Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Kerry Babies Case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,557 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Is it not more likely that the persons were arrested for the purpose of taking DNA from them after some information about them had come to light?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭apache

Any updates on this? The results will be well back by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The criminal justice system is not a spectator sport so I doubt the Gardai will be updating us on the results.

The results will just become part of the investigation, as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭apache

Relax, I was just asking. Haven't seen the news in a few days. Wondering was there any developments....

It is a discussion forum.

Post edited by apache on

Maybe have a think about the difference between a discussion form and a news site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

I would say the Gardai got their DNA to confirm they were the parents before they arrested them. This is a murder investigation so would have gone to great lenghts. There was a report that DNA was obtained from rubbish left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,462 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

I’m very sorry. The pervasive narrative now is that Joanne Hayes and her family were pariahs not only in the country but in her own parish. This is very convenient and important to people who want to insist that the Ireland we live in now is oh so much better than the Ireland we left behind.

If course it isn’t “better” in a lot of ways it’s much much worse. The RCC were among the most critical of the Tribunal and how it treated Joanne, writing to the judge within days of her being in the witness box but you’ll not be allowed to say that because it just doesn’t suit.

You’re at nothing here trying to correct the know it alls most of whom don’t remember and probably weren’t born in the 70s/80s but who swallow every bit of propaganda they’re fed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What about all the babies who ended up in a septic tank?

Was that a result of their own negligence or was it the neglect of those running the homes? Why were the babies discarded like human waste?

You have got to be on a wind up. You are being so disrespectful to those who suffered greatly in these places.

I suppose you believe women like this one:

were making it all up? That the forced adoption of her son didn't happen?

But of course, you want believe the likes of paper reports (easily falsified or "lost") and of inspectors and staff (lying to cover their own asses) over real life accounts.

You have no shame. Putting you on ignore as your posts are literally turning my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,635 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Being sensitive and brushing the truth under the carpet has not served Irish society well.

Young women did not make themselves pregnant

If they were impregnated, then it was up to their families whether they went to M&B homes or not. We have enough stories from people who didn't, to know that alternatives were possible. IF the family wanted an alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

My own great grandmother had her baby aged 21 and took him (my grandfather) home with her to her widowed father to live in the main st of a puritanical mixed Protestant and Catholic village in Northern Ireland in 1901.

They’d been abandoned by the father of the baby who lived, and continued to live, further up the street. He happily ignored his own child for the rest of his life and no one was any the worse off.

There must have been ferocious gossip behind closed doors but she was tough and it all worked out in the end.

There is no doubt that the mothers and baby’s in the homes were put there by their own families and told not to come back.

The other element that we’re apparently not allowed to mention is that this happened all over the world in all societies with people of different religions and none.

To this day in certain rural African villages unattached pregnant girls are ceremoniously sent off into the jungle to die of exposure. But we have to pretend that Irish parents aren’t and weren’t cruel and heartless, it was a bigger boy made them do it situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You dont know what happened though so you shouldnt be jumping to conclusions

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,909 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Was your comment wrong?

YES.

Mother and baby homes did plenty of good? Sure. 700 corpses in a former cesspit, is that good? Or Bessborough where they don't even know where the bodies are?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

🙄 Pure cowardly to think that 'confessing' to a priest, when you know it will go no further, is doing the right thing.

Yes but they wouldn't have been "necessary" at all if catholic "morals" had not held such sway in this country (And yes I do know there were similar protestant institutions here too but they could only exist because they fit in with the prevailing viewpoint of "morality")

As for exploiting the vulnerable and weakest, this is what religons do across the globe and throughout history.

Fk sake 🙄

Of course the inspectors didn't see it. Same as when the children in industrial schools were given new clothes to wear just before the (tipped-off in advance) inspection was to take place and then put back in rags afterwards.

I really do question whether you are serious or taking the píss and I'm not sure which is worse.

I never said forced adoption was the norm but it did happen, you denied this but now it seems you do accept it did happen?

There's a reason records are unavailable. I've been saying for years that ALL records of religious orders should have been seized by the Gardai and investigated for criminal wrongdoing but we are stuck with these useless enquiries that can only investigate what the religious orders are willing to disclose.

Bunch of bastards the lot of them. They should have been bankrupted but instead the taxpayer bailed them out.

I've never seen anyone justify illegal child trafficking on Boards before. Wow. This is a new low. You are also admitting that the death rate in these institutions was grossly excessive - which it was, even compared to the Dublin slums of the time.

And you say that these hellholes did good. Fk me.

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

Because they were brainwashed from birth into the catholic church's twisted sexual "morality".

Wow, do you want to regress to an Ireland where women and children were treated like shìt for the "crime" of having sex (or being raped) and for being born "illegitimate"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

... but DNA obtained from a bin could have been from anyone. Once it was linked to baby John it would have given grounds for arrest.

Once under arrest, DNA could be obtained in controlled circumstances and an unbroken chain of custody / evidence used to prove their connection to baby John beyond reasonable doubt.

The only one attacking here is you. They were inmates not residents. You are aware that those who escaped were returned by the guards? Your ignorance is astounding.

As regards the holocaust can you really not see the parallels? In both cases those considered weaker and inferior were incarcerated. Some women died there as they were too institutionalised to live independently.

Nobody died? 800 hundred babies in Tuam. Possibly other places. You are either a troll or else you revel in other people's misery. I pity you.

Are you a member of any survivor support group? Because I am and I can tell you that what some people endured is beyond traumatic. You keep believing your own narrative. Perhaps join the legion of Mary, no doubt ye can all get off belitting the suffering of others in your little echo chamber.

If Catholic morals really held any sway in the country, then not one woman would have ever got pregnant while unmarried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,598 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I know empathy & compassion are not your forte, but you're pushing the envelop here.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Plenty did through lack of sex education, they were told something was bad without knowing what it was. Even the word was dirty and neither sex would have been educated about their own biology. Women wouldn't have even understood their menstrual cycle and the stage that pregnancy can occur at. Nuns and priests telling kids to sleep with their hands crossed - they never explained why of course, but it was to stop masturbation ffs.

Then there were cases of rape and incest, but the girls and women were to blame for that for tempting their abusers.

None of this was unique to Ireland so denying it happened is staggering.

Wow.

So shaming them all over again. Not much has changed.

Even considering the topic it started with, this thread has taken a very disturbing, and very revealing, turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

Yes we were woeful naive… it was all taboo. No sex education, no internet, and parents just hoping for the best because they didn’t want to be talking to us about sex either. It’s a wonder we got the hang of it at all 😆.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Lots of fumbling in the dark, in more ways than one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

I'm not going to quote it but I genuinely think I've just read one of the most disturbing posts here that I've ever seen on Boards. Unbelievable, some people haven't a clue what went on in some womens lives, not all of the pregnancies were as a result of women being willing participants, far from it, it doesn't even bear thinking about for anyone with any normal thought process, some went from horrendous abuse to an even worse situation in the 'homes', from the frying pan into the fire in earnest. It was torture for so many and still they're being blamed for it by some people, so hard to believe it.

Women don't make women pregnant.

The only ones being shamed here are the pricks who couldn't keep it in their pants.

Post edited by Mrs OBumble on