Bored and lonely in marriage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 daisyjones01

It’s possible. I’ve asked him and asked him, I’ve tried to help him open up, I’ve told him Im open to anything and that I would love for him to share his fantasies and what works for him. There have been times that he has shared, and I have been so happy that he has and I’ve done whatever he’s wanted, and let him know that I love it when he’s open and honest, but mostly, he actually just laughs-to cover his embarrassment I think tbh…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,749 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I think Steven is right. This porn addiction is the problem . I never was and still am not a big porn watcher but I knew lads who would happily sit at home watching porn instead of going out and getting a ride . You have to find a way to get him off it . Maybe by sharing it with him and telling him you’d like to try a few things. But you have to get him off porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭raclle

I know right and some actually agreed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭marilynrr

What did the psychologist recommend? Did they refer him for treatment or suggest anything? Has he tried to stop at all? Or does he just say I can't help it and that's that?

Yes he was referred on but he stopped after a few sessions and hasn’t gone back. He has mentioned going back again but hasn’t pursued and my own therapist has recommended that I don’t push him as it needs to be his own decision and also that at this stage I need to mind myself in it too. He said he stopped and I believe that maybe he did for a while but went back to it. This has been the pattern for the whole relationship really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭marilynrr

I'd be so turned off him at this point. Are you even genuinely sexually attracted to him anymore? or has it been more of a case of trying to fix it because he's your only option at the moment?

I'd be assuming this was never going to change, when you said you couldn't marry him he made promises that it would stop and you've been through therapy etc. and still no changes. The therapist was right that it has to be his own decision, but unfortunately some people will never get to that point.

I definitely think you should ask the question sooner rather than later about opening the relationship, most likely he will say no. And at that point you will have a hard decision to make.

Honestly it’s the age old thing of staying together for the kids and finances at this point..I know everyone says you could make it work and the kids will be fine-but we have no family near us and I just can’t bring myself to do it to them. I can’t. Despite it all, we are a good little family, he’s a great dad, and I don’t want to break us up. And when things are good between me and him-they’re really good. I just would love to actually feel physically wanted-by anyone at this stage! It’s a **** show. I get that it’s hard to understand that I won’t just leave him. I suppose there is no answer-it’s just a lonely place to be…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

The most telling line in your post is "sex has never been a priority for him". He's always showed you his level of interest in you sexually but you didn't accept that. These things never improve with time, only get worse.

I don't think it's couples therapy you need, it's personal therapy for why you constantly chased something he wasn't willing to offer.

Rejection breeds obsession. You're more into him because he's not that into you sexually, and the husbands you mention are more into their wives for the same reason. This dynamic gets exaggerated over time as the chaser repels the partner with thier neediness. It's not nice to hear but it's human nature.

Mutual and healthy relationship are perfectly possible, but you need to hold out for the signs that you're getting everything you need and not settling and being in denial that things will eventually get better. Hard work and commitment alone unfortunately isn't enough to make someone want you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

It sounds like you need to have a friend with benefits you can't afford a divorce you can't afford to pay a mortgage your husband does,not want to change just be careful re safe sex avoid sti,s

I'm presuming you went to a therapist that deals with relationship sexual problems

This sounds like a problem discussed on newstalk I,m an adult podcast

Honestly it’s interesting to me that a few men have said they don’t really watch much porn-i genuinely thought all men did…it’s kind of refreshing tbh

I have tried sharing it with him-I had to stop that tho because he was so detached from me and literally just staring at the screen while we were having sex-it was really upsetting but I kept it that way for a while because at least we were having sex right? Then it just got too much and I told him I couldn’t do it that way anymore because he really wasn’t having sex with me at all, in his head. I have shared with him what I would like also-he just does not seem to want to have sex with me. I don’t think I’m going to change it-or that he is. But thank you for your reply.

Yep, you’re right. I actually agree with everything you’re saying. It’s not pleasant reading but it’s true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭dontmindme

Hi OP, I can only think you must not have gone to the right therapist, one who will help you both to identify your issues, and I'm not talking about his porn addiction, or you not getting what you want. You haven't said how old your children are, but you must know that they are taking everything in of their Mammy and Daddy, even the parts Mammy and Daddy think nobody sees. Addiction is powerful and very damaging to a family and has long-lasting consequences that are passed on through the generations. I'd recommend you go to an addiction counsellor and/or go to a group like al-anon for partners of alcoholics. You could go and just replace alcohol with porn, the feelings will be similar. See if it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,107 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Leaving aside the quite a few trolling comments by new reg posters, I think people are overthinking this a bit.

The husband here may simply no longer be attracted to his wife. That's neither a crime, nor does it mean that our poster is unattractive or not a fully sexual being. It's just a human condition that happens in thousands of relationships, sometimes within weeks of a relationship forming, sometimes after 40 years.

It can be mutual, but it can be one-sided and certainly in terms of timing it nearly always is and that's just one of the myriad reasons that relationships end.

I have a personal opinion that there are two things you can never get back, trust and attraction. Other people may have experienced that differently and Counsellors may have an opposing view from their wider experience, but for me it's like unringing a bell, they are fundamental and cannot be restored to a persons heart in the way they were to form the relationship in the first place.

But in as much as losing attraction for a person is not a crime, failing to engage with the other person and be honest about it and working out the consequences for the relationship and the wider family is a choice to break trust. Rejecting sex without a conversation, replacing that sex with prolific and closed off masturbation and not considering or caring about the other person's response to that or their own needs, is a selfish breach of trust.

And for me, our poster choosing to get sexual fulfilment somewhere else or ending the relationship or any other point on that spectrum, is an entirely legitimate response to that breach of trust.

You might say that two wrongs don't make a right and why doesn't she simply masturbate to satisfy her own physical desires, but while masturbation may be enough for him, she is perfectly entitled to feel that it is not enough for her and does not give her whatever her sexual satisfaction consists of; another person's touch, physical contact, the communication, the emotional connection, the surrender, the unpredictability, the satisfaction of satisfying someone else - literally anything that solo play doesn't do and I don't think it's too much of a generalisation to say those needs tend to be more common for women than for men.

But again, our poster is no less entitled to pursue her needs than he is, albeit the impact of that may hasten the end of the relationship, which begs the question, can the relationship be kept together for the sake of the kids or whatever, where there is a mutual understanding that the physical side is over and now a matter of each side getting their sexual needs fulfilled however they like? Or, is that impossible and intolerable and is a zombie marriage soul destroying for our poster and would it be just better for everyone to fully end the relationship to allow both sides start again?

But as I said before, the poster is the no fault party here, she didn't change or break trust, she didn't place her feelings and desires above the other person, she's entitled to not be left unhappy by the consequences nor to feel guilty about wanting to fulfil her own needs and to have a full life, whatever that meaning is to her.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I've deleted a couple of PUA style posts which are against the Charter here. Posters are reminded to post constructive mature advice when replying to threads in PI.

HS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Can only speak for myself, might watch the odd bit a few times a year but that'd be it. It's very shallow and repetitive and nowhere near as attractive or satisfying as the real thing. Physical intimacy is where it's at. But sex can also be/ is often just functional, I think many longer married couples have a general regular schedule. You should talk to your husband, explain things again and come up with a time/ day that suits both of you - every Friday evening or every Sunday morning or every second Friday evening etc. (assuming neither ill etc) Not entirely romantic but that way both he knows and you know when you'll be at it. Many men like schedules and regularity and he really should be able to work around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭dartboardio

yep possibly. again, not everyone will agree with me , i am not saying go do the dirt on your husband/wife etc BUT if two people really want to stay together for companionship/' habit/ convenience/ and one or the other is not providing or fulfilling the human needs such as sex, then it's time to have a conversation about either getting that elsewhere, or breaking up..

i have been in that situation where my LTR bf refused sex and i told him well if you're not giving it to me i will be looking elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Is this guy engaged enough to care if you had an affair?

Having an affair could possibly satisfy your needs if you meet a decent lover. However, bringing in another person/s brings its complications too. Another person will inevitably bring their own emotions/desires/wants - and even if you set out rules of sex only this will often lead to someone wanting more. And that could be you.

If you live in a rural area - people take an unhealthy interest in other people's lives - the knock on effect of having an affair might be socially awkward. Who knows. You might be someone who can handle that.

Nevertheless, the definition of insanity is repeating the same thing over and over again and expecting... You deserve to try to make yourself happy. And it seems like you've bent over backwards to try with your husband. It sounds like you have no choice but to pursue other avenues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Sex is one thing, outside of that does he show you any attention or affection? Does he talk with you about how your day went, do ye spend any time together? Sex is not everything, but I think honesty is the best policy here tell him how you feel, tell him how the lack of intimacy is affecting you, and tell him that you need it and you’re thinking of looking elsewhere for it, see what he says to that. At least give him a heads up on it, because I think cheating is a one way door to ruin a marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Affairs are just a bad idea. End of story. Honestly, if the genders were swapped I doubt the women here would encourage the man to have an affair.

As you said yourself "I don't wanna break up our family or end up with 2 homes with no money."

So your choices are A: continue on, or B: have it out with your husband and find a resolution.

There's a root cause to this and you have to find it. Maybe it is a porn addiction, in which case both of you NEED to deal with it, and there NEEDS to be consequences if he doesn't engage. And really, the root cause could be anything. Maybe he doesn't find you attractive anymore, or maybe he doesn't find himself attractive and has confidence issues. Maybe porn is just easy, and sex is too much work because he's unfit. Could be many things, but you need to discover it before you can fix it.

You're likely only in your 40's or 50's, only halfway through life and there's plenty of sex to be had. Hard conversations, and hard decisions, and both of you need to deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 GoatGirl

Yes, in all 'normal' relationships, sex diminishes over time. However these relationships have been filled with years of sexual attraction to each other, respect and understanding. OPs relationship is not like that...its not case of natural deterioration. There probably is very little respect in the relationship too by the sounds of it.

OP has had years of rejection, this will lead to all sorts of problems. The husband is controlling while being completely emotionally disconnected from her.

I would say walk away from the marriage, with your head held high, and the new opportunity to explore your options and needs. Or stay. But you know what you are in for, it's not going to get any better, so get some 'toys' that meet your needs and live on. It's a lonely place be in, but once you stop letting him control your happiness, you can get on with your life.

Don't however bring someone else into the relationship. That is only going to make a bad situation worse, and inevitably you will end up where you don't want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭JoChervil

OP, watching porn is an addiction as any other addiction. It is an escape route from inner problems. You need to treat him like you would treat any other addict. But most importantly you need to treat yourself first as a co-dependant person enabling his addition.

Find a good addiction therapist for yourself first to break this vicious circle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,972 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

OP, if he had brought this much dissatisfaction into your life through some other addiction, such as alcohol or gambling, would you still be in a relationship with him?

Socially, it seems much more acceptable to end a relationship with somebody who has those kinds of addictions than a porn addiction. You'd get criticised for leaving him because 'it's only sex', even more so as a woman probably.

But it's not only sex. Its the feeling of being wanted, being considered attractive. There's absolutely nothing wrong with wanting that, and nothing wrong with wanting sexual satisfaction.

Your husband knows you're unhappy, but does nothing about it. You've talked about it for years but nothing has changed. He has made his posiion fairly clear, and I think you know that the chance to 'fix' him is long gone. Fundamentally, he doesn't really want to have sex with you and that will never change.

So you either accept that and stay with him, or you split up and look for somebody else.

There is the messy option of finding some kind of discreet FWB (with or without your husband's knowledge or agreement) but I doubt that's something that would really make you all that happy or be a long term solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I say bring up the lack of sex in a conversation and ask him would an open relationship be an option, it might be the kick up the arse he needs or he'll agree to it.

Thank you everybody for your replies-I am not sure if anyone reads when I post again but I wanted to update you all that following all of these messages, we had a really big chat on Saturday where he denied without question that he has an addiction. I was totally floored as the psychologist we saw a few years ago had literally diagnosed him with this, and also, he recognised it at the time and agreed. Or at least said he did.

So, long story short, we broke up.

I don’t know how we will manage to see this through financially-and I want to cause as little pain to our beautiful kids as is possible, but one thing is for sure, I can’t do it anymore.

I appreciate everyone’s honesty so much, and the awful hard and painful truth that so many of you said which was, he simply doesn’t want to have sex with you. And that’s basically it. I won’t change it and I can’t take the hurt anymore of it.

However, if I can make one point on many of the above posts, it is this.

So many of you were very quick to tell me I needed to try harder, tell him what I wanted, be spontaneous, or adventurous. Try watch porn with him, and even one poster saying something about not being a prude.

All of these things fully undermine what I have gone through, and lay the blame somewhat on me. I have done every single thing I could, and to lay any blame, or suggest he doesn’t want me because of something I have or haven’t done, or because I’ve changed or put on weight, well it’s not right is it? So I do think people could maybe think about that if they’ve been the ones to post anything like that. If he was addicted to alcohol-would you say it was because I was doing something wrong? And herein lies the exact problem with porn addiction, and is exactly why I can’t talk to anyone about it. Because of fear of judgement, people thinking it’s because of me, that in some way, I mustn’t be good enough. It’s so hurtful, and it encourages isolation and loneliness.

However to all those who replied showing support and honesty and understanding, thank you so much. There’s a rough road ahead I know, but it’s the right decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

Great post and and very brave decision. Someone one day will appreciate you more than he ever did. Just make sure you hold out for reciprocative efforts in all aspects of the relationship. Best of luck and strength through the next period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Male - Once I read that you had both been to therapy already I was satisfied that you had already tried really hard. That's very difficult. And you've suffered enough. You should pursue your happiness. And never doubt that that is a great message for your kids long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 joggerjogger

I wrote a step by step and detailed post here with the sex's reversed on how I (we) engaged an uninterested partner (wife) but it's been removed probably because it didn't shy away and cut too close to the bone for someone

Women are used to being chased and having the man do all the work. This is not the case here hence the struggle. The roles are reversed.

You must now do the work, all of it.

Replicate what he likes, be as attractive as you can be, flatter and spoil him, over and over. He will eventually feel desired and begin to desire once again and you will wonder why you didn't try those things sooner

Do not have an affair that's a first class way to destroy your marriage

-‐---------

Warning applied for breach of charter - gender generalisations and taking issues with mod instruction on thread

Post edited by Hannibal_Smith on

Actually probably the worst reply of them all tbh. Please read my last post on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭homingbird

Maybe he is using porn as escapism from the financial burden ye are both carrying in a big mortgage paying for the kids education & its not about you at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Sorry to hear that you broke up, take time for yourself now, I hope it works out for you.