whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
It's this document;
Breed percentiles basic (March 2023) (PDF)
You'll find it here;
Beef EuroStar - ICBF
So 4 Star cut-off is €99 for Replacement and €110 for Terminal, as of March 2023 Proofs.
Does anyone know where I can find the current icbf star rankings cut off, want to know what euro value is the cut off for 4 star, 3 star etc.
Bought some 18 6 12 yesterday, 665 a tonne, only came down yesterday so that was a bit of luck
Can't argue with the fodder situation thinking around this area.
Spare silage has been used up and fertilising for this year's crop has been delayed.
Time to buckle up, weather permitting.
Got prices today , very surprised big drop. I had to graze my silage ground so just putting fertiliser out there when it's travelable. Wet land. Have 30 acres for bales too. Would normally buy an artic load but he said to hold off, just buy what I need atm
Fertiliser sales must be through the floor. Another article telling ye to buy some so there's fodder next winter
https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fai-what-is-the-fodder-outlook-on-your-farm/
If you have a row of calves to register by the same bull just leave the box ticked. It automatically has the bull tag in sire box then for the next calf.
It's just remembers the bulls tag number for the duration of your online filling out, just saves you writing all the numbers each time. Nothing to be worried about.
Just registering calves online and have a quick question - what is "Retain Sire Details" about? Can register without clicking but should I be?
There'll be no problem with that drawing
Followed by who approved that change
I worked for years in 3D design. Must have designed thousands of parts. Some could have 5 revisions of the same part. When you are at that level, a proper controlled drawing updated right prevents a lot of hassle down the road. I've seen hand sketched drawings for old parts. They work fine once they are controlled right within the overall system. Purchasing must be updated on all revisions and the purchase order should have the revision number listed.
For a simple part it seems over the top, but believe me, when a lot of expensive parts come in and they are wrong, the first thing they look at is the PO and then the drawing.
And sometimes they can work out better
We have the the cnc press brake at work, set the back stop and angle, I'd be confident they would be good enough for any fencing project. I'm involved in the drawing office too and believe me there is plenty of stuff still being manufactured off the back of fag box sketch's..
It looks ideal for a small punch press and drill the holes afterwards. Ideally an internal rad of 4-5mm to avoid stress in the corners. Depending on quantity, as it’s 40mm wide & 2mm thick you could make a little jig and bend it yourself
It is just for a fencing project and I'm only really concerned about the depth and width of where the post will fit, but only +/- 1.0mm.
**** me, I wouldn't like to be driving posts for you. 🤣🤣🤣🤣
I see from the Announcements that Boards is moving to European server on Thursday at 1am. I wonder is it a EU country or a European country. The downtime is supposed to be no more than 24 hours 🙄
You’d nearly be better off with a back on the envelope drawing for something like that. Any workshop guy would still be receiving hand drawings every day of the week.
Were talking about a similar type of local in the pub year's ago, quiet old fella in the corner eventually said, if your born a bollox and travel the world, there's a fair chance you'll still dye a bollox.
Sorry Funkey, I misread the drawing. I thought the second drawing was a plan view of the finished part. The manufacturer should be able to figure out the process steps or is that what you are trying to do?
My old boss used to say when he'd encounter such 'it's no harm being a bit thick'. The irony was he was more qualified than any of them but had cop on.
You can have a doctorate and be an even bigger asshole 😀
Some of the loudest, most insulting, and poorly informed "climate activists" on Twitter are post-docs in universities.
Thou in fairness to some, they seem to have toned it down a bit in recent times. I'm being optimistic and hoping that farmer's replies to some of their hugely simplistic Tweets have reduced their ignorance.
I would imagine the same principle would carry across but if im wrong i would greatly appreciate being told the right way. With pipe bending to get a 90' bend you mark where youre centre of the bend should be then measure back the diameter of the pipe this is where you set youre benders. I.e. if youre using 8mm plate measure back 8mm from the centre of the bend.
For a 30' bend its travel x 1.313, 45 us travel x 1.414 and 60' is travel x 1 616 but you can also use a plate square to bisect the pipe and get youre next point for bending. Those three carry across to general fabrication but im not sure about the 90'
My favourite one atm is, you can have a degree and still be an asshole...
They do, we've all met them. You'd think someone in such a position would have a few more brains than to be that overt about their bullying behaviour if the article is to be believed.
Dickheads come from all sorts of occupations.
Not really. Dimensions are meaningless with out tolerances. For example, I would specify the dimension between holes (272.82) as 272.8 +/- 0.5 mm and the hole size as 11.0 +/- 0.1mm for example.
Basically it gives the machinist an idea of the level of tolerances you wish to hold. He could simple use an 11mm drill to drill holes. A drawing should have all the information on it. In theory you could send it anywhere in the world and they would be able to machine it without having to get more info from you.
Ah here 😮
You will have to specify the internal bend radii. You have 4 of them. The part is essentially flexible so distance between holes will be variable. You also need to specify material and edge finishes and tolerances for everything. It's a simple part in fairness. Quantity will determine price as most work goes into the set up of jigging.
What’s the problem