If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Happy St. George's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

No offence, but I don't associate craic with the kind of people who ban fishing on Sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 FrattonFred

If they had, then there would have been plenty of people on Boards complaining about bringing politics in to sport and how the Gallagher premiership is really a franchise and they should keep nationalism out of it, or whatever shite people complain about where the premiership teams wear poppies.

I was referring to the Ireland v England game which took place the day before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,261 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Maybe some would complain. It would depend on how it's done. I was thinking more of the people using it than the institutions using it.

If a 6n game takes place on St Patrick's weekend, the players don't have to wear anything. But the people can wear their shamrocks and dress up to celebrate and knock a bit of fun out of it. Pretty uncontroversial stuff.

Is it less fun it's it's uncontroversial?

it should be done in a way where no **** are given.

everything is controversial these days. We are all supposed to avoid saying or doing anything for fear of upsetting someone.

We've already heard from a poster who despite living in England, is reviled by the site of an English flag, so not giving a **** about the easily offended is the only way forward.

Unfortunately, too many people do care, which is why people are too afraid to really celebrate St George's day.

You find wearing shamrock to a match on St Patrick's day controversial?

Of course fcuks should be given. It's easy to celebrate culture in ways that don't try to wind others up.

Why would you want to do it in a way thsy upsets others? Why wouldn't you want it to be inclusive? I think st George is off to a bad start with his association with the crusades. Invading other countries and killing muslims was cool in the past but its a bit controversial now. I'm sure the English would see the problem if the shoe was on the other foot and someone dressed up a republican paramilitary from the 80s to celebrate St Patrick's day.

But I'm glad we have lots of ways of celebrating Irish culture with inclusiveness and without harming anyone. Surely there are ways to celebrate St George's day without being controversial.

Would it be less fun if it didn't upset anyone?does knowing it winds others up add to it? Is exclusivity part of the celebration?

and straight away you find controversy in St George's day, as well as going over the top about offending people. No one wants to see the NF parading through London on St George's day ever again and your attempt at making out I somehow find enjoyment in offending people is a pretty poor to be honest.

Whatever the English do though, the Irish will find some way of finding it controversial and bellyaching about it. That's why not giving a **** is the best way forward.

by the way, as the bastion of Irish Culture, what are your thoughts on the number of Mitchell's GAA clubs around the country and the GAA's absolute failure to address any controversy with that?

Post edited by FrattonFred on

You assumed any celebration of St George would have to be offensive. I asked if you can think of any ways of doing it that wouldn't be uncontroversial. You didn't respond to that. Didn't seem to catch you attention at all.

I also asked, twice, if the celebration being controversial makes it more fun. You haven't actually engaged with either of those questions.

I asked if wearing a bunch of shamrock is offensive or controversial, but you didn't respond to that. It seems you have no interest in engaging with any discussion of celebrating Georges day without including controversy. Maybe you'll prove me wrong and engage with that part of the discussion.

I don't know about the Mitchell's GAA clubs. I'll Google it later.

Edit. I Google it and I found a child sex abuse story in Mayo, a club in Belfast accused of links to republicans. And a Mitchel with links to slavery. Which story are you talking about? I suppose it goes without saying I don't have a strong opinion on the story since I don't know about it.

Post edited by El_Duderino 09 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭downcow

(ironically) This is exactly the superiority I mean highlighted in your post. You really think the craic is better in Ireland than anywhere else?. Just nonsense. I travel all over Europe with OWC football team. Everywhere I go I enjoy the local craic and embrace it, and I also enjoy the craic we bring to them. Ireland is not the centre of the universe. The craic is great everywhere and nobody does it better than anyone else, everyone just does it a bit different.

to be really honest. I have not a note in my head and i have zero interest in most music, hence I have less craic at Irish events that most as there is the incredible focus on didlydee music, imho.

I bet you the fish do. I bet you the fish have some craic on the river Maine in ballymena on a Sunday.

you want to have a wee think about your prejudice

Hard to know if I phrased it poorly or you're just not picking it up as intended.

"Not inherently superior. Shur culture is just culture. It's about how you use use it. But irish culture is certainly practiced more thoroughly, regularly, casually and inclusively".

So when I said it's not inherently superior because culture is just culture and it depends on how you use it. That seems fairly hard to misinterpret. But I'll clarify it for you. I mean that cultures aren't superior or inferior to each other. They can be practiced and passed on to a greater or lesser extent. And in my opinion, Irish culture is practiced as I described. Its also inclusive, demonstrated by the millions of people who feel they can take part in things like St Patrick's day around the world. I think that's good use of the culture.

We also use the culture to have the craic. Which I also thinknit good use of the culture. I don't think we patented craic. I know everyone has cultures which they practice to a greater or lesser degree. That should go without saying but you needed it to be said explicitly.

So to directly answer the question in your post; no. I don't (and didn’t) say the craic is better in Ireland than anywhere else. I do think we practice the culture, inclusively, pretty well.

I'm trying to anticipate how you could misinterpret this. Do you see thedifference between how you interpreted it and how I meant it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Imagine himself turning up in Ballymena to feed thousands, and he can only get his hands on loaves. Wouldn't be much of miracle then, not a dollaghan to be seen.

I am not sure this (But irish culture is certainly practiced more thoroughly, regularly, casually and inclusively) could be interpreted any other way than, that you think irish culture is practiced MORE thoroughly, regularly, casually and inclusively than other cultures? Help me of you mean something different

you seem to not get the arrogance and lack of perception in that statement - or maybe you care to explain ‘more than who?’

Its back to you defining everyone’s culture through Irish goggles.

Let’s examine your nonsense. Association football including the EPL is a huge piece of British culture. More people attend British football matches EVERY WEEK than attend the St Patrick’s parades totals all across Ireland. 4.7billion of the world’s population watch British football regularly. Doesn’t seem like a culture no one is interested in

that’s all before we even add cricket, the royalty, etc. then you have the diversity of localised British cultures like Hogmanay celebrations in Scotland, real ale festivals in England, marching bands in OWC, male choirs in Wales.

I just find the arrogance of this thread ‘we are Irish, and nobody does it like us’, actually represents an attitude that could be defined as an aspect of oirish culture.

now as for inclusivity - you cannot be serious that you think Irish culture is MORE inclusive than the rest. Do you realise there are 1 million people )at least) on this tiny island who feel so excluded by aspects of your culture that they stay away. Don’t force me to post pics and videos of eg the burning of other nations flags at st Patrick’s events, large crowds chanting support to terrorists at many of your cultural events, etc,etc. there may actually not be another culture in the world that is as openly exclusive towards neighbours as some aspects of Irish culture on this island.

so really some posters on here need to get real. Large aspects of Irish culture are wonderful, and seem great fun and something you can rightly be proud of, but less of the silly arrogance around either ‘we are the best’ or ‘we are the most inclusive’

You asked for help. I'll help. I was talking about how it's practiced. You even quoted me saying it's practiced more thoroughly, regularly, casually and inclusively. That doesn't mean the culture is superior. It means its practiced more than some other cultures. I've said this a few times so I'm not sure why you're not getting it.

I've also said that cultures aren't superior or inferior. I've said that a few times too. I'm kpt sure how many times I could.

If the English practice going to soccer as practicing their culture, then fair enough. That's a strong practice. I'll ask a few friends later today who are going to support their local lower league teams. I'll let you know what they say.

There was a poster yesterday who suggested any celebration of St George has to be controversial. I asked if they can think of any uncontroversial ways to celebrate St george and they haven't responded yet. Another poster said they had a few pints and called their family. That sounds like a good, uncontroversial way to do it.

As for the northern Irish practice of culture. I've suggested a few times that expression of culture in NI seems to thrive on winding up the other side. They're a different breed up there. They seem to enjoy winding each other up and being wound up, so as long as they make themselves and each other happy, then I'd leave them to it. I wouldn't associate myself heavily with either side up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,301 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I started a reply to this thread but then realised how futile it was. There will always be a small percentage of people who are so insecure that they have to big up whatever they do to make it more significant and important than anything anyone else does. Leave them at it.

Well you would accept my analysis that Irish culture is not practised MORE and is not MORE inclusive than others? Quite the contrary.

I’m not sure any of us have defined what culture is, but if it is not your friends going to lower league games then I don’t know what is.

I would guess if you asked people on the other side of the globe what aspects of British or Irish culture they follow and enjoy, I would argue that British would come way above Irish. They would likely name the Premier League and may never even been aware of GAA. They’d probably name the British monarchy but would never have heard of president Higgins. Etc etc.

all I am saying is many (not all) Irish think the world is infatuated with them. Most non-Europeans I talk to think Ireland is actually part of Britain.

as for you trying to push the worst aspects of exclusive Irish culture unto the northern Irish, I can assure you it is alive and well at most Irish cultural events.

I see Electric Picnic is pitching itself as the biggest music gathering in Ireland - and it has ensured the event will come c/w ooh a up the ra chants and anti British songs.

It says it’s worlds most unique - I can’t argue with that. I don’t know anywhere else in the world where it would be thought appropriate to invite along groups to a music festival who were going to eulogise terrorists who murdered local men women and children. ONLY IN IRELAND. But sure is only a bit of craic and part of our culture. And if the Brits who live on this island stay away then it will just demonstrate they are the problem as they should be more inclusive and embrace the ra song culture

32295A47-48A0-4782-90B1-3D6169BDD6D5.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭indioblack

It's not surprising that this has become confusing. Who gets to define the parameters of a nations culture, [in this case, England], and whether it is being observed, ["practiced"], sufficiently? How is this being evaluated, and by what standards? For some culture would be a broad church, umbrella word. Is it being claimed that people aren't "practicing" their culture conciously - as if there was some obligation to do so. And if it's done unconciously - well, I don't know where that line of thinking leads me! [To even more confusion I suspect].

If, for the sake of argument, it's considered that the English are not practicing elements of their culture, [which , at the same time, they appear to be unaware of], - so what? They'll just do something else.

If also segments of the English population don't know their history - well, I suspect that will lead us down another road!

There. Is it confusing, or futile as a poster has stated?

Yep.

Do you u know what? You're right orish culture is truly dreadful. With all its diddleydee music and exclusive parades. Hard to see how it persists...

i think you’ll find I said quite the opposite. Much Irish culture is great and many attending cultural events are great. My point is that some on here are painting it as somehow better and more inclusive than British culture which is patently not true.

here is an Irish cultural event that just popped up there before I read your post. Inclusive indeed! https://twitter.com/r4fcmuk7k8ihukz/status/1652579238422237185?s=46&t=acUo01EJjcKHWFvSZWTu1A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,301 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I always do my washing on Mondays and my shopping on Fridays. I iron on Tuesdays and bake on Thursdays and Saturdays. This is the proper way to live life, its the way my mother did it, its organised, efficient and traditional, that's the way it was always done. Now the woman next door she just shops any time she feels like it, and I have even seen washing out on a Sunday. I have no idea when she does her ironing, but she is not a bit organised. I sometimes pop in to check does she follow the routine at all. I have even seen her husband putting out the washing, I'm mortified for her! Its not a proper way to carry on, no respect for tradition and customs, you'd think she did not care about being a good housewife, she certainly does not care about history.

As I said, I wouldn't align myself with any of the headbangers up North. Neither side seem to enjoy thier own culture as much as when they're having a pop at the other side. Maybe that just is part of your culture up there. None of my business anyway. They're you're people, not mine.

Well sure you just live in denial if you wish. First it was English culture. Then when I post a video from yesterday you claim it’s the Nordies as well that are the problem. No comment on the fact that (roi) Irelands biggest cultural music festival will be promoting bands that ensure sectarian killers are eulogised.

its always everybody but the oirish that are the problem.

Ah sure it's always the Orish that are the problem. The NI culture seems to involve a lot of winding up the other side. I don't associate myself with that. That's a Nordie problem, not mine.

I was over with 2 of the lads this evening who regularly go to their home team soccer games. One in national league 2 and the other in the championship. I asked if they consider going on the foot all as an expression of English culture. Both said no but asked when I meant. So I said about St George's day and how I saw an argument that English people have thier own ways of expressing their culture such as going to football, real ale festivals, cricket and fish and chips. Neither agreed and one said he thought I was a weak argument.

It's only a sample set of 2 so doesn't prove anything. But it's not evidence in favour of your argument. I was careful how I phrased the question so it wasn't biased. That's it. I've another few mates who regularly go to their home team games. I'll ask them when o see them next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

What was the union flag doing in a field, away in the middle of nowhere, anyway? Could it have been put there to provoke a reaction along a road that would be used by those GAA fans on a matchday? (Both actions seem immature.)

Well done. This is a more pleasant debate now.

I wonder what those guys think culture is?

how would you define culture?

here’s a definition I found which I would feel is close to the mark Useem, J., & Useem, R. (1963). Human Organizations, 22(3). 

"Culture has been defined in a number of ways, but most simply, as the learned and shared behavior of a community of interacting human beings" (p. 169).

I have no idea. But I wouldn’t place equal blame on a guy who put his national flag in the middle of his field. That GAA crowd most be pretty easily wound up. I imagine it will be back bigger, only with grease on the pole. If that was his intention then he must be very pleased to know it worked and will work going forward. That’s how it works on this island of craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,013 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

When we talk about English culture (or unionist culture, or working-class culture, or whatever) we usually mean the learned and shared behaviour of the community in question which is not shared with other communities. So, for example, eating three meals a day is cultural behaviour - not all communities do this - but we wouldn't describe it as English culture or unionist culture, because it doesn't distinguish English people or unionist people from adjacent communities, who also eat three meals a day. Playing football is not a point of distinction between unionist and nationalist/British and Irish communities in NI, but playing particular football codes to some extent is, or not playing on Sunday.

I think, however the 2 lads I asked yesterday define it, going to the football doesn't meet it. Nor does real ale festivals, fish and chips or cricket.

How does that affect your argument that doing those things is a practice of English culture?

That's how it works in your part of the island. If that's your experience Orish culture, then it's not surprising that you're so hostile towards it.

I'm unimpressed by both sides in NI. That's why I wouldn't associate myself with either side. They really seem to see winding up the other side as part of their culture. Unpleasant practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,013 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The dominant culture in any society often doesn't recognise what is culturally distinctive about itself, because it doesn't realise that it is distinctive — partly because minority cultures often have low visibility to members of the dominant culture, and partly because minority cultures often adopt aspects of the majority culture anyway. English pub culture is quite distinctive but most English people probably don't think very much about it being "English"; they just think it's "normal". English food culture is also quite distinctive - not just fish and chips but, e.g., Indian food as sold and eaten in England is very different from anything you will find in India.

You get this less in NI because, while there are marked cultural distinctions between the two communities, members of both communities are aware of and attuned to them.

These things can change over time too. I presume rugby was just for one side in Ireland. That's changed in ROI but persisted in NI for a lot longer. That's changing too, even in NI. Ulster was captained by a bloke named Alan O'Connor last week. He's from Dublin though so maybe I'm exaggerating their capacity for change up theire.