This week's EV bargain that I'm not buying

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Yes I would. Depending on cost to change. Newer car. Better tech and 33% more battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

It was a bargain but I do not know how I would have driven back to Mayo if I bought it with it's limited battery.

I warned many a taxi men not to jump ship into the leaf. Some listened. Some didn’t. The ones that listened jumped in the eNiro thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,537 ✭✭✭✭unkel

It can do Dublin - Cork - Dublin in about 2 weeks. Walking is quicker 😂

But seriously, someone got a bargain there. I hope they are a cute hoor and a member here and I'd love to hear back from them, see how they managed (or not) to escape the wrath of Renault Banque.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Not sure why you singled out the 24 kWh Lizard. The chemistry in the 40 kWh battery seems much improved over the post Lizard 30 kWh ones. They seem to have equally low internal resistance to L24 so don't heat a lot when driving compared to the 30. And unlike with the small 24 kWh battery the range is rather usable.

But frequent rapid charging does cook any Nissan LEAF regardless of the battery capacity due to lack of active cooling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Fantana2

6.96kwp South facing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,665 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

It's not "seems". The drivetrain is practically unchanged since then. They added more cells for bigger capacity and eventually replaced with more powerful motors but most other parts remain the same. Its like the episode of the simpsons where marge keeps restyling the one outfit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,665 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

In a different market, you'll agree. But yes it is - and to be fair he has said that on multiple occasions. Used EV prices have gone up a lot in the intervening years. As has inflation. I have no issue with him advertising the car for more than he paid, what's the issue there? I'm actually considering buying that car if it's still there in 6-8 weeks.

Does that matter?

I bought a car in July 2021 for €48k and traded it in March 2022 for 57,600.

Not everybody buys to loose. Markets go up and down.

Oh dear. Maybe you should go live with your comrade Vladimir?

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Fantana2

I’ve no issues with capitalism but at the very least the car is in the wrong thread. Add the negativity on another actual bargain Fluence when selling your own for 5k more. In that same thread the boardsie with the battery issue emailed Renault and bought the lease for €1 but all we heard in this thread was the matter of fact over 1k lease per year. Anyways the beauty of capitalism is people can ask for whatever they want, might just take longer to shift as we’ve seen with the two Fluences.

6.96kwp South facing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,587 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Jaysus that's some hilarious markup all the same. Not a hope.

You must have missed I was the first to thank that post?

Until recently, you couldn't buy out the lease at all. Then you could in the UK but only for Zoes and it cost mad money. I wasn't aware it could be as cheap as under a grand to buy one out in Ireland on the Fluence. If that is the genuine cost now and it wasn't some sort of fluke, I will of course have to consider dropping my asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,942 ✭✭✭✭ted1

8k for a car that has less than 100kmh range while is Ridiculous and far from a bargain

Not under rated at all. The range is an absolute pisstake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,450 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Christ! Some mark up!

Hopefully a boardsie doesn't get stung

i hope no one gets stung. Pretty much the shitiest thing I’ve seen some one do here

80km max range for 8,000 and then trying to distract people by making up rubbish numbers about not having to pay large battery rental prices

Post edited by ted1 on

Maybe go a bit easier on the juice next Saturday night 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Tis only Friday 😁😁

(well ok, Saturday morning).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Maybe I’m the one who needs to go easy on the juice 🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭joe1303l

Time for a fire sale on that Fluence ?

no juice this weekend. , nice try for a diversion

I really hope you go easy on the poor unfortunate people who buy your car with less than 100km range a 400% mark up.

you are a miserable person who deserves no luck in life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

FFS lads, will ye get a grip of yourselves!!

I highly doubt a single one of you wouldn't be advertising your own cars at market value, no matter the price you paid for it. Stop being a bunch of a55hats. I don't consider the fluence to be a bargain at the ASKING price, but that doesn't mean it won't be a bargain for someone at the SALE price. This is one of those times where you just stay quiet and let others make up their own minds. Move on out of here and stop ruining the thread for everyone.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Casati

I can’t see why it’s isn’t fair to comment if somebody posts a bargain alert that is anything but a bargain? 2k is market value for that car, 8k is nowhere near market price so why not call it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,281 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I couldn't care less what Unkel does to be honest but I can see other posters point of view. This is Bargain Alerts and the most expensive EV Fluence on Done Deal and Adverts probably doesn't deserve to be posted here.

I'd also imagine Unkel selling his Model Y reservations for a profit has soured a few people's opinion of him.

And then had the cheek to start taking down the sane car at a 1/4 of the price and waffling ok about high battery rental

There is a big difference between commenting and ridiculing. If people don't think it's a bargain, they could ignore it. People will make up their own minds. No need to be filling the thread with ridicule and hostility. It's bad enough when we have pages upon pages without a listing. The last 2 pages are a joke.

It's also not advertised at 8k. It's up for €7299. 2k is also not market value, that's a ridiculous assertion and the car would be gone within a couple of hours, being battery owned. Prices rise and fall and while I personally believe that anything over 5k (same price as the other fluence on DD) is high, I'm not one to make a fuss, even if I think the listing doesn't belong here.

The other car is €2299 less, but has few details and nothing in the description. It's also most certianly battery rented and has more miles....plus it's boring white. I would argue they are evenly priced.....still not a bargain IMO, but far from the rip off some are suggesting here.

There are on 2 on DD. Let people make up their own minds. Report the ad if it doesn't belong here. If people begrudge the man for taking the opportunity to make a profit, that's their problem. If people pay the man for something he is selling, that's their choice. I say let them be.

Stay Free

Guess who started the ridiculing, before posting their absolute non bargain

Utter bargain on the face of it. 

But don't forget the €1068 per year battery lease you have to pay Renault. And if the seller sells you this car without making you take over the lease, he is in breach of the contract he signed. So the deal with you is void too. You might lose any money you have paid the seller for it and the car might be repossessed. And Renault can remotely disable the car too. 

Also the battery lease never ends, until you scrap the car. And even at that stage you will have to pay Renault for the privilege of removing and recycling the battery 

Maybe you can get away with it. Maybe you can ask / beg Renault to sell you the battery. Maybe not.

The battery rental info Unkel posted is accurate and should be made known to boardsies. The seller should be posting it tbh. I wouldn't have bought the 2k car because it is a battery rental and I couldn't be bothered with the hassle, even though it would have been a handy car for us to own. Renault Banque won't always allow the lease to be bought out. It's hit and miss and so is a gamble. They have also been shown up to be nothing short of scammers, making it next to impossible to claim when the battery needs replacing, or a repair. Battery rental turned off most interested buyers, so it should be noted as it is almost a forgotten thing.

Stay Free