If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭farmertipp

be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

An easy calving Angus would be a better option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Bangoverthebar

Im milking crossbred cows, i use sexed semen and breed all replacements i need. Very few dairy bull calves. I use a saler, aubrac and Belgium Blue bulls on the cows.

I sell all calves from the yard. €200 for the beef calves this year all over 4 weeks to a repeat buyer. 2 buyers take them all.

Any dairy bull calves go free at 4 weeks old.

I did 6000l of milk last year and around 530kg of solids. It works for me, but might not suit everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Later things go calves tend to be bigger as well, cows dry longer and heifers more grown. Went oad milking this spring, prob stayed at it too long in terms of effecting yield but one main advantage has been cows coming back in heat quickly. Would be worth doing for cows with hard calvings / thin etc. straight away from first milking, esp this time of year

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Feeding a good bit of hay tothe remaining cows to calve to keep them trim.only silage they get now is left over after milkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

Ya. Any cow that has any trouble goes once a day here. Till things improve. How was your scc up to now?

I still consider myself young but I often taught about AOD being a good option. Don't know much about it. But imagine being free every evening. A low cost, grass based system.

Not mentioning any names but I was surprised that a top IFA spokesman sold his herd of AOD cows lately so maybe it's not all positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭orm0nd

If we're thinking of the same man, the cows were sold for ill health reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Cell count was actually good, 124 for March, there is a hit in volume but I kept em out as much as possible and solids were up compared to other years. Lad that works with me was out till recently and tbh I was under pressure myself as well so oad was a solution for that, will see how the year goes if I'll be cursing the milk drop or not

Doing it for the year I'd prob want a better herd on terms of solids %, and prob be at a later stage of development here with less debt maybe. But facilities need to be right which is where the system struggle here a small bit with age of buildings and this year the fcuking scrapers broke my heart

They were but surely 120 cows would pay to get someone a few hours in the morning.

It's not right to talk about individuals. And I hope he improves. He was a great speaker on our local radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,317 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had 5 heifers calve over the weekend, Friday night backwards bull calf that I jacked out. Calf a bit wobbly still. 2 calved themselves. Jacked a dead calf out this morning and just jacked a massive Angus bull calf out there. How do these lads who say they don't have a jack calve big calfs, even backwards ones. Up til now the heifers calved themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭degetme

All these lads going using more beef sires on cows specifically bb and limousin do they not get hard calvings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭straight

I don't use the jack, just give the cow loads of time. Don't even like to pull them usually.

Ya, I don't want to be talking about that good man's private business either. But I see plenty lads getting sick of dairy farming and citing health as a reason for exit. Which is probably true anyway because it's a young man's game now anyway. Will be hanging up my clusters by 60 at the latest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I use simental ,Charolais and blues in past but only in first 3/4 weeks of breeding …..never an issue but could be different story in march April calvers ….Hereford bull usually mops up

Snap …I live cows and dairy farming but once I hit 60 I’m done and most likely go contract rearing route ……only another 17 years to go 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Fella over the road with near 10 years on you starting into a cubicle shed and 100 cubicles, not sure if he has a successor or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Are we not all a bit foolish waiting till 60 before we enjoy life and get more freedom. I had an uncle one time, who was looking forward to his pension. He only drew it two months the poor lad. The big c took him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,317 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That's the thing. These lads who never take a holiday or break. Life's too short. You never know the day or the hour....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,763 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It's everything. It's a constant battle. Even see in the last few posts discussion of calf size. That follows on to conception rate. Then there's Tb. Pressure to make enough silage. The weather. Nitrates. Viruses and bugs in calves, heifers, cows. Concrete and steel cost. Increased manure capacity required. Pressure from other sectors in farming. Pressure on land leasing. Pressure on calf market. Esb cost. The constant workload. The pricing mechanism of milk, scc, tbc, thermo pressure. The increasing nonsense from coops to look woke and it not benefiting the farmer or paying the farmer to do so.

I'm the same age as some here and younger than others. And even I've been asked by family would I not consider setting the farm and getting another job. This is coming from the land leasing market atm and what's listed above.

The part I really miss from the job is just closing the door in the evening an not having a care in the world until I'm back again. Often taking weeks off at a time.

Sorry to hear that and Yeadh agree ….see so many lads now constantly chasing there arse ….I’ve no ambition to milk 100s of cows …quite happy at my level now …have relief Milker’s and can get help in spring …big ball of money invested since I took over to keep things as close to 1 man show as possible …..spring is busy and days off in February march practically non existent but I’m done in yard by 6 most days …from April on relief Milker in weekends and days off farm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I see all that, and have experienced some of it on a small scale (too many calves/cattle and not enough shed space over the past month!), but I'm still drawn to milking cows.

We could spend days debating the cows vs 9-5 job on here but it's hard to compare them. There's pros and cons to both.

I used to be in an office Mon-Fri, 9-5, and it was soul-destroying. The work itself was fine but it's the people in that environment that kills you. Yes, you have Saturday and Sunday off but come Sunday night I wouldn't be far off crying at the thought of another 5 days tied to the desk, listening to god knows what bizarre ideas from any one of my 3 bosses who were really only trying to justify their €90k/year.

Unless you're self-employed or working in a small business, lots of modern jobs involve large corporations (public service is the same) and layers and layers of management. The internal politics in those places is a very toxic environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Nail on the head there Siamsa. I have been the exact same soldier, stuck working with "initiatives". What a dose of tripe to be dealing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

What a belter of a post. Similar to siamsa and grueller experiences if I experience another initiative being implemented by someone climbing the greasy pole I will lose it. I have no aspirations to climb it as you can tell

We are blessed that we have an outlet from the day job. For many they are stuck in this and find it hard to switch off from it, similar to us and our farms. The large the organisation and the more middle management layers the worse it becomes. This suits the companies as they have a bit of a rat race driving things on among staff. We are don't fit the mould and they can find it hard to make us out, much to our advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Would a reliable relief milking job say 6 guaranteed evening/morning milkngs a week not be a better option in your instance then actually having to start up a dairy herd, you'll easily gross 400 euro a week for circa 15 hours, and can tie the whole lot in around your own farm

I can see Mahoney now. Picking up the pension in the morning and coming back to feed the 40 heifer weanlings he's contract rearing. Just watch out lad cos they're fair hardy bitches to fire you back on you're arse or into the trough.

No need to be stuck in a sh1t job now really. There is plenty choice out there although I guess the money might be small if you switch careers.

I miss the colleagues myself. Although you might have plenty disagreements the camaraderie was great.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Yeah, I wouldn't rule that out. There was a half option 2 years ago to milk for a local man who had set up a second unit. If it worked I'd have been doing 10 milkings/week from March to October. But he went into some Glanbia scheme where he closed the second unit and milked the two herds at home.

Still wouldn't rule out FRS. But I'm talking to another local man this week about getting a bit of milking experience with him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

None of my business but why did ye give up miling in the first place.its much harder to run a dairy farm now than it was years ago.you often have come to my mind over the past couple of months as we have battled through the spring and i think you are mad to consider going back to it given how much you have to invest and the return for the hours worked

It's a fair comment and I'm wondering the same myself: am I mad to be even thinking about it?

[apologies for the long post - writing it out helps get it straight in my head. A bit like on the YouTube videos!]

First, I sold the cows in 2002 having taking over when my father died suddenly in 2001. I was 24 and have little recollection of milking cows from that time. Maybe if I did, I wouldn't be thinking about them now!!! I assume milking then is no relation to milking now.

Second, I'm trying to change careers. I've been in the job I'm doing since 2008 and it's paying the bills. But I don't want to spend the next 20 years trying to balance family, calves/cattle, and an off-farm job.

Third, I like the idea of getting a dairy enterprise up and running. (The reality might be very different from the "idea" of it!). I want to be my own boss. This would also give our young lads the option of helping out around the yard/parlour and earning a few quid. There's little for them to do with calves/cattle at the moment. And there won't be either for the while they're here with us before heading off into the world.

Fourth, I've only 75-ish acres to work with. It's all owned so that helps. But it's still not a huge amount of ground to work with. 60-ish cows (lower or middle band) is the only real option for full-time farming.

I'm not committed to it yet. It needs to be financially possible first. I need to see if what 60-ish cows generates is enough to draw a wage and make the repayments on a loan. I'm currently trying to figure out how much it'll cost to get slurry storage in place, a parlour up to Bord Bia standard, and cows on the ground (slurry storage is needed whatever I go at). If it all adds up financially, then I'll sit down with herself and we'll try to step thru the ups and downs of milking cows. Thou as someone said recently, milking them is the easy part. It's the rest of the work with them that's hard.

Apologies again for the long post. Thanks to anyone who read it. If anyone has any thoughts, I'm all ears. And I'm not easily insulted, so don't be shy 😀