If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Upfront with Katie Hannon

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Yeah I just tuned in for a quick look to spot out sleeper agent and caught this guy. Really?? Just get a work visa like everyone else and go the citizenship route. Isn’t that Coveney on the panel? If so and I was him I’d be arranging for your man to be on a flight outta here asap. Taking the piss.

Ive worked with many great South Africans over the years who either went home once they’d work visas ended or became citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,765 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Can't wait for Lucky to come on to tell us how horrible we all are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

International protection? I didn't know the citizens of South Africa and Brazil are under threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,198 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Not a bit odd to have someone from South Africa and Brazil applying for asylum in Ireland? I mean both countries have a problem with crime but they are not exactly war torn areas.

And here we go with the token asylum seeker who now has a Masters. An outlier. An exception rather than the rule, but presented as the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,565 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why haven't this hard left crowd still wearing masks oddly, been protesting about this since February when the government announced there was no room left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

RTE's pearl clutching machine turned up to 11

RTE, ask the ******* question! - 'Why did Rodders ask half the world to come here for their own door accommodation after a few months?'

Frowny: We need to do more...FFS

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

We need to be proactive about calling asylum scams and sending the scammers on their way. We have real issues with accommodation and services and I have no issue in helping those who genuinely need it but scammers are just taking resources away from genuine cases. Be efficient and deliberate about flushing out the obvious cases. Maybe then we’d have accommodation for those who need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭tastyt

Unfortunately we are so weak and have absolutely tied ourselves up in knots trying to appear as an amazing welcoming country that we have turned into a mess . The worst part is that this is all going to get very unsafe and nasty very soon , if it hasn’t already

It seems our politicians care much more about reputation and walking the line that they couldn’t give two shites about Irish people anymore . Hannon screeching there trying to appear as woke as humanly possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭standardg60

These people don't have the brain cells to identify as either, all they're capable of is abdicating responsibility and finding someone to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭elgicko

Where is the balance??

Peader Toibin talking absolute sense

And now onto this chancer. Lucky by name, lucky by nature.

The gall of this shyster lecturing us on what we do with our country.

Lucky Mate, Ukrainians didn’t choose to be here. I bet you did. Move along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭TheBlock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

If the current number keep coming just where the hell are going to stay? Turn Dublin into some sort high rise Kowloon type city maybe.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,765 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Oh no Lucky is going to be leaving.

But sure he got to tell us what big bad racists we all are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,198 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Can’t believe the South African guy was never even questioned on why exactly he was seeking asylum considering his own country is a functioning democracy. There is obviously a backstory there. Absolutely bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

And that ladies and gentlemen, is why people hate RTE so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Snowflakes being raised, it's no wonder their brains are fooked up overthinking problems. Giving all runners in a race a medal etc etc.

GDY151

I'd say the daughter has a 2nd burner phone.

GDY151

It all went downhill when mass started to be streamed online 😁

GDY151

Sensible lad, he won't be staying on long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭enricoh

Didn't see the full segment, just caught 3 fellas getting interviewed that live in the tents.

A Nigerian fella- reason for asylum not asked. A south African - he came here as he was interested in Ireland n had heard the Irish are friendly. He had researched a lot before he came n this tent lark came as a surprise. At least whatever horrors he was fleeing gave him time to do his research!

A Brazilian lad he was fleeing the political situation back in Brazil. He looked around 22 to me.

Laughable reasons , yet Katie glossed over that bit- she's gonna fit in well in rte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

It's all a charade to disguise the fact that any meaningfull honest discussion is being had, they're all in on it, government, ngo's, charities,accomodation and catering businesses with the right connections making big bucks hand over fist, the legal fraternity on the gravy train to beat all gravy trains all singing from the one hymn sheet using our money to piss on our backs and tell us it's raining... Charlie Haughley had nothing on these guys when he told us to tighten our belts back in the 70s...they don't have the interests of genuine Refugees in their hearts, not in a month of Sundays, pie in the sky nonsense while the taxpayer picks up the bill, Clownland

I could tell yiz a few of my observations from having been close up and personal with the aforementioned. They’ve all had a shower, for a start. Oddly there seemed to be absolutely zero personal connection between Lucky and any of them, he was not associating himself with them. There was absolutely no few courtesy words of discourse between himself and Neale sat beside him, none of the politicians gave him as much as a nod, whereas they did to each other. Peadar Toibín made every effort to be civil with everyone though, seems to be a genuine type.

The Nigerian guy who didn’t want his face seem is a very petite person, probably from one of the minority tribes, seemed a very gentle sort tbh, but hard to know exactly what the back story might be. South African tourist who decided to stay stunned me, sat near the big shiny headed larger than life figure of Aubrey McCarthy. Mr Brazil, hmmm, maybe sells products that the guards are interested in finding out about. A big cohort of LGBTQI+ well heeled activist types present, and spoke to Katie. Most of all lots of these activist types just love hearing the sound of their own voices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,140 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

What did they do with the first lad after they finished filming him from behind? Did he leave the studio and watch the rest of the programme from outside or did they not pan the camera in his section of the audience at all?

My own personal opinion is that the government is trying to send out the message of how racist the horrible citizens are, but that the authorities are wonderfully welcoming, so tell your friends not to come any more. That will help solve housing, health, pressure in services problems.

He was inserted for the segment, swapping seat with the Greystones doctor.

True, but I think the “oligarchy” is in a panic as there’s no more physical accommodation, so they want to send out the message (without sending out the message: don’t any more of the cone, our oligarchs have their full quota atm)

Post edited by [Deleted User] on