalcelt is indicative at the type of fan who is bitter about their own counties mismanagement and underachieving- how have Meath done in qualifiers/league?? Since Boylan?

So instead they look for a pantomime villain in this case Dublin. In a recent post in the Dublin thread @royalcelt claimed that Dublin get all the referee decisions! Stuff that that completely biased and blinkered no nuanced discussion on the Dublin issue. It is childish.

It is clear to me that such posters have long past the point of even been considered to be taken seriously. They just have a massive anti-Dublin agenda no matter what is happening- whether Dublin are winning or not.

If such posters focused even a fraction of their own energy into their own club/county as they do to posting about Dublin - their own county would not be in such a pathetic state. That is the truth of it.

It is similar to the overweight girl who looks with envy at the girl who regularly goes to the gym, eats right and improves herself. While the overweight girl blames ‘genetics’ gossips about the fit girl and calls her a bitch.

That analogy covers what most of this thread is. Plus many of these posters have poor levels of research - don’t understand the dynamics of the GAA in Dublin and the unique issues it has to contend against, that other countries simply don’t have to worry about.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

For those who need reminding or do not have the knowledge- Dublin’s success was born out focusing on underage.

Dublin only won first u21 in 2003 Alan Brogan led.

Previous decades Dublin either did not enter it or take it seriously.

Then you had a small core of talented players from 2005 - u12 blitz Dublin North and South - Fenton, Kilkenny, Caffery among them

A few years later Dublin won a junior AI in 2008 unearthing more players - giving them confidence. A competition Dublin never won before and never took seriously. Homan O’Gara etc were on that team

You then had Pillar Caffery instilling belief - then Gilroy who used the league to find players - with a defensive first structure.

Finally Dublin were fortunate to have the greatest tactical mind in the history of Gaelic Football leading Dublin - Jim Gavin. Where even a man down in 2019 AI final Dublin made aggressive tactical moves to keep the press on using Cluxton (The greatest influence on modern Gaelic goalkeepers) as an defacto outfielder. While deliberately leaving a Kerry player free on one side of the pitch.

This decision was made in the heat of battle man down in an AI final.

Whether some posters like to admit it or not there are some things you cannot buy. Talent, tactical nous, ability to think under pressure. Some things are just priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

What nonsense. Dublin's recent success has come off three core pillars- population, funding and playing consequential games in Croke Park.

Their enormous population means they have a greater number of top-level players than any other counties. The funding they received from the GAA, sponsors, the Irish Sports Council etc. means they are able to identify and cultivate these excellent players to their fullest potential (and Dublin have had some truly outstanding players in recent years), as well as ensure the inter-county side is fully looked after. Playing finals, semi-finals at Croke Park means when they do meet competitive teams, they are often able to eke out close games by a point or two, given the clear advantage that comes with playing at home. Make no mistake about it, if Mayo had played all their All-Ireland Finals from 2012-2021 at their home ground, they would have won at least one of them.

Although there are differences in population and funding between counties, no other comes even close to the scale of Dublin's advantages, in any individual area. Combine them all together, and concentrate them in a single side, and we see that the current situation is completely insane. If it hadn't persisted for so long it could perhaps be dealt with in a different manner, but when we see the nature, scale, combination and duration of Dublin's advantages, it's evident that drastic measures are now required to rectify the unfairness. These measures will have to include splitting the Dublin inter-county team.

Post edited by gaffer91 on

What a load of bitter nonsense , and again Dublin inter-county team will not be split

Not true judging by the 91 in your username you have a shorter memory than I. Dublin used to be laughed at population etc and you win nothing. But Dublin got their act together final and stopped underachieving. The likes of you would never understand the economies of scale Dublin suffer from being a non Dub. The spa well - the patch of land alone cost more than a whole centre of excellence that Tyrone built!

There is only one main GAA club for Clondalkin and surrounding Parish etc. We are talking a population that would be bigger than many in Leinster. But yet the club has done little.

There is the fact that only for Dublin Football the standards would not have risen. Dublin has train myriads of non-Dub players in their clubs over the years. And at the same time Dublin have to complete against Soccer/Rugby like few other counties have to on the same scale. Dublin is a GAA wasteland in many areas.

A person like yourself should be on your knees thanking Dublin GAA for raising the standards in football from the doldrums. Without a Dublin - football would now be on it’s arse. But the smarter counties have learnt from Dublin tactically and behind the scenes. Dublin really brought the game of football overall to different levels.

Also you don’t seem to appreciate the practical admin costs of a spilt etc Stadiums and so on.

Furthermore a Dublin spilt leads to questions of spilting other counties such as Kerry. Or merging counties with big populations but underachieving such as Meath/Kildare. But no doubt you don’t think of that.

Very well written gormdubhgorm , but alas your wasting your time i feel on the bitter one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭flasher0030

I like you analogy - and I definitely do agree with it for most purposes. However, there is difference. I think it would be more accurate if you had included that the fit girl has access to better standard of fitness equipment than the overweight. That the fit girl has her well-nourihed food made for her, and that the fit girl has additional sponsorship to help her financially to maintain her fitness. I'm not trying to be smart, but you analogy is based as if the same circumstances are available to both girls. But the GAA position is not like that.

Oh I agree Dublin failed to take (full) advantage of their population historically- it was always still an advantage though, and they were and are the second most successful county. I agree they have got their act together well, although with the amount of money and other advantages they have, it probably was not that difficult. And definitely the situation is not Dublin's fault- anyone would accept advantages for their county, the responsibility for this mess lies with the GAA.

Your other arguments about GAA wastelands/ competition from other sports etc. ,are the same old tired and recycled garbage that has been parroted many times on this thread- it's already been thoroughly debunked, these issues are not unique to Dublin.

Football was not in the doldrums and interest has in fact been seriously waning in recent years as Dublin's success built off their unfair advantages has continued- people realise the competition is a farce and are voting with their feet. Look at the decline in interest in the once-great Leinster championship- knowing as we do that the competition is effectively rigged to benefit Dublin, we can't blame people for staying away.

There is no need for a new stadium. And I think you fail to recognise the risks and practical aspects if Dublin are not split- the game at inter-county level, already in decline, will reach a terminal stage. Voluntary amalgamations can be offered but as Dublin are the only team with the unique combination of unfair advantages of population/funding/playing at home, they are the only team that should be split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

It would be like me celebrating Meath beating a club side. Celebrate away but as can be seen Dublin fans attending these pointless, meaningless Leinster fixtures are a dying breed. It's like a social experiment to see who's bonkers enough to attend the annual turkey shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Nobody is denying the fact that dublin got their act together, developed some world class players, and got a serious management team in place. That is all true. What is also true is that Dublin were/are unfairly advantaged and given special treatment that was unavailable to other counties. One does not cancel out the other

And how do you explain Dublin’s dip now? Earlier in this thread there was chat that a Dublin 10 in a row was when - not if. Etc. Most on this thread with that chat now sound like spoofers and bluffers at best. or fecking eejits at worst.

The answer is Dublin HAD a special bunch of players and HAD a special manager. But like all great teams it is cyclical.

The truth is the last great Dublin side dragged the rest of Gaelic football forwards. Exemplars to follow and emulate. Because of Dublin raising Gaelic Games Analysis/ Coaching/Fitness/positional redefinition and revolutionary tactical play - Gaelic Football is now in a much better place overall. The bar was raised and eyes were opened. And everyone on this thread should be thankful they were here to see it. If not, they are not real Gaelic Football people IMO.

The bar was raised outside of Leinster for counties who didn't have to enjure the annual dubbing for 15 year's.

Leinster football hasn't been moved forward. It was put Into a deep depression. As seen this year Louth who are arguably the second best side in Leinster were annihilated in the final.

If Dublin hadn't received all the advantages over the year's it wouldn't have ended up so bad and they might not even win Leinster every year. But it has and the championship remains in it's coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Leinster sides have declined irrespective of Dublin. Theyve dropped back. Not dublins fault they have. Leinster football has degressed badly but it isnt Dublins fault their biggest rivals in the province have stayed still/dropped considerably back while they progressed

They went into a depression when Dublin kept winning Leinster every year. Don't forget bar one blip Dublin have won every Leinster since 2004 when Westmeath won it. From 2005 to 2013 the finals and some games were close so despite the dominance being demoralising many counties still believed.

Since then it's been pretty grim, everyone has lost all hope and the Idea of playing intercounty for a Leinster team isn't very attractive these days.

Louth were training like pros all to get destroyed. A couple of more year's of those hammerings and they'll fall back down like everyone else.

There's nothing to motivate Leinster counties to pick themselves up when they know Dublin will usually get home advantage, biased officials, far more funding, huge commercial deals and the natural advantages of higher population and more registered players will only grow bigger as rural Ireland declines.

If we are to predict the next 50 Leinster titles we could probably say Dublin might lose 3. And that will happen because boredom will eventually catch them out (maybe).

So what's the point. Leinster team's don't even have a provincial to look forward too.

There's not much of a dip- they are still utterly dominant in Leinster and lost two semi-finals by a single score. The advantages they have are so entrenched that they will make a comeback soon, perhaps when Dessie Farrell, a very poor manager, is gone. The football Dublin played was not particularly attractive either- lots of handpassing and easy points. Tactically astute, but not great to look at- although they weren't as bad as say Donegal in 2011.

We shouldn't be thankful for Dublin winning off a platform of unfair advantages. We should be sad that the GAA did so much to ruin the game by favouring Dublin at the expense of everyone else. People who aren't are not real Gaelic Football people IMO.

It's not Dublin's fault as we've said, it is the GAA's fault that they took a county already enjoying lots of innate advantages and allowed them to pumped full of cash and play almost all consequential games at home. Why would any decent but rational footballer in Leinster make the sacrifices necessary to train all year when you know if you face Dublin, they'll have been given crazy advantages by the GAA that were not available to any other county and drub you in large part because of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Again, I agree with most of that, but doesn't really contradict the point I was making

Exactly- and the day will come when the All-Ireland will look like Leinster. Dessie Farrell may have temporarily disrupted this, but the day will come. People used to say Dublin weren't good enough to win 3, 4, 5, 6 in a row either- and yet it happened, and we all know why. Splitting Dublin is probably the only way to head off this eventuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

so at what point should dublin be split in two when the entire county cant beat roscommon , a team that have not won in croker since 1980 and were knocked out by clare last year

the sooner the penny drops with leinster people the better , leinster football is absolute rubbish at the moment and that's the reason everyone else is so far off them in the province

So your County should get its act together and you to stop the endless whinging , Look at Roscommon today , surely your once proud County can do the same 😏

100% agreed

The problem is for that to happen certain fans of underperforming Leinster counties would honestly have to look at their own counties failings.

The Rossies improvement did not happen overnight . A decade ago. Brigids beat a much fancied Ballymun side. Driven by Cake Curran - a competitive mindset. That was build on with underage success in Roscommon. Tactically they evolved, a good management team now leads the senior Rossies. A good positive mindset and culture, mixed with game management. Astuteness.

In comparison what do certain Leinster counties have? A negative mindset, a blame culture, an embarrassment not living up to the ghosts of the past. In that mindset the ‘Dublin bogeyman’ is a handy safety net for some fans of fallen Leinster counties.

If Roscommon played in Leinster the past 20 year's they'd be in the doldrums today. Apart from Dublin having no place in Leinster these days I'm actually surprised Leinster football counties haven't tried switching province's.

Imagine if Meath, Kildare, Louth, Westmeath and Longford all switched to Connaught. Excitement would be much higher then this snoorefest Dublin have given us.

If I could choose a province I'd pick Ulster but there's already a lot of counties there and so Connaught naturally makes sense. Longford and Westmeath in particular I'm shocked they haven't left the graveyard yet. Maybe the money from being in Leinster is higher and we all know how obsessed with money our county boards are.

There would be no snorefest if instead of whinging Meath got there act together.

Again, it's not just Dublin's success, it's the fact they are unfairly advantaged relative to every other county. Even if they somehow can't beat Roscommon at home, the combination of population, funding, home advantage etc. still exists.

If you gave every other county in Leinster a population twice the size of the next biggest county (and around 6-7 times the national average), millions of euro of funding, home pitch advantage for most important games and maintained that situation for decades, and they were still underperforming, you'd probably have a point. All we can say now is that they find it difficult to motivate themselves and perform to their fullest potential when in a competition againt a team that is uniquely advantaged relative to everyone else.

You are going on the premise that the funding was the sole reason for Dublin's success which is patently a false one. You can throw Money at something that has no leadership/no structure/no talent/no management/ no proper planning and it won't work. You could give a Million's to Armagh for example but it would achieve nothing. Why? Because they have a very limited manager despite a few talented players. Cork had millions given to them for PUC but I have not seen Cork suddenly turn in these great performances? Why? Because it is cultural thing in Cork hurling is no1.

There are a myriad of other factors that went into how Dublin dominated Gaeiic football countrywide past tense.

1) Astute management and innovation changing the face of Gaelic football

2) Mismanagement by other countries - Klldare - Meath - Cork - Laois - who massively underperformed given their populations and football heritage

3) Cyclical decline of other counties Kerry - Tyrone - who had to rebuild

4) Dublin actually focusing on underage for a change - u21, Junior, minor etc - for many years Dublin did not even enter teams at u21 for example

5) A special group of players that were generational talents for Dublin - which were carefully brought trough

6) The antiquated provincial system which made things very easy for Dublin - as it does for Kerry. Even an average div1/2 Dublin side is still top Dog in Leinster against basically Micky Mouse sides - lower div2 to div 4. The league has been a great indicator where teams are for the last 25 years or so.

Which cumulated in the following scenario

--

And as I argued a number of years ago when Dublin did the five in a row it is cyclical - Dublin would fade - Dublin supporters like me saw it coming as greats retired/aged - sloppiness started to appear. But the narrative was Dublin would win 10 in a row All Ireland's. Real hyperbolic stuff.

Which has proven that the whole premise of the forever Dublin success was a false one. The premise of the Dominance of Dublin GAA has long faded countrywide. You only have to look at Dublin's underage performance and League performance outside the farce that is Leinster.

Basically yourself @gaffer91 @RoyalCelt and the likes of Ewan McKenna (the so called journalist) have been shown up for what they are not very clued in on Dublin football or Gaelic Games in Dublin. Or even Gaelic Games country wide. So instead of looking at your own counties you needed to find a scapegoat to shift the blame - ie Dublin the that is the truth of it. Now as the strength of that scapegoat fades you all look even more foolish than you all did initially.

Despite the difficulties of economies of scale in Dublin that no other county if their repute has to contend with -

1) Lack of available land in Dublin - again self explanatory

2) Cost of land in Dublin - Centre of Excellence in Tyrone was completed for Less then price of the land in the Spawell

3) Cost of building in Dublin - this is self explanatory

4) Vast GAA wastlands in Dublin - in competition with Rugby - Soccer - etc - Non-Dubs find this difficult to grasp and are under the fasle assumption that sporting population in Dublin = GAA. The same as the parish pump villages with the one GAA club and one pub like many outside Dublin

5) No home stadium of their own fit for purpose

6) No centre of excellence - for example Daly when managing the hurlers in Dublin used to slag them and call them tinkers - travelling from club to club to train with no base. Kerry have a COE. Tyrone have a COE. Connacht GAA have a COE.

7) Dublin do not have enough clubs in the county and they need more

--

Despite all these challenges Dublin brought on Gaelic Football to another level - they showed the way. History will show that Dublin raised the levels of Gaelic football countrywide as Dublin showed what was necessary there is no magic wand. It is just hard work and common sense - tactical innovation from other codes brought into football. Sports Science which is basically analytics and common sense. nutrition that same thing.

The way some on this thread talk about Dublin you would swear that their own Counties was full of thicks and gombeens. So money is the answer to cover up these failings????

The fact is Gaelic players these days are highly educated so the pretence that other counties are not capable of implementing similar is laughable

The GAA is mostly built on a volunteer ethos there are plenty who give up their time to do such things

Look at his performance analysis for Derry GAA

Kerry GAA tactical changes - learning from Dublin - getting the ball to the scoring zone

Similar to how Dublin got their main scorers constantly in the scoring zone in the 2018 AIF v Tyrone

Kerry practiced - watched learnt and absorbed the lessons - and have improved as a result.

CP HQ has even had Sports Science launch days

Look at the 'East Leinster Project' money will be given to the weak Leinster teams -

Unlike Carly Simon it does not make me 'feel sad for the rest'

Nobody has done it half as good as Dublin they were the best. And the future of Gaelic football in Ireland is in a much better place because of it.

Today we see a reengerised Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon, Derry, Galway, Monaghan - the top tier has never been so good. I think part of the problem of this thread now is many do not look beyond Leinster - which really reveals the truth of certain posters agendas. It has little to do with the health of Gaelic Football and it's improvements - but it is mostly bitterness based because the arse fell out of their own county so they STILL look for that Dublin scapegoat. But as the years go by it seems more and more pathetic.