Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Dublin dont need to be split. Dublin werent unfairly advantaged. They got funding to do with their population a bit above compared to others but not to the point it was unfair. Dublin have always had a pipulation anyway and there is clubs from dublin who will run fundraisers that can make as much as some countys fundraisers for example next week in punchestown there will be a dublin club or two running a big fundraiser same as a county board or two and the dublin club will get as many tables/at higher cost than the county board will do. They can attract sponsors more. nothing can be changed about that bar putting in a cost cap

Dublin havent an unfair population advantage. they have an advantage. unless you want to redraft county lines etc then all counties will be different.

Kerry have an unfair advantage over a fair few counties. as do Cork/Galway.

Im not a Dub and dont think they should be split. there is little to suggest Dubs will row in behind any split sides and in fact it would disenfranchise many. There isnt any asterisk beside any of Dublins wins unless you are a bitter supporter of a rival county of Dublins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

Again, you are assuming that population makes no difference to results. It does, and Dublin are such enormous outliers in terms of population that they should be split for that alone. A cost cap is a good idea, that should apply to all counties, with maybe some consideration for variables like mileage. Right now Dublin have been getting millions more than other counties, both from the GAA and AIG- this is unfair in and of itself, and when it is combined with their other advantages, it is completely untenable. The asterisk is certainly there- people both within and outside of Dublin rightfully judge their achievements as less impressive than other counties, because it is well known that they came off a platform of unfair advantages.

What level do you split Dublin then to? There will be other counties with large populations that also could be split then if thats your logic based on either population or their ability to raise money. Dublin has been getting more money for developing kids to play the sport. that cant ever be seen as a bad thing. There isnt an asterisk, well from rational non bitter people at least.

Good question- I'm genuinely unsure. I would say at least four teams but there is certainly an argument for even more. As I previously said, the issue really is that Dublin have all these problems in combination. If Dublin just played almost all consequential games at home- fine, we can move them out of there. If Dublin just had a massive population- fine, we can just split them into two teams. If Dublin just were overfunded for decades, maybe we could just equalise funding from all sources for 20 or so years. But take the scale, nature, combination and duration all these unfair advantages together and you realise no single measure will be sufficient- at least a four way split is now necessary to save the game of gaelic football and help all counties.

It's been proven that the games development money helps the Senior side- both because of the reduction of opportunity cost, and the improvement in the standard of football at all levels. This doesn't even factor in the money from the Sports Council or their sponsors. So for rational, non-bitter people like myself and most GAA supporters, there absolutely is an asterisk. Dublin didn't win fairly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Oh you bitter bitter person , COYBIB 😂 Dream all you want , Dublin GAA will never agree to splitting Dublin as the only solution to the many problems in Inter County Gaelic Football .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭mobby

Cop yourself on lad, it's not going to happen, even a four-way split and Dublin would never win an all-Ireland again, which admit it, is what you want to see. it is really what it's all about with ye.. deep down yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭rolling boh

At least Colm has a bit more on his plate than he might have thought so we may get a rest from his split Dublin up as a solution for the games ills .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,888 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Nonsense.

Splitting Dublin would only benefit a small handful of counties. It would increase the chances of the likes of Mayo, Galway and Cork winning All-Irelands, and benefit few others. It is only demanded by a small cohort of supporters attached to counties like that who couldn't win an All-Ireland unless the main contenders were hobbled in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

"Dublin werent unfairly advantaged. They got funding to do with their population a bit above compared to others but not to the point it was unfair"

Between 2007 to 2017, Dublin received almost €17m in coaching and games development grants. Cork (next highest county) received just €1.1m in the same period.

Ive no doubt it was money well spent, and a lot of people benefit from it outside of the county success, but you can pick any metric you want - number of clubs, number of active teams, number of registered players, population etc and it all adds up to special treatment for the richest county in the land.

@mobby- I don't mind if Dublin subdivisional sides win All-Irelands as I have no animosity towards Dublin, I just want a split of Dublin because I want what is best for Gaelic Football. I would just want them to win the titles fairly, unlike the current Dublin team.

@blanch152, your response is what is nonsense. Dublin are unfairly advantaged currently due to population, funding etc. as has been pointed out hundreds of times on this thread alone. Splitting the team into 4+ divisional sides ameliorates these advantages and makes the competition fairer for everyone (including Dublin)- this improvement in fairness helps all teams. The increase in fairness also enhances the prestige of the compeition, also helping all participants. It also allows more players from Dublin to challenge for Sam Maguire and not one club or Dublin supporter will be unrepresented in inter-county football after a split. There are numerous upsides to a split and effectively no downsides.

But you refuse to acknowledge/admit that there will always be population differences and significant ones at that between most counties and that you are changing Dublin based on population then you must change other counties as well particularly if you want teams to win titles fairly and want what is best for gaelic football.

Dublin has had highest population for years and it won them feck all. siginficant numbers in Dublin either cant give a **** about GAA, gaelic football or live in Dublin but play, support etc teams/counties elsewhere on the island.

And your idea about splitting Dublin into 4 means resources have to be spent getting all their development systems right etc etc. None of these moves would make a difference to a large number of counties anyway.

As has been pointed out god knows how many times on this thread alone , a Dublin split is not gonna happen

You most certainly want Dublin split to benefit your own County , saying you want what's best for Gaelic Football is pure nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭mobby

oh there will be plenty more of this stuff in the coming months, These lads have major chips, but let them rant away, a split will NEVER happen.

Not forgetting the free cars , free Lunches , home referees and sleeping in there own beds etc 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Gael85

I have acknowledged there are differences- what matters is the sheer scale of Dublin's population advantage especially when combined with the last 20 or so years of massive overfunding by both the GAA and their sponsorship partners. So Dublin, and Dublin alone, are a unique outlier. Therefore Dublin, and Dublin alone, should be split. Just because Dublin have historically failed to take full benefit of their massive population does not mean they weren't always unfairly advantaged. Also they did not win "feck all", they were the second highest in the roll of honour, lots of Leinster titles, NFLs etc. Significant numbers of people don't care about gaelic games outside of Dublin too, this is not unique to them.

Splitting Dublin helps all counties because it makes the competition fairer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Why should Dublin be punished because counties like laois can't get there house in order

There county board have been involved with multiple controversy over the years, good coach's removed or pushed from their jobs the way laois gaa has been run a result like last Sunday was bound to happen

Splitting Dublin doesn't punish them- it helps them just as it helps all other counties. It makes the All-Ireland fairer for everyone and in Dublin's case it lets more players challenge for Sam Maguire, as well as allow intra-Dublin rivalries to build up between the new subdivisional teams.

Moving on from that it is difficult for many counties to challenge them given the combination and scale of their unfair advantages and the fact Dublin have been uniquely favoured by GAA HQ over the last 20 years in terms of funding.

No splitting Dublin helps your County , keep dreaming lad

Fair enough they had a golden generation over the last 10 years , but prior to that Leinster was wide open, any team could win it

It now looks like Leinster will struggle to get more then two or three teams into the sam McGuire competition

It was several different generations of players tbf. The issue is that Dublin's population means that for every player with inter-county potential that say, Meath, has, Dublin will have around 6 or 7. Then the Games Development funding that Dublin were favoured for means they will be able to develop way more of these players to the requisite quality. Then playing games at home means they are more likely to beat teams. These are just some of the ways that Dublin's unfair advantages benefit them to the detriment of the game as a whole.

So we can see here again for this issue, the common theme of the thread has reasserted itself: splitting Dublin alone will help the game in Leinster as with everywhere else.

I think some of the counties in Leinster are so badly run at the moment it doesn't matter what Dublin are doing,

You could have JP McManus involved with financing some of them counties and nothing would improve

Dublin always had the population advantage over the other teams in the province but it didn't stop Kildare,meath laois and Offaly putting it up to them

Now it's possible that all 4 counties will be in the tailtean cup in 2 weeks time, that has nothing to do with Dublin or population, there are far greater issues in them counties to be fixed first

Even if that was true, and I don't believe it is, it doesn't justify the funding that Dublin have received, and continue to receive. Dublin may not have historically taken full advantage, but it doesn't mean they weren't unfairly advantaged (They were already by far the most successful county in Leinster even before the enormous funding started). To use an example, say a team in the NFL started with a 4 point headstart on everyone else every yeah- they may not always win, but they are clearly unfairly advantaged.

Splitting Dublin would help the underperforming Leinster counties now as it would increase their faith in the integrity of the competition, which would attract players to work harder all year. It must be difficult to motivate yourself now when Dublin are so blatantly unfairly advantaged relative to everyone else- another reason why a split would be good for everyone.

i always taught Cork had more gaa clubs then dublin , surly you go by the amount of clubs rather then population , cork are not exactly setting the world alight in reascent years to be fair either

Why would you go by number of clubs? Regardless, it's been proven repeatedly over this thread that by whatever metric you use- funding per player, funding per club, funding per head of population etc, Dublin have been completely and unfairly overfunded in recent decades relative to everyone else.

Again splitting Dublin would only help your County , jog on now lad , your making a right idiot of yourself

it's been obvious over this thread , all you want is for Dublin to be split , so your own County has a stronger hand , you dont give a monkeys about the Leitrims sligos etc

Dublin is the only county that has the population, coaching structures and funding that is equivalent to a province. The stat was posted earlier in the thread but at one point dublin had more games development officers than a few provinces combined.

I don't think splitting dublin was or will ever be a realistic proposition but there needs to be more of an effort to equalise the inherint advantages they currently enjoy

You might have a point here but you have to acknowledge that when dublin were going bad (by their standards) they were given a gold plated rescue package with the funding to back it up. That's a luxury that was never afforded to any other county.

Other counties are also not in a position to employ a full time chief executive and a full time commercial officer, like Dublin are. Other counties also don't have the facility for putting full time coaches in every club in the county. There is a huge difference between having a professional coaching/management team vs the goodwill of volunteers