Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Renewables Thread

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 7,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

In March I'm still waiting on my feb-match bill

Currently sitting on 200 credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭bullit_dodger

Looks like I got the €200 there recently (albeit it will be May before I actually get my next bill) but looks like the money was applied as I was in about €150 in credit previously.

image.png

I'll take it, but it hardly seems fair that I'll not (likely) have an electricity bill in 12 months as now we're in "off-grid mode" for the summer, esp with others out there struggling. Still, it is what it is - it's not as if the solar panels were free that I put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,005 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

It's not so much that they made a profit, I'm fine with that. It's that they made a profit due to reduced renewables generation and high gas prices

Eirgrid is responsible for managing the energy market and 2022 represented a market failure IMO. While it's nice that they're returning the money to the taxpayer, it still feels like fossil fuel consumption is being rewarded in this case

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,647 ✭✭✭✭unkel

@bullit_dodger - "it's not as if the solar panels were free that I put in."

Indeed. Paid with your hard earned money (after you paid your taxes) that you got from your job that you worked and studied hard for to get.

Got my first bill today since installing solar panels, €70 down from around €570 last billing cycle 👍

Was a bit confused when I noticed it had the €200 credit on it. So would have been €270 which was closer to what I expected. FIT and PSO refund was included as well so happy days

Usage is down by 50% day units and 18% night units on same time last year, so definitely having a good effect 😁

Annoyingly, the bill is actually up on last year despite all that because of price increases 😫

Battery installation is next week, so should be even better next billing cycle

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Getting 2 CFE 5kWh batteries

Price is €3,700 ex VAT

Would have preferred the DIY route but the missus vetoed it. Said something about not wanting to live with a fire hazard 🙄

What's the best app for a Sunsynk inverter. Basically a Solis Cloud equivalent for Sunsynk. Thanks

Poking at my monitoring, I have an oversized array with 4.2kwp on each string, NE/SW with a low slope. (walkable) 6kw inverter

These are all DC Power readings from the inverter

The SW peaked at 3.8kw this afternoon. NE at 2.3kw, Inverter was close to its AC limit at 5.85kw.

Earlier in the day, Both strings equalised (clipping at the inverter level)

Point is, For those on EW strings, The solis can go to at least 3.8kw on a string, But My limit is the output of the inverter as its not a hybrid, Which is 6Kw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭jkforde

just wondering what level of protection do panels have against impact... my young fella just fired a tennis ball up on to the panels using one of those sling yokes!... do ye think it'd do any harm? he'll be in dog house if I see a noticeable drop in production!

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

Think I saw somewhere they're rated to something like 4,500 Pa of pressure, which is equivalent to a hurricane

I know that doesn't exactly translate to impact strength, but it's basically a big pane of glass. Unless your son is hitting the ball hard enough to break a window I think you're safe

cheers, i can see the impact spot on the glass but it's not cracked, just concerned the cells underneath have been damaged, probably not but regardless, the aforementioned sling yoke will quietly disappear! 😂

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

Is it one of the yolks that dog walkers use for playing fetch? They can deliver quite a bit of speed, wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of one 😳

I'd say you'll be grand, tennis balls have a bit of flex in them so hopefully that absorbed the impact

Good thing it wasn't a sliotar, you'd probably have a hole in the panel 🫣

bloody hell, yeah, thank bejesus we're not a GAA family so not a sliotar or hurl in sight!

You've just got me thinking, I wonder has anyone living near a golf club gotten a ball through a panel 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭DC999

Marketing material for our ones show them driving a van onto them and parking on it. I reckon it's able for those sort of rare impacts you got

The local golf club has put a load on their machinery shed, but thats well out of bounds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭idc

Really hate when I see some company actively installing 8 or more panels when house owner could of probably gone somewhere less expensive! 😉

LOL - joke never gets old.

My streak of driving purely off sunshine ended yesterday, house battery was using all the available solar so didn't get any excess to divert to the car.

Needed to do a long drive today so I charged for 3 hours off the night rate

Reckon it was nearly 6 weeks since I last charged from the grid, I might start tracking it properly to see how many free kilometres I'm getting

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

The Zappi will tell you how much was off grid, it’s not on the App but available on the display of the unit, in a setting

Thanks, just found it a short while ago in the charge log

For the month of April I put 118kWh in from solar and 17kWh from the grid. I've been averaging 19kWh/100km so that's over 600km of driving on sunshine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭redmagic68

Anyone know of someone in the north east that services mhrv units specifically a Ubbink unit?

Looking to get it checked out and the heat exchanger cleaned.

The company that installed the unit no longer do any domestic work.

8.4 kwp east/west Louth,6kw sofar, 9.6kwh batt

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

There’s around 8.5% losses between what leaves the Zappi and reaches the Tesla battery

That's amazing dude. For all the might of my setup, I haven't been close to that. In my defense, big household with 5 teens / adults and enormous amounts of hot water use and ridiculous levels of washing and drying clothes. On top of heating the house with electricity as much as I reasonably can.

Doing my stats, I have imported 28 (€2.24) night and 7 (€1.89) day units in April. The Day looking at the graphs seem to happen in the sun/cloud/sun/cloud days as my diverts sometimes need a few seconds to stop.

Night Is mostly running the car charger too hard/too long and completely draining the battery. Bit of micro management there though, need 20% charge for the daily commute, but if start at a high SOC at the weekend I can ride out a few days putting only say 10% in.

Agreed. There is just something impressive about driving around Ireland on sunshine. Sunshine lads!

Stuck up another 12 panels today. Every goal reached in terms of panels / inverters / batteries. Mission accomplished!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭silver_sky