What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,891 ✭✭✭✭briany

In the United States, capitalism truly is king, and there are endless marketing opportunities to milk money from absolute eejits who think they're getting one over on 'the other side'. This one takes the cake,

Available for every American to purchase. Except those from Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Hawaii, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Utah.

What has this got to do with Donald Trump? Well, not much directly, but it does illustrate that Trump's position as god-king of the deplorables is pretty much safe until he kicks the bucket if this is the kind of thing which some Americans are swallowing, figuratively and, in this case, literally.

The guy who started this brand must be secretly laughing his arse off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,287 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Did he not get turned down by brewers when they realised who it was being brewed for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There are no limits to what Americans will sell for a quick buck. At World Trade Plaza, they sell used flags in honour of those who died.

It will be funny to see people complain about Biden being too old (frankly, I agree) while heralding Trump as the better option.

Biden vs. Trump round 2 is not what the world wants to see but I sense the Dems know Biden will win it and they are probably too uncertain to test the waters with a different candidate.

The Republicans can only secretly hope that Trump either dies or ends up in jail because him being the Republican candidate makes it too easy for the Dems. Trump dying saves the shitshow that will be the primaries while him going to jail means they can cry foul and stoke up more anti-Government/State sentiment and don't have to debate him.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

$20 for a six-pack!!

Wonder if you get a discount if you order using your Freedom phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭randd1

It'd be some craic if the lads making this were the same lads that make Bud Light.

I sent that crowd a quick email to ask what exactly their process is for extracting the wokeness, as I said I had a concern that any woke residue might make my kids tolerate gay marriage and have respect for other races.

If they get back to me, I imagine they'll say it's a trade secret and that they cannot tell me their exact methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,485 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

There is no chance in hell this isnt somehow connected to Anheuser-Busch. They absolutely arent brewing it themselves and to obtain enough to sell this quickly means they are buying it from a source that distills and can do custom labeling quickly which likely means a major distillery/producer of which the vast majority of are owned by AB.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I read an article saying that it was almost certainly breaking a whole bunch of laws right out the gate.

The guy is based in Michigan (I think) and that State requires a whole bunch of licences and certificates to brew/sell beer and there is no record that the guy has any of these , plus the journo had reached out to all the registered brewers in the State and none were doing business with him. It's also illegal to trade in the State using an out of State brewer without various registrations etc. which again he doesn't have.

So either the beer doesn't actually exist or he is breaking a whole bunch of laws if it does.

Like all the "anti-woke" products that appear to scam the gullible MAGA crowd , scratch the surface and it's either fake or absolutely none of what it claims to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Anyone buying products solely on the basis of their perceived "wokeness" (or lack thereof) deserves to be scammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Apparently the reason Trump has been so quiet on the Bud Light thing and why coke junior was against the boycott is because they have a lot of money invested in AB!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,287 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

even funnier the same people that said Biden was too old in 2000 will be silent on Trump being the same age in 2024.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Mormegil

Says the beer is made in Georgia on the website.

100% made in America in Gwinnett County, Georgia.

My guess is that there will be no beer and the 30 days is used to sell as much expensive tat with the logo on as they possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭archermoo

Huh. I have some friends that live in Gwinnett County. I'll have to ask them if they've heard anything about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭Rawr

You're most likely right, kind of reminds me of this:

Untitled Image

Now we've got "Duff", "Duff Non-woke" and "Duff Premium Freedom Patriot....Export (Trump Edition)"

Looks like they are in theory working with Big Kettle Brewing, a contract brewer in Gwinnett. The website has a very "scam" feel to me.

Well, what else would you call charging $20 for 6 cans of beer?

You can buy 30 cans of any other beer for that price in the US - And quite a few for less than that..

A 500% mark up to drink "non woke" beer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,485 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Jebus i didnt even look at the price, they really are the most gullible and scammable demographic out there arent they?

It takes 30 days to ship as well.....

Fair point. I was more meaning it in the "I have a feeling no one is going to actually get any beer" way, rather than the "that's some overpriced swill" way. 🙂

Well, from what I can tell they only got a contract with a brewery in the last few days. Beer does take a finite amount of time to make. Even the crappy stuff. They were negotiating with a different brewery at one point, but started advertising it before actually having a contract, and once the brewery saw the adverts they didn't want anything to do with it. 🙂

Oh I think there's a good chance both of us will be right.

Hordes of MAGA knuckleheads will send off their money and eventually the company will tell them that due to unforeseen circumstances, the beer isn't available, oh and by the way your money is gone and the company has gone bust so there are no refunds..

I wonder what the cultural root of that kind of thing is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,378 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

people who would have bought magic beans, back in the day?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

I mean more what tendency is being exploited in the American psyche with this stuff. Hyper-capitalism? Rugged individualism?

Simply put - Religion.

There are countless studies out there that show that people that come from a background of heavy religious influence (any religion) have less well developed mental functions around critical thinking and analytical skills. They are far more likely to blindly believe and not question what they are told by "authority figures" than those from less religious backgrounds.

Who'd have thought that a lifetime of being told that the answer to any difficult question is "It's Gods will" would damage your ability to not fall for scams and scam artists, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,889 ✭✭✭✭Water John

This is the Avanda A Great f***ing bag. Brilliant marketing video. Video made and marketed before any product was made or production even priced.

The ultimate sales pitch. So many fall for it.

I'm not sure what you mean "fall for it". This was the promo video for their Kickstarter launch. They raised a lot of money and made a lot of bags. I've got one myself. They even successfully transitioned their Kickstarter success into a functioning company that is still selling bags, which not a lot of even successful Kickstarters are able to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Pence appeared before the D.C/Federal grand jury today. The walls are really starting to close in around Don and his circle of conspiratorial seditionists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,157 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

$499 for what looks like a badly speced android handset that would retail about €100 tops here, these people are a different level of stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Don't get me wrong, there's no question of which one should get the job, but the main motivation to vote Biden is to stop Trump from getting in. A younger candidate that can generate more enthusiasm is better, particularly as the Democrats are so strong with younger voters. Age is the stick MAGAs will use to beat him with, all while ignoring Trump's own age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,247 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'd definitely rather see someone other than Biden run, but given that the GOP candidate is likely to be Trump, it has to be taken into consideration that Biden beat him once and the incumbent President usually has the advantage regardless (I say usually because Trump had that advantage and still lost).

While Biden's age is a factor, Biden not running again due to age would call into question that he still has another 18+ months in the role, and Dems fighting between themselves for the nomination like the GOP will have to is likely to cause more harm than good. For example if Kamala Harris ran for the nomination, you would have other Dems having to criticise her performance as VP.

Biden's age is a factor, but there are many other advantages and benefits to Biden running again that outweigh that imo, particularly if the GOP nominee is Trump.