Bruce Springsteen General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,412 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Found the Live Version of 'Ghosts' on Sunday night a little disappointing

For some reason it didn't sound right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,379 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Everlong1

If they're getting the bus to Busaras, they can head across the road to Connolly Station and get the Dart to Sandymount. Ten minutes walk to the RDS from there. They can go back after the gig the same way. There'll be a crowd obviously getting into the station afterwards but I was at both weekend gigs and wasn't waiting long to get the Dart at all. Extra services laid on for the gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,260 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,393 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I took the Sandymount option going out and it was perfect. Walk didn't feel half as long as Google made it look.

Going back I just walked towards town and I managed to get a cab at the first bit of open road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Quitelife

For one without a ticket is there a particular street / road good to give a walk round tonight and hear some of the music albeit from afar ?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

When I was there Friday night, E Street Shuffle and Kitty's Back were the only tracks I didn't know.

Seen him twice before and only knew about 2/3's of the songs both times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭dasdog

image.png

Was in Herbert Park on Friday and again on Sunday night. About 100 people there Sunday - nobody acting the maggot, nice atmosphere, people sipping cans and a bbq on the go. Sound was decent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

You could probably sneak into the RDS in one of these ...

15038897804_f88c2b6088_b.jpg

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,825 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,788 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Got here at 4.55. Good few pit passes left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

IMHO, it's not a great song anyway.... I know they are telling a story and are including some songs because of that, but in a few years this one will be added to meh pile. There are better songs on that album if you ask me(Janeys got a shooter/power of prayer are 2 off the top of my head).

I'd agree somewhat with intermission theory about Kitty's Back /Candy/E Street shuffle earlier, but I think the lads were indulging themselves a bit and enjoying jamming up for ages with Kitty with the bluesy stuff. It also let them catch breath a bit and come back with their second wind, it's no joke belting out sh1t for 3 hours.

Feck, Racing in the Street... would have loved to hear that the other night, juat love that piano riff... I got a 59 Chevy....

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Aladdin Sane

Ticketmaster release decent seats and standing tickets less than 60 min before the show starts.

Ggrrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭ratracer

Waiting’ on a sunny day would be a rather appropriate opener this evening…😂😂☔️☔️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TheJet

What time did he come on stage the last two gigs?

There are not enough superlatives for tonight, despite a few hiccups.

But man if that other set list floating around is real I'll be gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭gar

Was fortunate to be given a ticket to go again tonight. Similar set with a few changed out again. Really enjoyed again. I'm busted after 2 shows. Don't know how he does it.

Nightshift is just gorgeous, love death to my home town, Badlands so much energy. Could go on and on.

If I was to find fault Ghosts was ropey and Bruce & Stevie's chemistry wasn't what it was on Sunday.

Again grateful to see him twice.

Now I'm starting roll call for next year's gig in the sandymount hotel tomorrow at 2 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,952 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

If the image of the intended setlist floating around is legitimate, then it could be argued that we missed a potential classic, but you have to judge a gig on its own merits and not bewail possible missed opportunities (the supposed setlist includes The Ties That Bind as an opener, Racing in the Street in the main set and Jungleland and Ramrod as part of the encore).

Bruce was obviously feeling the cold and maybe that prompted the set being cut (whatever may or may not have been on it). He was clearly giving audible instructions after the first bows, so changes were definitely made.

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Sleeper, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Crash Test Dummies, Ben Folds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,952 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I'm probably in the minority, but any setlist that includes/retains Kitty's Back and The E Street Shuffle is always going to get my vote.

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Sleeper, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Crash Test Dummies, Ben Folds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭PawneeRanger

Agree totally! Kitty's Back was amazing tonight.

Brilliant show. And what a difference the crowd makes! We were in the pit this time and had room off to the side and it was a million times better. Sunday was a mess crowd-wise where we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭musicmania

Whatever about certain songs not being sung tonight the one thing for sure is it was not cut short! 28 songs and 3 hours exactly. Let's face it with a repertoire like Bruce's we are all gonna have other songs we would loved to have heard.

I was glad Trapped made a reappearance tonight, and that Thunder Road relegated Born in the USA.

I did think the sound was that loud that at times it was distorted, but that could just be my sensitive ears.

20230509_201342.jpg

Amazing show. We arrived just after 4.30 and got pit passes, but were definitely further back than yourself.

Garry didn’t look too well, quite gaunt and haggard. Maybe I’d look haggard if I was giving three hours performances night after night in my seventies.

Nils seemed to have a lesser role than usual, with Bruce taking more of the solo’s himself.

Very emotional for me, especially for Thunder Road and Born To Run. Had a sense of finality about it. Can’t see him touring here again with the band.

What a way to go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Can't understand all this speculation about him not touring again. Yeah he's 73 but the man is fit as a fiddle. Unless he has health problems I'm not aware of there's no reason he shouldn't tour again. Other posters on this thread have already said they know of inside sources who said there's European dates planned for next year. Bruce will be like Johnny Cash, he'll still be recording songs on his deathbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I went on Sunday and thought Garry especially looks like he's pretty much done with the touring life, I know he's never leapt around the stage but he does look his age. Max looks fantastic and still so full of energy. Really enjoyed it, the sound at Croke Park had made me consider not getting tickets this time but so glad I did.

I felt like it was a goodbye and had a bit of a cry during I'll See You in my dreams, the whole gig felt like a remembrance of times and people past, but that may have been me as much as him, the last time I was at the RDS to see him, my son was with me and I took my Mum to Wembley in 1988, both of them have passed away and the narrative of the evening fitted in with missing people who are no longer with us and living life as big as you can.

Maybe Bruce will do an acoustic solo tour again which would be amazing but I don't think we'll see the E Street Band in Dublin again. I feel very privileged to have shared some of the best nights of my life with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Incredible show, still buzzing this morning and trying to make myself concentrate on work is the last thing on my mind.

Nightshift, Johnny 99, The E Street Shuffle, Last Man Standing & Thunder Road are a few of the top of my head that were amazing. The pace he plays at is something else, one song after the next. Just brilliant altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,260 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Don't think its a goodbye at all. He'll be touring again in 2024 and will likely have new music out too.

Hes just played 5 x 3 hour concerts in 12 days. Hes 74 in a few months.

That said, I've no desire at all to see the current show again. Even the encores now are samey. Have been for years. Needs to spread those tunes out throughout the set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭pjordan

Yep, I'll see you in my dreams at the end was truly spine chilling - It had my OH and sis in law who lost their dad a year ago in floods. His preamble on George Theiss before Last man standing about the importance of living in the now (allied with a whole new meaning brought to Glory Days) really hit home to us that are getting on and have been following him for 40 years and wondering how (and if) he and the ESB can possibly keep going.

Last night I really came to appreciate anew how tight and brilliantly collective The E Street band are, both the combination of the old heads and the infusion of the new like Jake. I think for the first hour there was barley a gap between one song and the next, straight into the riff for another after climaxing one. Mind you along with the obvious wall of sounds of Badlands, Thunder Road and Born to Run, some of my highlights of last night were Bruce by himself acoustic (much clearer - sometimes in the midst of all that music it's near impossible to hear the lyrics!)

Obviously, with such a vast back catalogue there a whole lot more I'd have loved to hear (The River especially) and some less familar that I'd rather he'd omitted, but all in all a great night and great atmosphere (Great chatter and friendly interaction between fans both before, during and after on the pitch!) and had Spotify playlist to accompany us on the 3 hour drive back Westh!