If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tesla Model Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Dasein

Well - all those car companies do marketing! - so that's a help 😂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Don't forget Tesla are market upsetters, there is nothing to say they could drop the price of the 3 and Y again given their margins, if they want to aggressively go after volume they could wipe the EV competition out in terms of selling price

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

In general it will be interesting to hear what the profit margins are post price reduction on FY23Q1 next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Killer K

You are correct and the Ioniq 5 owner above would need to recalculate/reassess the cost to change in the event of that happening. While it will impact used price of all EVs it would be difficult to know to what extent. However, if Tesla does disrupt the market further, it will also significantly impact the value of used Ys.

The other thing Tesla could do as a market disruptor as an unintended consequence of significant price drops is leave those who purchased EVs (including Teslas) through finance in negative equity. Not an issue if you don't change cars often but a headache if you like to change cars frequently or get into diffculty with payments. Even cost to change to another Tesla with price reduction becomes problematic.

Another unknown factor (because it is pretty unprecedented- in living memory at least) is how much the market would respond to a number of consecutive price drops and significant increase in volume. In other words, at what point do Tesla stop dropping the price (even if they can afford to go further due to their profit margins and lower costs of production). Am sure Tesla has factored all of this in. Interesting times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

Aside from the recent over-inflation of used cars, are car finance deals not always in negative equity?

Not necessarily. If you go with a 100 per cent finance deal or one with a relatively small deposit then yes. However, if you put in a decent sized deposit then usually not.

If you factor in standard depreciation over a year is 20% (then you have to factor in interest rate unless you have a 0% finance rate) then that will give you the cost over the first year. You then are making your monthly repayments over that period so the equity decrease is also somewhat offset by that and the deposit you have put in.

The other way of looking at it is that whether you put in a big deposit or small one or are buying with cash, a significant price decrease a month or year later on the car you bought new won't be a welcome thing or healthy on your finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Cb12345

Went for a test drive today of Model Y. Very very busy. I got the impression lots of sales being made/deposits paid. Apparently another delivery due in April/May. They think all going well delivery should beat the grant cut-off, BUT not guaranteed. They also seem to think if you order now/soon you should get one if it's standard-ish.

Very quick acceleration (first electric car I've driven) and screen was great showing other cars around, turning on different cameras depending on indicator, recognising speed limits and probably loads more.

Didnt want to get a new car till Autumn. Decisions/decisions.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭rx8

What colour are you ordering... ??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 schibaxo

Hello everyone,

Just ordered my model Y and hoping to be an owner soon. The guy at the dealership told me that this April-May delivery might slip into June but of course, there's no exact date at the moment. I have ordered RWD with only extra apart from paint -> induction wheels. I think it is not a sophisticated configuration but do you think that might affect the delivery dates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,114 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I have VINs and delivery date of 24/03/2023 for both my blue and black RWD Model Y

I'm not going to take either. If you want a certain delivery and want me to go ahead and buy one of these, so you can buy from me, let me know via PM

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Apparently, according to Facebook, you're a ticket tout now!

It looks like you can register the car in anyone's name. Which would help. But if it's more than a little hassle for me, I'll just cancel and get my deposits back. Getting fairly sick of Tesla constantly ringing / emailing / texting me to finalise the deal etc.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭sprocket123

That's a pity. I have ordered black RWD model Y with April/May. Suppose its probably fair to let it go the next person on list as long as Tesla do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Nedved85

Just cancel the order and let someone else get them. I've a RWD on order - no VIN, who knows - it could end up going my way.

You see that's not quite what happens. I remember from Model 3 deliveries in the last few years, cancellations going to people who ordered months later than others. The whole process seems a bit of a mess. And of course during the shortage of cars in the last few years, plenty of people took delivery and then drove straight to grey market dealers who offered them up to €3k over list price. Handy money 😂 but a big risk of course.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Sounds like they just put all the outstanding orders in a hat and just pick one at random.

No idea what they do if I'm honest. Comes over as chaotic to me.

Yep. Information given tends to be speculative or contradictory and the allocation seems to be chaotic as you say.

Thankfully, production doesn't appear to be run in the same chaotic way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭v10

I hope you're not looking for anything more than your deposit back, otherwise no better than any scalper.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Nice. And that’s not the fast one 😃

You can add acceleration boost to that for €1800 after collection.

Also, that’s the old suspension so the newer ones should be considerably more comfortable.

Yeah, was directed to you.

My blue one is coming on the 21st. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭joe1303l

More likely they’ll end up in inventory once you cancel.

So if someone buys something and a while later it is worth less, that's grand, you'll have to sell for less. But if it is worth more, you can only sell it for what you paid for it? Seriously?

Last time I looked we live in a free market where a price is determined by supply and demand. Anyone selling anything for less than the market value is either a fool or a philanthropist. Or a communist. Which one are you? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭mun1

I think you should go ahead and take the two MY’s and sell them on at a profit . Feck the begrudgers

what could possibly go wrong ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭CBD2

Nail on the head. Do what suits you and if you make a few quid well done you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭staples7

Yep would want to be getting something for your generosity :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭rob808

How can he afford two model y unless he on some high pay package with the boards as a moderator.