Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Kerry Babies Case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭Deeec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

People seem to have really high moral expectations of others.

If this was a traumatic event for an 11 year old it's not going to be easy to forget for them or for them to suddenly have a moral epiphany and start telling everything to the Gardai.

I mean just look a the vitriol here towards two people none of us know.

Can you only imagine the level of abuse the real mother and her family are in for if they are found?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Exactly, and if she nursed her own child for 3 days you would expect her to have some empathy with with Joann Hayes who was also grieving the loss of her newborn baby.

There is that boards moral compass pointing other people that they don't know anything about in the right direction again.

I know this was an horrific experience for the mother - it has to have been. In the last 39 years though she should have come forward - she wasnt that vulnerable kid for the last 39 years. If she didnt murder the baby than she too was a victim. However she didnt come forward and had no intention of coming forward it seems - if true its dna that revealed her secret not herself.

She had a moral obligation towards Joanne Hayes. Its probable all this mother done was have a baby out of wedlock - no crime in that - however she stood back for 39 years and allowed another womans life to be ruined.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The Sunday Times are reporting that Gardai are looking into the possibility of a third party being involved...

Moral Expectations.

Moral Epiphany.

Moral Compass.

Any room for empathy for Joann Hayes in your morals Fr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,282 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The sad dealings with Joanne Hayes are fully owned by the 'heavy squad', no one else. The parents of Baby John have their own cross to carry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,838 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Yeah, that whole can of worms needs to be kicked wide open regardless of who gets hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Well not really.

It's being reported that baby John was from a garda family.

Perhaps they influenced the heavy squad to look in a certain direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Well no, if they had come forward at the time it would have been fairly obvious she had recently given birth.

The "heavy squad" would never have gone near Joanne.

This whole sorry mess would have been cleared up relatively quickly 40 years ago and consigned to local history never really spoken about.

However they didn't come forward.

For 40 years people have speculated.

Their own children will now be looking at them in a different light.

Their silence will probably create a much bigger ripple now than it would have 40 years ago if they were honest at the start.

I did actually think when I read it was a younger sibling of Baby John that provided the DNA that rather than it being an unfortunate (or fortunate) act of fate, was more a case of having had enough of living the lie, and doing the right thing.

It is possible that the sample was given because they knew it was they're parents who were baby Johns parents. This secret would have had to ate away at the parent/parents and perhaps did impact on family life.

I did think it unusual that a 20 or 30 something year old would volunteer a sample to solve a case that happened before they were born.

I'd say the dinner table will be great craic if the parents didn't know it was their own kid that outed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭phormium

I don't think the person who gave the DNA that matched did so for any reason other than there was a trawl looking for people to give DNA, I think a younger person especially would be more inclined to go for that as they would probably understand how the whole building a profile and a family tree works. Watch a few Long Lost Family programmes or there is other ones more DNA related even and it's obvious how they can work backwards/forwards/sideways through generations matching DNA to find an answer. But then again that's just my theory, I wouldn't read into it that the sibling knew or had any clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

It's hard to know their reasoning.

It could easily be as simple as their mates were giving samples and they thought feck it what harm.

Families can be very good at keeping skeletons in the closet when they want to.

I'd say it was more a case of the Gardaí going for a familial match rather than relying on getting an actual match, as there was a good chance the parents may have either left the area or avoided giving a sample.

It's being reported that baby John was from a garda family.

But that's not being reported.

It's just speculation around places like here.

There is zero 100% accurate reporting on who the couple are, because they have not been officially identified.

It's all just speculation and conjecture at this point.

On your earlier statement about the house being a crime scene and the couple living with relatives which I questioned.

The only mention of the house being a crime scene was one line in one paper credited to the solicitor and no mention at all about the living with relatives.

It's been reported in the papers that the probable mum's father was a garda.

The newspapers reported the family were staying with relatives / friends.

Where do you think people go when their house is sealed off as a crime scene?

You might want to do a bit of research before you come on here with your "idle speculation" tantrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 246 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

It might be that only one of the couple is the parent. We won’t know til the results are back. Maybe the man was the father, but the woman is not the mother. Or vice versa. So it’s possible this woman and her family were in no way involved. There may be another woman somewhere who had a baby for this man who had been arrested. Nothing is confirmed. There could be more twists to the story yet. Let’s wait and see what comes out in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭irishproduce

At the root of all this now, despite failings by previous generations of Gardai, is the pursuit of justice for what was done to an innocent baby, a baby who had been cared for, for 3 days before someone decided he had to go. We can't have any society that tolerates murder like this, then or now.

I really doubt the mother of baby John was only 11 years old.

Baby John was born in April, which means an 11 year old would have been in primary school for most of her pregnancy. Its also very unlikely an 11 year old would be able to deliver safely without intervention or c-section. There was a 12 year old in the Coombe when I had my daughter. You'd notice. Whatever about a teenager hiding a pregnancy, it would have been virtually impossible to hide a pregnancy on an 11 year old, unless she was literally kept out of school and hidden.

I definitely think the mother was an adult or older teenager. Approx six months pregnant around the time Ann Lovett died, and probably terrified.

It doesn't excuse not coming forward later though, and allowing Joanne Hayes to be blamed.

Also whats not excusable is the manner in which the baby was slaughtered.

Monsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,409 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

There you go casting your own ideal of what someone was doing in the 80's I gave my own story of growing up in the 80's I gave no thought to anything in the news in one ear out the other. Should I be castigated for that. I had no idea of the case until the mid late 90's when I got interested in stuff like that. You must have been a very learned person in your youth. Again she was said to maybe have been as young as 11 and I bet her parents would have made sure she would not have had any notions of going forward.

Could she have saved Joanne Hayes the hell she went through at the time I doubt it as those in the case were 100% sure they has there murderer and would not hear of anything else and I say those around here may have put the fear of god in her if she talked.

Now in the years that followed should she have come forward absolutely and does she have a case to answer for that most defiantly and if it is a criminal case how about we let justice take its course rather then a baying mob.

So you would call someone who was 11 (which she may have been) a mature person.

In relation to your 2nd point I 100% agree with you and in that you and I can agree she has to answer for that

Oh they will have to have there ducks in a row before they proceed with whatever case happens going forward. I wonder what she could be charged with though if she was not the one who killed Baby John, which is highly unlikely in my opinion

But we don't know that it could have been taken straight of her and told anything. She may not have known anything about the case and anyone who says she must have are just talking conjecture at this time. Now in the years since she should have 100% come forward would not have helped Joanne Hayes in anyway in how she was treated by those Gardai. Yes would have but the case to bed it was not Joanne

While I know it is not a bastion of good facts it is reported her father may have been dead at that point in the Sunday World