Lineker off MoTD - mod note in OP

• 10-03-2023 06:00PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭

Gary Lineker is to step back from presenting Match of the Day until an agreement is reached on his social media use, the BBC has said.

It follows an impartiality row over comments he made criticising the government's new asylum policy.

The BBC said it considered Lineker's "recent social media activity to be a breach of our guidelines".

Mod Note: This is soccer and not current affairs or politics. Posters welcome to discuss the unfolding inpact on the MOTD tv show, news and facts. Bickering amongst posters; posts that discuss politics or policy of decision makers in Westminster or posts leading with adjectives such as 'snowflakes' are not suitable for soccer. Posters can keep their Tory thoughts or immigrant related talk for other parts of boards.

Post edited by DM_7 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Ian Wright has said he isn't going to do MOTD tomorrow over this.

I'm gonna lose a lot of respect for whomever does step in to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,157 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Yeah, I think people will be reluctant after Wright stepped out too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,407 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The best news ever.

Hopefully thats the end of Lineker with his woeful puns and fake virtue signalling.

Ian Wright is no loss either, he is a dreadful pundit.

This is the straw that broke the camels back, Lineker has been outspoken for months on Twitter and rubbing too many people up the wrong way.

Mark Chapman is a much better presenter than Lineker, he should get the job.

Knowing the BBC though they will probably give it to Jermaine Jenas 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,506 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Shearer gone now too. At this rate they'll need Suella Bravermann to pull double duty between Home Secretary and MOTD host 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,407 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Great stuff.

If they just showed 10 minutes highlights of each game and no analysis it would be a damn sight better than the current product.

I usually watch the program on timeshift and fast forward through the analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,279 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Stopped watching motd once sky started uploading match highlights on youtube. Can't imagine it was the ratings puller it used to be for the beeb. The cynic in me can't help but wonder if they are pulling a stroke here in order to lighten the wage bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If I was paying a lad €1.5m a year to be the face of an entertainment show, I'd feel quite within my rights to ask him to shut the **** up about divisive political issues.

If Lineker wants to be a social justice warrior then let him run off and do it on his own dime. The problem with these types is that they want it both ways, they want the money, the handy job, and yet still be able to say whatever they want.

MOTD will end up in the place as Top of the pops anyway, this will probably just hasten that demise, good luck Lineker getting anybody else to give him that sort of salary for his non entity presenting.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Lineker isn't a BBC employee and doesn't work for their news dept, therefore isn't subject to any social media gag. He should be able to say what he wants.

The BBC were happy enough for him to repeatedly bring up Qatar human rights record on their shows a few months ago.

I never said he was an employee, I said he wanted to take the money and still say what he wanted. Totally separate point to any contractual issues.

So he can say what he wants, and the BBC can ditch him if they want.

This will get dressed up as the big bad BBC when in fact all they want is what every business wants, that the people working for them do their jobs without creating controversy.

I can see it now, Lineker, Wrighty and Shearer signing a deal with Amazon for a PL highlights show. We'll call it... The Grand Match 😅

Jacqui Outley would be a good shout actually, Kate Abdo is good too.

Frankly anyone would be better that Lineker.

Micah Richards has confirmed he won't appear either, if anyone cares😅

They're definitely going to climb down on this decision though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,136 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

That's a bit of a weird position to expect from someone though... so you reckon as soon as someone has a high paying contract they're not allowed to have a (fairly tame) opinion on anything? Like, I'd understand more if he was actively badmouthing the BBC themselves, or said something in an overtly abusive manner, but he's giving an opinion on something very much in the public domain, which is in no way related to his job.

Where's the line then? And what's the income limit? Should anyone in any customer/public facing role be prohibited from providing a fairly simple opinion in a manner that is clear and straightforward and neither aggressive nor abusive, purely because some people might disagree with it?

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

That's a bit of a weird position to expect from someone though... so you reckon as soon as someone has a high paying contract they're not allowed to have a (fairly tame) opinion on anything?

No, I reckon the people PAYING the high value contract should be allowed to have a say on what is associated with it. Which is not the same thing.

If they don't want their presenters getting involved in political discourse, that sounds perfectly reasonable to me. Frankly it is perfectly normal in a lot of industries, the expectation is that you don't do a damn thing that affects the company image.

Nobody is stopping these lads having an opinion, they are welcome to their opinions. They have the right to free speech. And the BBC have the right to decide they don't want their presenters getting involved in Twitter squabbles.

This is the straw that broke the camels back, Lineker has been outspoken for months on Twitter and rubbing too many people up the wrong way. He seemed to be goading alot of people.

I'd imagine BBC have previously warned him about his behaviour and to rein it in a bit but it seems he has gone and done the exact opposite.

His punishment seems harsh but we arent privy to the terms of his contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,674 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

He will go off to ITV, BeIn or perhaps be the face of TNT when it launches and probably at least double what the BBC were paying. Its win win for him.

Lineker is not representing the BBC and is expressing his view in a personal capacity. You want to control people's views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭newhouse87

You would hope he would be telling fellow pundits to do the show and that its his own battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,798 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'm sure Matt Le Tissier would happily step in for BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,136 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I can totally understand someone in a public capacity being limited from expressing inflammatory abusive language by their contractor - but given the pretty tame nature of what he actually said, it seems a bit of a mad decision. They've turned it into a significantly bigger deal than it ever needed to be.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Do I have to repeat myself? I don't want to control anyones views.

Its funny how when this situation happens to far right arseholes everybody very smugly trots out the line, "You have freedom of speech, but you don't have freedom from consequences". Then they laugh and cheer when somebody they disagree with gets sacked or their business closes down.

This is absolutely no different.

I will repeat myself. Lineker can say whatever the hell he wants anywhere he wants. But don't cry to me when the people paying the bills decide he isn't worth the hassle any more.

The BBC have fecked up with this but considering who pulls the strings at the BBC, it is no great surprise

I think MotD will be pulled tomorrow

This is gas, I wonder will they give Keys and Gray a shout to hop back into the British limelight 🤣

20230310_211146.jpg

Looks like they're going to run it without any analysis