If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

It seems to me that the only reason Dee Forbes was hired last time is that they thought it was about time RTE had a woman DG.

God, that household charge to replace the licence fee has been talked about since Pat Rabbite was the communications Minister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

That would just be your misogyny talking.

She was beyond qualified and was also the first external appointee since the early 60s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Whatever about your opinion on her tenure, she was a senior executive in a major multinational media outfit. She had serious experience coming into the role.

And has done absolutely nothing for RTE in the past 7 years, not necessarily her fault but the role of DG could easily be retired if it's so powerless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,844 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Dee was considered a maverick apparently by RTE lifers,no idea why.

What's this new guy like? A "safe pair of hands" no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

That's fine it you think that, but she wasn't appointed because she was a female and you don't really have a basis for saying so.

She was a senior executive in a major international media operation (one of the few Irish citizens with that kind of experience), that's why she was brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It'd be interesting to know who else applied for the position this time round considering that Dee was up against the same two candidates.

I thought that Dee was there as a Seagull initially charged to change staffing arrangements in RTÉ but she really ended up with no teeth and continued much of the work that Noel Curran had done. It's a pity.

The new guy isn't going to change anything. He will be worse that Dee, and I get to say that without having to worry about his gender.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Also if you can state the following, you can state you believe something to be tokenistic but really IMO both are possibly wrong.

image.png

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,851 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I thought that Dee was there as a Seagull

Flies in, makes a lot of noise, craps on everything and then leaves? She was the opposite, made no noise, changed feck all and got an extension to her tenure.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

No more like flies in sits atop the smoldering heap, picks away at the discarded scraps and flies away happy.

______

Yesterday

The appointment of Dee Forbes

“Not only is this the first director-general in almost 50 years to be appointed externally, but she will also be the first female to hold the role,” she said. “RTÉ is at a pivotal moment, one where the future shape and financing of public service broadcasting is being re-imagined. I am delighted to have someone with such a breadth of industry experience, such a creative and visionary understanding of the global broadcasting market, and a proven management record.”

The Appointment of Kevin Bakhurst

“I’m delighted to welcome today’s announcement of the appointment of Kevin Bakhurst as the new director general of RTÉ. The appointment follows a competitive recruitment process, with Kevin as the unanimous choice of the RTÉ board,” Ms Ní Raghallaigh said on Tuesday.

“Kevin brings an exceptional breadth of industry experience, great leadership skills and a passionate commitment to the development of public service broadcasting in all its forms. Kevin’s appointment comes at time of opportunity and change for RTÉ,” she said.

“With my fellow board members, I look forward to working with Kevin in our shared commitment to a thriving and financially sustainable RTÉ.

And there we have it!

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

They used a thesaurus to mangle the same media release

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It’s 8pm on a Thursday evening.

RTÉ 1 showing How to be Good with Money - originally aired in February 2022

RTÉ 2 showing DIY SOS - originally aired on April 17th….

seriously? What the actual fcuk……. Have they nothing better to put on?

RTÉ will tell you this is normal for linear TV and that both the BBC and Channel4 have a high number of repeats... However

BBC and C4 both provide stats on the number of repeat in peak viewing hours for BBC 1, 2 and Channel 4. They publish them in their Annual reports.

It shows that BBC 1 airs about 3% of repeats in peak hours (6pm to 11pm), BBC 2 airs 25% while C4 airs 9%.

While I took a look at RTÉ a few years ago and found that RTÉ ONE had 25% repeats and RTÉ2 had 50% repeats.

What is worse is that RTÉ2 will repeat both the RTÉ ONE version of DIY SOS and their version in peak hours.

On top of this if you are an RTÉ ONE viewer if you take away all of the regurlarly schedule programming in peak hours such as SIX ONE, NATIONWIDE, NINE NEWS, PRIME TIME, FAIR CITY, EASTENDERS, TLLS your left with 50% + repeats on the channel, so of the 2 or so hours of PEAK hours that are not regular programmes they are regular regurgitations!

Meanwhile they spend 25m on imported programme which they could schedule to avoid so many repeats.

______

Yesterday

Repeats are one thing,but they're shameless or just don't care. The same programmes will be get repeated endlessly. Pat Short's music show,killinaskully,maybe another chance to see the Late Late Show's best comedy bits.

Their programming is obviously done by lucky dip too. Two cookery programmes back to back or two or three wildlife shows on the trot. Also what are all of those one hour serials at late night that nobody has ever heard of that seem to come and disappear at a whim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Watching the Tonight Show on VM1, where they discussed Claire Byrne ruling herself out of the LLS gig. They noted that she probably got some insider information regarding changes (possibly wages, thought that wasn't mentioned) that will be made to the LLS gig, and thus that's why she opted out.

Wonder if it's anything to do with her and Ryan sharing an agent? Did Noel Kelly realise that RTE are so in the crapper, that negotiating her wages would be a non-option?

So the LLS bumped another guest to a later date...

Philly MacMahon, Rory's Stories, and the governor of mountjoy prison got bumped to a 'later date' so Ryan could interview Catriona Perry...

She's not leaving until late May- was it really THAT important that she be interviewed immediately? And Philly, Rory, and G'uvnor are making a TV show for RTE. Using the flagship RTE show to NOT promote a TV show.. how goddamn dumb is that?

Even gave her five minutes to promote her 'new' channel...

Untitled Image

Ryan looking for a nudge nudge wink wink with the BBC powers that be

There were elements of that, alright... with his 'you're probably more interested in American politics than I am'...

But at 50, the likes of the Beeb wouldn't want Ryan. I mean, he tried breaking in over there before, and if the UK can't understand him, the USA will be confused as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,851 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Ireland can't understand him ffs

Looks like everyone who could possibly be linked with TLLS is backing away rapidly so RTE may end up with no choice but to cancel it 🤣

RTÉ and the King's Coronation

I tend not to get bogged down in politics in this thread. But I can't hold my tongue. Firstly, I have no problem with RTÉ airing the King's coronation, I didn't watch, but I had hoped that RTÉ would simply air BBC's coverage of the event along with some Irish commentators, every now and then Mary Kennedy could pipe up "... John its interesting when you think about but his great great great grandmother was known as the Famine Queen ..." with John Bowman replying "... yes it is important to note Ireland's relationship with the royal family...", though even with such a slight I be annoyed two retirees were commenting from RTÉ Studios in Dublin.

But ... and here is the but ... 3 reporters sent to London to cover this ... an hour long six one news ... I didn't watch the nine ... but David McCullough interviewing the First Minister, An Taoiseach and the President in LONDON, why not have John Kilrane do those interviews ... or if you have little faith in John ... have David interview An Taoiseach and the President before the leave for LONDON and the NI corrospondent could interview the First Minister.

There was no need for this type coverage on RTÉ... and before you all reply ...

1. What's RTÉ's coverage of the local elections in NI looking like?
    2. What's RTÉ's news programmes like during the Eurovision next week?
    3. Why do they take a long break at Summer Time?
    4. And do they really have the money to send people off to LONDON?
    5. Did they show the Prince Andrew interview with News Night?

TLLS and TUBS

Really there are maybe 5 possibly RTÉ replacements, 3 replacements that are well known in England and none from either VMTV or TG4 that I can think of ... if TUBS is the best RTÉ have failed to develop other so called "talent", it should show you the **** show that is RTÉ.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Just on the mention of U.K./London correspondent John Kilraine….. ever since he went to London I’ve felt it’s been a massive step down from Sean Whelan…

just always seems to only half know what he’s trying to say, and constantly checking notes/phone to remind himself of what he’s trying to put across….

sorry, and I’m sure he’s a nice guy, but it’s just bugged me since he got the gig…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,347 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

so the Rte/GAAgo controversy takes a surprising turn, turns out that RTE are 50% shareholders in it and are in cahoots with the GAA to gouge more money through that by airing less games through tv. VM dropped them right in it.

Watched Ciara Doherty discussing it on the Tonight Show, and quoted how how one politician has referred to this as a 'back-door license fee increase', which I'm hesitant to disagree with.

It's a very disturbing business deal, but shows you the greed of both organisations.

Hell why give the lowlifes something for free when we can charge for it - what's more concerning is that this was never disclosed and now some feeble excuse there was no other interested parties i.e. we never asked anyone else

Is this why they've come up with a format with a lot more matches?

The always pull the 'RTE is the state national broadcaster' as if that entitles them to first come, first served... but as you noted, they never approached anyone else.

When the GAA signed a deal with SKY, RTE were probably having the biggest conniption over not having exclusive rights. What they were REALLY annoyed about was that the GAA had basically taken the major money from Sky Sports to air the matches, and had sold it to the highest bidder. RTE's sports division has been in the crapper for years, so this 'service' from the people who can't get the RTE player to work, feels like an ever more egregious backdoor charge.