No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@Base price cant see the Greens in any coalition after the next election as there wouldn't any elected, there will also be no PBP TDs and and I would say Labour TDs will be few on the ground too. Support from all three of these will go to Sinn Fein. Independents will see a big increase in numbers after the next election. Then it will depend on how much FF & FG loose to Sinn Fein to see how the next government is made up. I would guess Sinn Fein with FF & support from Aontu (they will have 4 -5 seats next election) or a few Independents. It will be interesting to see how it goes, I would guess it will take longer to form the next government than it did to form the last one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭White Clover

I saw an opinion poll somewhere in the last week, it was something like

SF 62 seats

FG 41

FF 29

LAB 2

SOC Dems 6

Greens 0

Can't remember what independents and others were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Well there's one of Gerry Hutch's insiders in An Garda Siochana exposed.

They never even tried to hide it. They must have their money and retirement made. Some country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Which Party hasn't?? FFg have plenty as exposed by the journalists I mentioned earlier in terms of dodgy dealings in the planning process etc.. Interesting how many here want FFG to retain power indefinitely. Suggests any "Farmers" party will just row in with the status quo which doesn't seem a very popular approach with the rest of the electorate atm....

Politicians from FFG who were involve in the likes of the Ballyseedy massacre during the civil war were in government in this state up until the 60's. SF r far from perfect but saying they should never be in government due to issues associated with past conflicts ignores the reality of politics threw-out history and around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Would think they should never be in government under mary, a tough listen in opposition, wouldn't want to imagine in a taoiseach or tanaiste role. Oul populist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I'm not on about past conflicts though. This is in the last 10 years, a councillor who has shot at his uncles house, had close links with organised crime and dissident republicans.

Mary Lou was training with this scumbag in one of Hutches gyms, it's not as though we learned this week that Hutch is involved in organised crime.

You can't pass this off as some long lost conflict and comparing it to the civil war is just whataboutery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Sinn Fein campaigned for & celebrated the release of Gerry McCabes killers.

However a hetoric seems to exist that its Dan Breen they are justifying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,308 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭kk.man

its your choice to ignore lessons from History and make some strained association with organized crime via the use of a random gym. Compared to the scandals concerning FFG over the years that blighted whole generations in terms of planning, economic mismanagement during the last recession, AGS corruption, illegal nursing home fees and the current cost of living crisis etc., its pretty small beer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭I says

Dont vote for SF because they’ll be worse than FF/FG, sweet Jesus. Is it any wonder FF/FG can lord it over the electorate, they know then can piss on the backs of people and tell them it’s raining and it’ll be believed. Youve two Taoiseachs who were elected on the 5th and 6th count and they know full well if they read this thread their seats are safe forever. I’ve always voted but from now on it’ll be one vote to anybody not associated with FF/FG, SF, Labour, SD or the greens. Proportional representation voting is off my agenda. One vote and no more 2,3 4 or 5 along with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,308 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I see you have a total understanding of the PR system like the average SF and FF supporter.

One of the Taoiseach's you mentioned was Garrett Fitzgerald who carried out one of the greatest piece of vote management in the history of PR.

Back in the eighties he got his party canvasers to got to FG supporters to redirect a large portion of his own 1st preference to the two FG candidate's running in a four seater with him.

After the first count the FF candidate topped the pole by a quota and a half. GF was sitting the lowest of the three FG candidate's but collected 2nd and 3rd preferences as the surplus was distributed and candidate's lower candidate's eliminated. He got above the FF candidate's running mate.

Problem with a large cohort is there ego. FF have failed to manage this and to maximize there vote potential.

On SF there is a number of reasons I would not vote form them. I am of the age where I saw them murder and maim people both North and South of the border. They still are planning to do away with the special criminal court which provided and still provide a bastion against organized crime and terrorism.

As well there economic plans are plain ludicrous. If you watch there antics in the Northern Assembly it's not exactly a great advertisment for what they will do here in the Daily.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭I says

Roll it back there horse. Get up to speed both Taoiseachs I mentioned are Martin and varadkar. Read my post again it’s the PR that’s gets these snake oil salesmen re-elected every time. When they have such well educated voters like yourself they’ll never see a poor day. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over hoping for a different result. Anytime a politician is challenged about any fcuk up they blame anyone buts themselves or the party. No accountability at all and I’ll still get voted back in. Do you want a Fg/FF led government from now until doomsday ? Things will never change unless you vote a bit differently, PR gets these cretins elected I’m merely saying I’m giving a no 1 on the ballot and nothing else.

Exactly a No1 and nothing else fair play you could give a thesis on the PR system I am sure.

You never mentioned specific Taoiseach's. FG would have a history of vote management so there is nothing to see in Varadkar not topping the poll.

As I explained to you of my and our generation dislike of SF there is an excellent article in today's Indo regarding Dowdall's time in SF and there lack of investigation into him. They are the same bunch of amoral f@@kers with links to criminality.

I know this is behind a pay wall but you find a way to read it if you want to

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭straight

Sinn Féin would be like Liz truss. All she wanted was growth, growth, growth and look at what happened to her.

To all those people complaining about how terrible things are in this country should probably try looking around the world at other countries and how they are faring in comparison. The problems we have here are largely caused by a booming economy. Crash the economy and you will fix alot if them. It you will have other bigger problems.

I'm not political or anything but I find it tiresome to hear people always blaming the government for their own failures. Get of your arse and make it happen yourself like the rest of us.

And as for all the moaning about planning interference. Well, I'm sad to say that without interference there would be nothing allowed happen with the stupid non sensical planning system in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭endainoz

By far the biggest failure of this government has been their housing policy, which is not something that happened overnight. They have been in power for over 10 years and it will be their lasting legacy.

Would sinn Fein have a better housing policy? Possibly, but the previous government has driven 1000s of workers away from the country due to their awful policy so there is no quick fix for this and it will in all likelihood get much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭roosterman71

The country's population has grown by half a million or something in the last decade. No party are/were going to cater for that. It's affecting housing, health, education, etc, etc. SF are pandering the absolute useless in society where the "someone else pays" mentality is rife and where they milk the entitlement notions that people have.

There is little to no incentive for working when ya can get so much for doing nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭DBK1

+1 on all of this. I was just going to post something very similar but you summed it up better than I could.

A lot of the people that complain about everything don’t realise how a lot of countries are so mush worse off than us here. Yea it’s not perfect here and there are obviously things that could, and probably should, be better than they are, healthcare in particular, but by and large we have a good and generally well-off country to be living in.

The “get off your arse” statement is a million percent true as well. Far too many in this country happy to do nothing and keep the hand out looking for more all the time. They’re generally the ones that do the most complaining too as they’re the ones with the free time to complain.

Years ago sitting having a lunch break with a few lads. It was just as the bust was midway. There was 2 lads in particular complaining about how the way lads with a few bob made money

I just pointed out that this was an opportunity to make money. Most of us had a few bob and the two moaning had it as well. One lad would not spend Christmas. I said there was a great opportunity to buy cheap property and rent it and see where things went in 5+ years time.

All they could speak about was that ''it was hassle renting houses''. TBF at the time there was serious issues with it. However nothing lasts forever is my motto. I just pointed out to them that

'' nobody will hand you over money for doing nothing or virtually nothing making money is always hassle ''..... expect for some public service but not even all of them. There are some tremendous workers on the PS, where it fails is that those that want to do nothing do not suffer any conquences.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,440 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone watching the gigginstown sale. The lad leading the first bull around had a lucky escape, the bull turned on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭endainoz

Well of course they are, but they're also pandering to anyone under 40 that will be more likely to vote for them. It's always easier to be in opposition and to criticize than to be in power yourself.

Your always going to have people who don't want to work and want handouts, but they can't all be painted with the same brush because they can't afford a place to live. It's because of **** policy and not enough social homes.

What's actually wrong with building fcuking houses? Is it begrudgery that a person gets it for nothing, or next to nothing? Is it a better option bouncing them around in hotels and costing money anyway? A small bit of socialism isn't actually a dirty word and can work, capitalism is supposed to breed competition but all it actually does is create monopolies.

There is vast long term dereliction across every town and city under FFG watch for decades now cos they refuse to implement various reports on the matter in case it upsets their big developer and landlord pals. Add in the 200k empty homes in the state and you see the situation is no accident but very much a product of FFG crony capitalism.

Developers in Dublin alone r sitting on 40k permissions - so more developer led planning that gave us the likes of Fire safety issues, Mica etc. that r set to cost the taxpayer billions to fix is not the answer. The entire housing policy of FFG is to keep property values as high as possible

In fairness its the DUP and their fellow travellers that have done the damage up there in terms of the current NI situation. I think folks down here in the South have no idea of what nationalists communities have had to put up with that lot for the past 60+ years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,755 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Decided today might be the day to spray out the supersoil we bought.

Sprayed an acre with light milk and molasses mix.

was spraying the supersoil and the pump stopped pumping. Stripped and rebuilt it twice, finding nothing wrong but it just wouldn’t pump. Got 3/4 out but play was called off then.

still enough to see if it’s a thing or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

+100. Only by chance came across the troubles podcast this week, it gives a fairly neutral view from what ive heard so far but it was absolutely eye opening to hear how the nationalists/catholics were treated up there how it was allowed to happen is beyond me.

How can Sinn Fein be blamed for the situation in the north at present when they were never the majority until now? The only reason theres no assembly there now is because the ball is out of the DUPs court for once and they are throwing their toys out of the pram because of it.

Better living everyone