Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I worked for years in 3D design. Must have designed thousands of parts. Some could have 5 revisions of the same part. When you are at that level, a proper controlled drawing updated right prevents a lot of hassle down the road. I've seen hand sketched drawings for old parts. They work fine once they are controlled right within the overall system. Purchasing must be updated on all revisions and the purchase order should have the revision number listed.

For a simple part it seems over the top, but believe me, when a lot of expensive parts come in and they are wrong, the first thing they look at is the PO and then the drawing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭minerleague

Just registering calves online and have a quick question - what is "Retain Sire Details" about? Can register without clicking but should I be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jb1989

It's just remembers the bulls tag number for the duration of your online filling out, just saves you writing all the numbers each time. Nothing to be worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If you have a row of calves to register by the same bull just leave the box ticked. It automatically has the bull tag in sire box then for the next calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Fertiliser sales must be through the floor. Another article telling ye to buy some so there's fodder next winter

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fai-what-is-the-fodder-outlook-on-your-farm/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Got prices today , very surprised big drop. I had to graze my silage ground so just putting fertiliser out there when it's travelable. Wet land. Have 30 acres for bales too. Would normally buy an artic load but he said to hold off, just buy what I need atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Can't argue with the fodder situation thinking around this area.

Spare silage has been used up and fertilising for this year's crop has been delayed.

Time to buckle up, weather permitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭RockOrBog

Bought some 18 6 12 yesterday, 665 a tonne, only came down yesterday so that was a bit of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Does anyone know where I can find the current icbf star rankings cut off, want to know what euro value is the cut off for 4 star, 3 star etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's this document;

Breed percentiles basic (March 2023) (PDF)

You'll find it here;

Beef EuroStar - ICBF

So 4 Star cut-off is €99 for Replacement and €110 for Terminal, as of March 2023 Proofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Good man Patsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭tanko

Those figures could change slightly in about 10 days when the May evaluations come out.

I see the tillage lobby in Ireland have beans and lupins (protein crops) not classed as tillage anymore to prove the tillage area is down in area to get what they wanted. They wanted a payment to lease land. The big bad narrative was the countries dairy farmers were taking all the land. Anyone in this part of the country sees more tillage. Latest epa figures on tillage area didn't even support their case. So the few in the lobby with ifj ran their own census. Biased of course and between late plantings and now protein crops excluded they've gotten the figures are back. So they've drilled the minister to give tax breaks to land owners who will only rent for tillage. Livestock on land excluded. I presume they've now gotten protein crops excluded as it's not tillage anymore either?

There's really some shower of See you next Tuesday's in this country in the lobby and they're doing everything they can to demonise and disadvantage other farming sectors with their paw out to the minister constantly. Poor feckers are living hand to mouth with thousands of acres.

Even see before a seed and fert rep whose also tillage on home farm say new aid should only go to established tillage farmers and not new entrants to the sector. Really the greedist See you next Tuesday's going.

For what? Beer, whisky and animal feed. The sooner the animal keepers wean their farms off cereals the better. Leave them with their Beer and whisky. And regenerative ads from the multinational Guinness with no regenerative about it. No Livestock as were the aims of the regenerative movement. That only leaves the use of glyphosate every year on the same ground and the greenwashing now that it's regenerating the ground through the antibiotic that is gly. But sure we're all happy campers now and saving the planet.

The BS continues unchecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Grueller

I'm not a million miles from you SMN. I am sick to my guts of the whinging of the tillage sector. When they had monster entitlements and were snapping up every square inch of ground with this unfair advantage there wasn't a whisper from them. Now that the entitlements are converging and they have to stand on their own income its a different story from them here locally anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,529 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Tillage entitlements were never high per hectare, I used to have tillage in the 1990s and they were the lowest per ha payment on my farm. Converging won't affect tllage per Ha payment much, It's just the pure numbers of Ha's that's huge. There's some whinge from dairy farmers now and not a word outa them last year. High prices cure high prices and milk price went too high.

The food staples, ie , milk, butter and bread are ripping people off at the moment and there's huge whingeing from the consumers too.

It's every one for themselves now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭148multi

When you look at the cheap food policy over the last 50 years, even with the high prices the consumer was getting good value.

There would be fair whingeing if butter cost 3% of income today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Money was scarce and hard gotten up until the '70s, it's a different story now alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The farmer is also a consumer who avails of cheap food.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Yes, but where does that cheap food comes from? Hint: It ain't the supermarket, like most consumers think.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

And there was a lot more shops then too. Now there's a handful of multinational supermarkets who are gatekeepers between food and people.

It was good to see the supermarkets in front of that Dail committee this week, even thou they gave no real information. But at least the role of the supermarkets was acknowledged in the food chain. Most of the time the media and others think farmers are the only ones involved, despite our role being tiny (10-15% of product price?) compared to processors, supermarkets, marketing companies, transport, storage, admins/bureaucrats, etc.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

I wasn't trying to argue the source of affordable food, more making the point that farmers are also consumers of said food.

Long long gone are the days of self sufficient farmers where the wife makes butter and fattens a pig for the table etc.

Every farmers wife shops in Tesco or whatever supermarket is in town and is no different to any average "consumer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭148multi

There was a farmer beside us, had 40 acres, worked on BNM during the summer, grew everything in the garden and won prizes for the veggies.

4 sons left in the house, one gets carers allowance, one invalidity, one on rss and another on fas.

The garden now is a lawn, between mowing the lawn, footing turf and drawing bales the lads haven't time to do garden and it wouldn't pay.

Two of them have been prescribed excerscise, so have taken up walking.

In another fifty years either people will be fed in a tube or there'll be a famine

In fairness.

Primary schools seem to be more hands on now in teaching students how to grow veg. I see more polytunnels at schools than there ever were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Grueller

That screenshot is from the IFA. The organisation that you were a large part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭straight

The farmer produces more food than they consume. That's the difference.

No they don't.

Farmers are now incredibly specialised.

One of Beef/dairy/sheep is the only produce on farms.

Unless the man milking 150 cows lives on a diet of nothing only milk he can never fully sustain himself.

I originally responded to a farmer who said "There would be fair whingeing if butter cost 3% of income today."

The farmer would also whinge about paying out 3% of his income on butter as he no longer produces it himself🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭straight

Milk and beef is food. Why would you want to keep the value of your produce low so that the weekly shop will be a bit cheaper.

I'm not disputing the economics, I'm simply arguing with the OPs point.

"There would be fair whingeing if butter cost 3% of income today."

And there would be, from ALL consumers 🙂