Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aidan O Shea unfairly criticized ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Avon8

Why would a Mayo fan start this thread? All it brings is an opportunity to degrade him from people who dislike him. Funnily enough, while they'll come out swinging against outsiders saying anything, bar far the most abuse he's gotten has been from within his own county.

I think he's been harshly treated overall. Some of it has been brough on himself but overall he does get more negative attention than is warranted.

As a player, he deserved an all star in 2013 for the Donegal game alone. 2015 was a very good year of forward play until the semis. He's gone off the boil since and shouldn't have got near an all star in 2017. Probably should've been a sub by 2021. His league form has been good so perhaps an Indian summer in the offing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,355 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Ironically enough, had he not performed so well in games against Galway, Roscommon, Tyrone, Donegal, etc. he wouldn't have gotten anywhere near as much criticism for "not showing up" against the Dubs.

I think this is a very good point.

We live in a world of "recency bias", where we have short attention spans and we tend to look in the short term more than the long term, or ignore the big picture.

So Aiden O' Shea having good performances one week is quickly forgotten about when he has a bad one the next week.

Aiden O'Shea has had a good league and seemingly McStay has found the way to maximise his potential, but all that good form in the league will be forgotten about if that doesn't continue.

I think a lot of the abuse after the 2021 final was down to what people heard on the TV that evening, Darragh Maloney mentioned early in the game that O'Shea had never scored in an All Ireland final.

Not many knew that but plenty pilled on when O'Shea failed to score and Mayo failed to perform.

We saw a great example of recency bias on the preview of the championship on the last League Sunday show of the year.

The pundits picked Galway, Mayo and Dublin for the All Ireland. But oddly none picked defending champions and the most decorated county of them all , Kerry.

That's because they where just fresh from seeing Dublin win well and Mayo and Galway playing a tight game that day.

Kerry had not been in focus for at least a few weeks, thus they were forgotten about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,756 ✭✭✭Trampas

He’s a good player but not the great player that the media like to trot out at times. Media can the root of these things as they like to go on like player x is the next best or current best player in the game.

When playing the forward line he just doesn’t contribute enough for me on the scoreboard. The stats speak for themselves.

I think he sees himself as the quarterback in American football or the play maker in soccer. He feed the ball on than making runs/bursting his … you rarely see him coming off the shoulder to make that run and slot it over the bar.

If he runs the show down in Mayo only the local lads would know I guess. I don’t think he’s sly with diving and or worse which I feel Cillian o Connor is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 howdo92

People saying he didn’t perform against Dublin but I remember him giving two key assists for Keegan’s goals against them.

He is just an easy target. Comer was marked out of it in last years final and failed to score but very little made of that. And he is a much more natural forward than o shea.

All the positional changes haven’t helped him down the years but he has had a great career for Mayo. When he was younger and had the engine he was a monster of a player in the middle of the field, some great performances.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

It's mainly Mayo supporters who criticise him, they expect too much and build their own players up to a point at which it weights too heavily on them in finals. It's a bit like England and "footballs coming home" shite during world cups with the media and supporters building them up and then turning on them. I genuinely feel sorry for the players who have tried so hard over the years and probably won't ever get over the line in winning an all Ireland championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭munster87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Jaysus Shane Walsh and brogan and Clifford on ads for SuperValu on tv full time. But ye on about Aidan O’Shea trying to sell a few tickets for his club 😂

the fact this thread is made shows he gets more stick than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

In fairness mods should shut it down , it's only going to bring personal abuse to him from idiots, you'd wonder is it designed to generate debate on a fairly quite forum now that mayo have a few weeks off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Aidan is the best player to see named on the team if you are the opposition :D Most overrated player in GAA history! Not a single point in what 7 all ireland finals?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,108 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod

Thread descended quickly, as it was always going to.

Closed.