No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,438 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was on mart eye, lot one. Not sure if you can watch it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭kk.man

Imo the unionists are doing themselves an injustice by saying 'no'. Voters are fed up of electing ppl who don't take their seats. NI has the best of both worlds the UK and English markets. If I was an FDI and the situation was stable I'd locate there.

With regard to nationalist not getting a fair deal it's not black and white. Example: Jean Mc Convillie returns to West Belfast in her coffin and SF orders everyone inside....pure sick.. justify that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Barry Humphries died today. I never really got the whole Dame Edna persona but Les Patterson and Sandy Stone were both class acts.

I'm a child of the late 1970's so I grew up during the 1980's watching the news, that's the reason I won't vote SF. Only ever met them once lobbying, including Mary Lou, I can't say they made a positive impression - it felt more like an audience with rather than a meeting with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,427 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

3D24E1E6-EBD4-4767-AFA0-C83325A2A050.jpeg

Wee jaunt on this old girl tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭straight

The person that never made a mistake never made anything. When you are in power for 100 years of. Of course there is going to be plenty mistakes.

All of us landlords are not raking it in you know, we are being driven from the sector in our droves and the same with developers. They can't get the finance anymore because the profit margins aren't there. Building is just too bloody expensive due to the massive energy specs and building costs. But sure I'm sure SF and PBP will fix it with their magic wand. Actually PBP have legislation in front of the Dáil at the moment to start taking people's houses and moving in any resident of the state if there is a spare bedroom. Bunch of fruit cakes the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I saw Richard Boyd Barrett of the People Before Profit–Solidarity, say recently that he wanted to put a cap on the price of food. I kid you not. This level of financial ignorance is frightening. He might as well put a cap on the price of oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,427 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We sold our rental. Partly couldn’t be dealing with entitles tenants and the risk of a SF government is too much. Estate agent said that 75% of rental business at the time was sales to private individuals with fear of SF government being prominent reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,636 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Based on present polling, the next Govn't would be a SF/FF coalition. Other than that it could be a SF + various others in a minority Govn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭148multi

SF voted for rising the pension age in the north while canvassing down here against it. I see little difference in them all, it appears to be a career choice and let the CS run the country.

FF seem to be keeping a bit nearer the SF fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Is that an argument to live them there for another 100 years?? One of the big Drivers of construction costs here is the failure of succesive FFG governments to implement the Kenny report that capped the price of rezoned land(similar measures are in place across the EU). Between that and generous tax measures for vulture funds, ordinary people aren't getting a look in with large areas of the country now short of the likes of teachers and nurses who can't afford to live there. At least Leo the Leak will be happy to hear they have the big farmer vote sown up as usual🙄

Post edited by Birdnuts on

I'd say you should run yourself and sort out the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

SF have had their share of serious leaks aswell over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tileman

Sorry anyone that refers to the Taoiseach as Leo the leaks shows where there party alliances are.

another person here who became an accidental landlord sue to negative equity. Also getting out of it as nonprofessional toon against tenants not paying and constantly looking for stuff tonne fixed , replaced. not risking a SF lead government here either. So that will unfortunately be another family looking for a new home due to the current constant media and populasist agenda about landlords .

being a landlord is not a vocation. It’s not up to the private sector to sort out the accommodation crisis. As in all countries it should be done in a commercial basis . However due to the left agenda people are leaving in their drives .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭DBK1

Using “FFG” and “Leo the Leak” doesn’t help your argument. It makes you look childish and immature to be honest.

I guess it would be better then leaving in a totalitarian state where the government never changes, like some here seem to want....

Seriously?? Such terms are widely used in independent media, online etc. given this chaps activities in government. You kinda confirm my impression of Blueshirts being very prickly and unable to ship any legitimate criticism of their government record. You can see that every day in the Dail where they often refuse to answer simple questions put to them by the opposition about various matters. The treatment of whistleblowers by same is indicative of a cabal too long in government. Anyhow I promise to refer to Leo as "Our Dear Leader" from now on so as not to upset any of the snowflakes here🙀

PS: Can i expect a similar lecture from you when I and others here refer to Eamon Ryan as a "Cabbage Head" ??🤐

Post edited by Birdnuts on

I'm afraid you are falling for propaganda and lies.

Notable examples of totalitarian states include Italy under Benito Mussolini (1922–43), the Soviet Union under Joseph Stalin (1924–53), Nazi Germany under Adolf Hitler (1933–45), the People's Republic of China under the influence of Mao Zedong (1949–76), and North Korea under the Kim dynasty (1948– ).

I can assure you I’m no supporter of Fine Gael, I’m just making the point that you’re already losing the argument when you have to resort to childs-play like name calling.

And yes I’m would say the same to anyone using “Cabbage Head” for Eamon Ryan if arguing a point too.

I also said the same to someone using “Putrid” on here before as well.

Call me biased or whatever you like but I like to think that as farmers we’re a bit more respectful and mature when debating things like the government as unlike a lot of people voting we actually have something to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,307 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

We are the 15 longest democracy in the world. We survived the 20's and 30's and did not slide into a totalitarian state then.

For all your dismissal them FG and FF have observed the rules of democracy. In 1932 the Cumann na nGaedheal handed over power peacefully even though one of there TD's was shot during the election ( many political parties would have used less of an excuse to hold onto power back then).

You might not like that we have had a two and a half party state of the first 80-90 years of our existence and that these parties which are centrist controlled the state, but remember they were elected

'' by the people for the people off the people''.

I am not sure what you mean by the independent media. I have never seen a serious publication refer to the Taoiseach as Leo the Leak or to the present government as FFG. You may find that a few independent contributors referring to them as that but in generally the mainstream media refer to them but there proper initials.

Government's generally accross the world avoid loaded questions by the opposition. SF and the Left parties will do the same when and if they get into government. Government task is to govern. It's something many conveniently forget.

I do not think that I ever referred to ER as cabbage head. I have referred to SF as the Shinnors, however it generally on another forum in reply to a general disparaging post that use offencivies terms for the government.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭148multi

Listening to Marie Donnelly on country wide, it would appear that the citizen assembly have only one solution to climate change, plant trees.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

The one thing that's consistent from all political announcements, reports, social media "activists", etc. is that someone else (usually farmers) should do something so everyone else can carry on their ultra-consumer lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

In the EU and the US if you really look into it. It's buttering up/paving the way for public sentiment to accept investment funds/well known corporations purchasing farmland for profit from wildlife initiatives, carbon capture. Atm they're trying to set up conditions that allow return on investment.

I see in the US a thing was made by an investment firm of buying "degraded" cropland for the purpose of applying biochar. Their spiel was local farmers would be looked after. All that means is a local contractor will be employed to do the work. But you know corporate bullcrap talk. In the meantime you've John Kempf a high profile agronamist in the US decrying he hasn't seen any crop production benefits from the k's of acres that received biochar out there. Quite simply it's done wrong. But for the lazy so and so's who won't keep livestock and just apply biochar in a limespreader they're getting paid now by funds to do so with no thought of soil health or productivity. Suits and no brains.

The Blueshirts sent a load of loopers to Spain to fight for Franco in the 30's - so we came dam close. As for media, you must be living a seriously sheltered life if you think the opposition get a fair hearing in the mainstream media such as Indo newspapers or RTE. None of them have covered the many scandals involving Government TDs in term of the planning process or failing to follow members interests rules that have been exposed by independent journalists like the lads behind The Ditch , The Village in the past few years. Even stories that do get out like the Nursing Home Fees scandal were broke initially by smaller independent media. The treatment of whistleblowers that exposed serious wrong doing within the AGS, Health Service, ESB etc. all point to a similar culture. Your reference to "loaded questions" in terms of the opposition holding the government to account point to your own poltical bias.

You seriously believe farmers are the only ones affected by government decisions/policies??? fraid your posts here suggest someone seriously out of touch with the realities for many folks in this country🙄

If you take the time to read posts properly before replying to them and going on a rant you’ll realise I never said farmers are the only ones affected.

I said “unlike a lot of people voting…” And that I fully stand over and anyone that reads it and understands it will agree. There are a lot of voters in this country that have nothing to lose as everything they have was handed to them, not worked for.

These are the people Sinn Fein, PBP etc. target for votes because as long as you can convince them you will give them more than they’re already getting you will buy their vote.

If you think Sinn Fein would be a good governing party for farmers, business owners, multinationals who pay their taxes here, you average tax payer, or even the country in general then the “nuts” part of your name is certainly true.

Although in a funny way it’s people like you that would strongly have me considering voting for Sinn Fein in the next election. It’s probably inevitable they will get into power at some stage in the future so maybe we should take short term pain for long term gain and get them into government as quick as possible. That way when all the gullible people that wanted them in power realise that the magic money tree doesn’t exist and they still can’t get all they were promised, Sinn Fein would be out of government again and probably be forgotten about for a generation or 2.

They can go back to what they’re good at then and shout from the sidelines.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I was going to say imagine what FF and FG would be like slinging mud from the sidelines, but I don't think they'll be on the sidelines after the next General Election.

I'd be guessing FF, FG, RTE, the Irish Times, Indo, Newstalk, etc. will go all out to blacken SF and frighten any floating voters off them. FF and FG will probably then get 60-ish seats, maybe 65 if the wind is with them. They'll cobble together another 20 from Independents and whatever is left of the Greens and Labour and form a Government. How steady that will be, or how long it lasts is another question.

The only way SF could get into Government is if FF join them in a coalition. But for that to happen, FF would have to say they were wrong about SF for the last 20 years, or SF have changed, etc. And I just can't see that happening.

But to be honest, none of it really matters. Between the civil service, industry lobbyists for builders and finance, the unions, international bond markets, EU and American interest rates, etc. it doesn't really matter who is briefly in the Minister's office smiling for photos and talking in cliches on the Claire Byrne Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭farmertipp

I hope they leave the greens out on principle. but then politicians havenever been known for having that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭dmakc

You can go into partnership with a minimum ratio of 20:80 So 20% of farm gets higher taxes while 80% gets standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

We have a huge lawn here, an hour and 40 mins every week on the ride in, and I can't get to it every week. It's fragmented so a robot will only do the biggest one. I'm beside the parents so thays part of it.

It's either a bigger ride on, which would be a beast of yoke, I have a 17 hp husky.

Or a conditioner mower for the back of the ferguson 20 for about 2k? Would it give a good finish?