Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamestop to close Irish operations

• 21-03-2023 12:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Heard it on the rumour mill and I think the news will break later today.

Gamestop is closing it's Irish operations and all stores in the near future.

I know they were in difficulty over the past few years with more people buying online. They had a round of layoffs in 2021, but the writing was on the wall.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well they arent much of a game store anymore, more a POP Vinyl shop nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Was in my local one a month ago. Stock levels were way down.

no HMV, soon no Argos, GameStop,

Curry’s, Harvey Norman and Smyths will really be the only main in store options… less competition means higher prices, especially for consoles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

the problem is so many people buy games online, or just download games from xbox, playstation store the no of people buying physical games is falling ,gamestop make money on people trading in games or buying preowned games .i think in 5 years time gamestop will not exist or maybe they,ll be online only .

in a few years time game stores selling games might be few like stores that only sell music on cds and vinyl. i think theres something special about browsing in a shop and being able to buy an old game for 20 euros ,hopefully cex will keep going as they sell phones, dvds and games .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

No surprise. Physical game retailers would always go the way of XtraVision. It's a dead model now between Amazon and digital downloads. God it's weird. As a student in the early 2000's Gamestop was a weekly visit in the local shopping centre. It would seem archaic to go there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,523 ✭✭✭Riddle101

That saddens me. I always love going into games stores and browsing the newest games. Like going into an HMV back in the day and browsing for new albums. It's just another thing we've lost thanks to the rise of online shopping and downloading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

The Pop, vinyl, and popular culture merchandise are now being sold in Golden Discs shops all around the country.

The closure of Gamestop here is very bad news for anyone who wants to buy a new video games console in future. A lack of competition in the market is the main reason for it. The only brick and mortar store to buy them along with brand new games discs or cartridges is in Smyths Toystore or online from Amazon.

It will make the new consoles more expensive to import here too now that Brexit is here with us as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Wtf? I thought they were supposed to be invincible after the whole memestonk thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,374 ✭✭✭✭listermint

They did do very good console trade ins tbh. Traded my last 2 in with them solid offers. This is disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,544 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Yup, got a brand new, newer model Switch from them for 30 quid trade with my old Switch. Also got a dead cheap brand new Xbox One X there. These options will be less now.

GameStop is very expensive though for games and the whole market is changing to downloads, subscription, retro collecting. Smyths for now. I think Smyths isn't going anywhere since the super big toy shop you can try stuff in is a kid/kidult magnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its sad but I have not been in years. Just don't play games anymore. Just don't have the time. I bought all my computer game consoles in Gamestop, Smiths and EB stores before that. Anyone remember them?

I bought my last games computer a Nintendo Wii in Games stop Henry Street. I was one of the first to get one. God I miss that computer. Sold it to someone when I was not using it anymore. Regret doing that.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

A Switch is handy for pick up and play + TV mode when you want. Has a lot of Wii remasters + newer versions of their franchises+ all the old Nintendo stuff. Not cheap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Never really being into the Switch. More like a hand held than a proper gaming computer. I still have my DS computers and my PSP for handheld entertainment. My nephew has or had one.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Could see the writing on the walls for years. Their recent change from the Level rewards system to this newer, paid-for system was the nail in the coffin for me. I still frequent them, and can have a chat with most the staff in my local ones, but with digital purchases they've lost their main income stream imo. The markup on pre-owned was what was keeping them going I reckon, and because of digital purchases this is gone way down. Not to mention both of the big names released disc-less versions this generation which were quite popular.

I dunno what I'm gonna do now, as I used to buy new games physical, play them and either finish or get sick of them, and trade them in against an upcoming release, which would drop the price down to about €30. Can't do that now. Will only get crappy cash deals in CEX and Smyths don't take trade ins anymore. Maybe there'll be a good online swap/trade place. But it's a guarantee that physical game releases will be gone or so niche they'll be prohibitively expensive.

Hopefully we can come up with some way of digital trading or selling of keys/licences. Doubt it though, that would be pro-consumer. Just another sign of the times I suppose. Saying that, because no one was stocking them at the time, I bought the official Xbox headset direct from Microsoft, so maybe future consoles releases will only be got direct from MS/Sony with the odd stores doing random stocks and no pre-ordering (except on MS/Sony site, of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

CeX are struggling too they take trade ins of **** hairdryers now 😂😂

Can't see GameStop going all at once it will probably be a store by store slow decline with some already gone in the last few years but still doing good turnover in many areas the VR2 seems to still be selling well too bit the funko pops are an eyesore in many senses way too many of them are gathering dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

What will I do with my shares??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Ari Icy Barricade

Sad for anyone losing their job, i prefer physical copy of the games but a lot were 15/20 euro more expensive than Smyths and the one in Cork City, the employees are very annoying, coming up to you as you go in the door and hassling more than helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I barely have any reason to go into town anymore. I remember the days when you could spent an entire day just browsing through the record store, newsagents and gamestop.

🙈🙉🙊

Well that's one thing I definitely won't have a need for in CEX.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I'll be glad to see them go, shower of rip off merchants. Other than a mother buying a game for their young son I don't understand how anyone else shops there.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I remember going back 20 years they had one shop in Cork city upstairs in Merchants Quay if I remember correctly. I use to go in there a lot, nice guys, you could have a chat about games and then all of sudden they were popping up left right and center and then a load of them closed in recent years, sad for the employees but in saying I've heard they have **** work practices and treat their staff poorly, not to mention their rip off prices.

Post edited by Sephiroth_dude on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,138 ✭✭✭✭cena

The second games in the store are a ripoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I shopped there because with the (previous) loyalty system, I was getting games for far less than other places, €35 for new releases with a trade in, down to near €20 if there was bonus trade in credit. I got an Xbox Series X for €50 by trading in a PS4 Pro and a game. Yeah, they weren't great for picking up the odd game, but if you actually used them you build up loyalty quite quick and used to get great deals.

That all changed last year though, and the new system is terrible, doesn't reward loyalty, gives everyone the same discount, expects people to pay for it (just pay for it, not pay to get a higher level anymore, same level for everyone), random spur of the moment discounts to encourage splurging, and discounts from partners who have literally nothing to do with gaming (dafuq I want 15% off stamps?!).

Seems like it went from a company that was run with gamers in mind (albeit fleecing them somewhat, but every business does that to some degree) to a company ran by idiots who think they know what gamers want. Tbh, I'm using them a lot less lately anyway, between Gamepass and PS+, I don't buy anything but new releases on the PS5 I want to play. Xbox exclusive games release day 1 on Gamepass so I haven't bought a single thing for the Xbox in Gamestop since I got it. Just gonna lose out on the trade in credit (vs cash) when buying new games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Gamestop has made a smallish profit for the 1st time in 2 years in their latest earnings call results which were published earlier today.

However they are planning to make more cost cuts later this particularly with closing more of their brick and mortar stores in Europe.

While this is a small bit of good news. It doesn't entice me to go and buy more things including physical games at Gamestop in the near future.

I would love to get back to console gaming however I have largely switched over to playing games on Steam for the foreseeable future.

We are through the looking glass people they're not taking trades in GameStop.

And now the end is near and so I face my final trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭randd1

They made a mistake years ago in not putting in arcade consoles and selling snacks in the shops. They could have turned themselves into the place to hang out for teenagers.

A grand shop in it's day, but falling off a cliff in recent years. It feels more like the comic book store off The Big Bang Theory theses days.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Looks like the writing is on the wall now: https://www.gamestop.ie/notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,663 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I'll be going into Gamestop on Friday to pick up my copy of Resident Evil 4. It will probably the last time I visit the shop.

The staff and manager there were really nice and helpful, so I will miss visiting that shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 DarraghMUFC

It's a shame for staff that will lose their jobs as, in my experience, they were the highlight of Gamestop. Their prices however were not and it was the same in the PS4 generation too. I'm a physical over digital guy so it is sad to see one option go, but Smyths (or adverts for 2nd hand) have been my go to options the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

How can you say there less competition when it’s on line competition that is beating them. Also they were never cheaper for games or consoles as they didn’t set the prices.

I just use a digital games library now and can’t remember the last time I was in a Gamestop.