General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,189 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Watch it again, he throws himself to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Souness's last game as a pundit on Sky today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So, from what I'm reading here, both teams should have had a penalty and two red cards, if there was a competent ref, Liverpool would have won 3-2 and Klopp should be banned for life, correct?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭eigrod

Skipps was 100% a red - Diaz ankle buckled from the force. The last player I recall getting a red for a high boot was Mane - I’ve seen a few since that were not reds. Could’ve been red. Richarlison threw himself down. As for giving a free kick against Salah when his shirt was pulled as he was past last defender- still can’t work that one out (and Spurs went up the other end and scored within a minute).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,874 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Trent has assisted 5 games in a row now. The record stands with Ozil on 7, I read today.

He's in a great vein of form again now. Which makes the constant slating from Neville every game on Sky very odd. He slated him at almost every opportunity today. One incident I found funny was when Son ran out to in, and then through on goal and took a shot before being called offside. The defence played the offside trap. Neville slated Trent for letting him run through like that, but forgetting that if he has ran with Son, he would have then played him onside possibly causing a goal. Robbo made a few mistakes today, giving the ball away from a goal kick for a Kane (?) chance, ran away from Kane when he scored, and played Son onside for his goal too. Neville blamed Trent for a couple of those too.

I think Neville is trying too hard to protect his legacy after all the talk of Trent being the best RB in the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,753 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The best RB moved into midfield now because he can't be trusted to do the bread and butter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Trent was the best right back from about 2018 to 2021. He hasn’t been the best for the past 2 years though. Still one of the top crossers/passers in the league though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So at some point, he got carded even though it wasn't him who scored...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Found the game - it was against Fuham.

Strange thing is: it wasn't after a goal (EDIT - might have been a disallowed one, as mentioned above. Good shout)

EDIT 2 - it was - 90th minute https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vj7w7AOT4sE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

If VAR rules out a goal but you get a yellow card in the celebration the yellow card still stands

He had scored and taken his top off celebrating against Fulham earlier in the season. The goal made the game 3-1 before VAR ruled it out and the game stayed at 2-1 but he kept his yellow card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Yeah wins today for Newcastle and united sealed it. As a Liverpool fan I think they'll finish 5th now and closer to 4th than they are today. Bring on the Europa league though I'll be in east Kazakhstan for the group stage but coppers after the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

The big silver lining of Liverpool being in the Europa is the final being in Dublin next year.

It would be unbelievable to see them play a major European game here!

Top 4 is settled now. For teams with the European pedigree and history of Liverpool and Man Utd, qualifying for the Europa is failure. Fair enough, winning it adds a trophy to the list, but ultimately it means they failed in the minimum target for the season before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

In fairness, his time had come. He views the game with an attitude stuck in the 70/80/90s….

Post edited by doc_17 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

As a Utd fan I obviously hear more of pundits talking about Utd and he very well may have been just playing up to pool fans and trying to troll Utd but he was constantly wrong about things he was offering his view on regarding Utd. Like a completely ignorant view most times I heard him speak.

He seems to have a real inability to concede a point or even listen to a different point of view also and would double down on his point even if it was becoming obvious he was incorrect.

I never felt like I learned something when listening to him. There's a few of the older generation who think they can just turn up and say whatever when being a pundit on a match, zero prep work. Living off their name.

This is where Neville and Carragher excel over the others. I feel like they may have actually thought about what they are saying beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭anplaya27

Actually thought Nunez scored an og for Spurs 3rd. You can see him getting the touch on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,235 ✭✭✭golfball37

Ben Davies had to leave the field with blood on his face and shirt for the Salah non foul. It should have been a free to Mo but he hit Davies with his arm and once ref saw that I can understand why he gave a free out.

Pretending Salah was 100% innocent does everyone a disservice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Saw that alright. He definitely caught him so you can see why he gave the free to Spurs. His performance for both sides was poor. I can't understand how Jota was even on the pitch after that tackle...Tierney must need a trip to specsavers

Yeah to be fair, Salah did catch Davies alright. He was being pulled and dragged with both arms and tried to break free but caught him accidentally. The incident doesn't happen if Tierney blows for the initial foul though.

It indirectly led to the equaliser too.

It's funny cos in an earlier game this season, Tierney failed to blow for a free kick for a similar incident on Salah and that prompted another reaction from Klopp which he received a red card for.

There's a line of history with Tierney & Salah/Liverpool/Klopp.

qa8id0kfh7u91.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

In fairness Skipp should of been off for his tackle on Diaz then the Jota one never happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,755 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Trent is still a RB who is an awful defender. Fantastic attacker but woejus the other way thats a glaring issue that is impossible to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Trent is an old school right winger except he doesn't have a RB behind him to do all the dirty work. He's never been a good defender and never will be and for that reason can't ever be considered one of the best RBs

I actually think he is very good at some aspects of the defensive game - interceptions for example.

Trent got slated for losing a back post headed to Mitrovic on the first day of the season. A 6' 2" striker up against a 5' 9" full back. Mitrovic used Trent for leverage. It happens. Then again a few months later, Neville continued his tirade against Neville because Brentford scored a back post header while having a back post overload. 2 v 1. He slated Trent for not moving into the CB position and stayed with the wide player until too late. Saying he should have tucked in earlier......even though VVD, Konate & Fabinho already already there. So I think he just wanted to slate Trent tbh.

Screenshot_2023-05-01-09-30-09-31_f9ee0578fe1cc94de7482bd41accb329.jpg

I think there might have been another MNF feature on him after that, highlighting his flaws and he ended up taking about how he was not playing his best and taking on the constructive criticism etc. A couple of weeks later, similar happened with the backpost overload. This time, Trent tucked in to the CB and left the wide player open. He took on this criticism and used it to 'do the right thing'. If memory serves me correctly, the winger received the ball and shot wide. Guess who was on the case? Neville slating Trent for not staying with his man and tucking in while the other players were covered. .damned if you do and damned if you don't.

A lot of times he is being ridiculed for is when he gets exposed and has a 2v1 situation. More times than not, the 1 is going to lose out there. Even 1v1, he is not the best fair enough. I think a lot of modern full backs are. Reece James doesn't get half the criticism that Trent does, and he often has the safety net of 3 CBs behind him. Cancelo never did.

There was a couple posters who only seem to post in this thread to ridicule Trent for something that his sometimes not his fault. Such as midfield runners creating overloads etc.

Can he do better defensively? Sure. But he is told to take risks and stay higher. The reward is much higher than the risk so it's better to have it that way. There's no point having him play 20 yards deeper and shutting down the best part of his game just to win an extra sliding tackle or block the ball out for a corner 3 times while having no offensive contribution.

He was in TOTY multiple times, YPOTY last season, nominated for senior POTY. UEFA TOTY. You don't do that while being woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

Huge match for Everton and Leicester tonight. Also, West Ham have to play Utd and City, as well as two of the teams below them whilst managing a two-legged European semi final…..they aren’t out of the woods yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

PGMOL on Klopp's comments on Tierney

"Match officials in the Premier League are recorded in all games via a communications system and having fully reviewed the audio of referee Paul Tierney from today’s fixture, we can confirm he acted in a professional manner throughout including when issuing the caution to the Liverpool manager so, therefore, we strongly refute any suggestion that Tierney’s actions were improper.”

Just shows that Klopp was talking crap just to try and deflect from his outrageous and childish behaviour towards the 4th official.

Terrible example to be setting for all the people watching. Something we need stamped out of the game at grassroots level up and this behaviour from a PL manager is a disgrace.

They score a match winning goal and his first thought is to run and abuse the 4th official (if he didn't abuse him why did he get carded). Childish.

I hope the FA set and example and charge him with improper conduct and give him a suspension.

I'd be incline to agree wtih you - bu I think the FA should have released the audio just to end things.

And yeah - if Klopp is talking shite, one game suspension. We'd be fuming if it was Pep or someone.