If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leinster v Munster URC Semi -Final match thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,745 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What a win for Munster

So final is in South Africa now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Aye. Would’ve been in Thomond if Connacht won but not to be.

Balls to that. We already rested some players last week. It would have been three big games in a row. If the squad can't handle that they don't deserve the accolades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

I don’t think it will bother Leinster club/players provided they win next week….I could be wrong of course…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Porter and Lowe took a full part in the warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭mangobob

100% this. Another year where Leinster dominate the league then sh*t the bed when it really counts at the end with a p*ss poor team selection. With respect to Munster, this match may have been won on the field but it was also clearly lost in the selection. I know that the Heineken is what really matters for most Leinster but fielding a selection that weak in a semi final against a Munster team with nothing else to play for is terrible look. I can't decide if it was due to arrogance or if Cullen really doesn't give a f*ck about the URC. Maybe both.The pressure now against LAR will be titanic. Win and this failure will be forgotten (even though it should not be). However if we lose that (which is a real possibility) then this Leinster coaching ticket will 0 for 4 titles in two years where the were favourites to win at least 3 (if not all) of them. It seems that at the top we have learned nothing from last years clusterf*ck.

Regardless of the anti Leinster sh*te coming from various quarters, I will be cheering Munster on against the Stormers. I sincerely hope ye go on and lift the trophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

For those saying Leinster players won't mind if they win next week, it should, and it will. They'd have wanted to win a double.

As for Leinster fans, I can only speak for myself, but I'm pretty pissed off at the selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,148 ✭✭✭clsmooth

You should look into stoicism. One of the principles is that often you can’t control what happens in life, but you can control how you to respond to it. We have a huge game next Saturday. No major injuries (assuming Conan and JOB are ok). This will help focus the minds for next week.

If true I think it would reflect incredibly poorly on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

It really will. The HC is the over riding priority for this club. Its a 50/50 shot next week, but these clubs are measured by stars on the jersey. Without Johnny, it is even more important that we preserve our quality players for next week.

On the game, i think Munster were the better team but hugely aided by a poor (not bias) refereeing performance.

Even as a Leinster fan, delighted that O'Mahony finally gets an interview to enjoy. He has fronted up bravely on some horrible days. Credit too to Crowley and Carthy for that winning play. He took the kick very close to the ruck, needed a crisp pass and got it. fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

What a match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,907 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,698 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If Leinster lose next week, and then complain it's because they haven't been properly tested because the URC is too weak (like they did last year) then....

Munster were here for the taking.We were missing Snyman, Fekitoa, Murray and Nash. 4 of our best players, resulting in us having to play key players out of position.

Beating an almost fully stacked Leinster team (very few injuries) in their home stadium seems like a turning point to me.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It’s the priority. But it’s not the be-all-and-end-all.

The SA addition makes the URC a very worthwhile competition to win; the fact Leinster have failed to win it in these 2 seasons suggests as much.

Grand so. If that's the case - and I truly hope it's not - the team is just accepting they're not good enough to win both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,412 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Last year what happened?

We f**ked away the URC semi and it rocked the squad for the CC final.

We've just done it again. This stuff matters. Winning matters. Momentum matters. To all 50+ players.

Today was self inflicted and thats inexcusable. Munster would never have beaten a top selection, not in a fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

An additional thread should be automatically created along with the match threads here so that people can bark about the reffing non-stop.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭normanbond

Deegan a friend of yours or family member?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree Fair play to both teams, Irish rugby getting better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Leo thinks Munster won the game fair and square.

That isn’t factually correct. We lost the Champions Cup final a few weeks before the URC semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,698 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

'Lol'. Your team lost with the team you selected despite having almost all first choice team players available

I think you will lose next week too because LAR are a really bad matchup for leinster. But I just want to remind you that the last time you lost in Europe, there were a lot of excuses flying about blaming the URC for being too lightweight a competition to prepare them for the big games.

That's all I was sayng

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

They can handle it. Its the one time of the year where they are all chomping at the bit to play. They'd play 160 minutes a week if they had to.

I mentioned O'Gara and cotton wool earlier. He is playing a weakened side this week, because his team secured a top 2 finish in the regular season, but next week he'll come to play the CC final and then will go straight into the Barrage with his best players fielded until they drop or La Rochelle lose, whichever happens sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭letsbefair

The scheduling of the semi the week before the HC final detracts from the URC. So you buy a season ticket but at the business end of the season your team is hamstrung. Not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

It wasnt a fully stacked Leinster team or anywhere near it. But I think you are right on the turning point. It may even have been the turning point was a few weeks ago in SA. Regardless of team selection, refereeing or anything else, Munster are on a serious climb now. The coaching ticket have gelled, they have the team onboard and playing good rugby. After years of substandard coaches it will be great for Munster and Munster fans to have a ticket that can get the best out of their team.

It’s weird that instead of celebrating a great win by your team, you seem to prefer to wind up fans of another province. I’d suggest that says quite a lot about you as an individual. I hope in real life you’re a little more balanced, content with life and just having some craic on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Crowley had a great game. Delighted for him and for us as a team. His carry into Byrne was pure **** dog. That's a great thing to have in a flyhalf.