Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

I also hate the AIB mortgages ad.

They took a perfectly good song and ruined it.

Seems to be a trend in recent years of using good songs which were sung well by male signers and getting a weak voiced female signer to cover them and using the cover version in an ad.

Power of Love and Someplace Only We Know were both decent songs sung well by the original male singer but some idiots decided getting a really weak voiced female to sing them and suck away all the impact of the song .Some idiots in advertising firm obviously think these anemic versions of the songs are more impactful when it's exactly the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Spin 1038

That On the beach ad is very annoying the Christmas song (which it is murdered) should not be on it they just want to force people into using their services it is atrocious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭RoTelly

You've reminded me of 3 ads

1. Allianz - Sharon and her husband, they shouting at each other like they are alexa.
    2. Extra Chewing Gum - Girls in the car, they need to shower.
    3. Ireland's Edge - going from so hip and diverse, too so white ... but I am not bitter 😂

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,854 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The Fairy ads with what's her name... Z list nobody... genuinely had to Google it as I forgot her name, Vogue Williams. Ireland's very own version of Kerry Katona. I've no time for reality g0b$h1t€$, they're not stars. I wouldn't buy any Fairy products now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I had to look up her Wikipedia entry to see if her name was actually Vogue, and it's silent on the matter. Surely to God it can't be her real name?

"Vogue, come in for your tea!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I cannot believe Mams Purse is back, I fecking despise that patronizing crap.

You made me curious and I wasted ten minutes on this. It appears Vogue is actually her name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

And she calls out "Graddy!" at the start of the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Barry's Tea.

Bland Blondie finding herself over a cuppa, realising that hanging around the pub with a gang of attractive long haired Latin Argentinian soccer fans may have compromised her dignity..... no doubt.

Gag Reflex springs to mind.

Unlikely her Mother would have ever said that. As her name is GiGi! <<< sorry that's her daughter's name.

______

Yesterday

Dunne Stores - "Bill" I assume that their Christmas ads with the elves were supposed to relate to this.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭RINO87

Another +1 for the hatred of that bloody AIB ad. I do t watch that much live TV but when I do it's always on, it always makes me turn off whatever it was I happened to be watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,165 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The Husqvarna Automower ad where the homeowner has given the 4 mowers cheesie names, Mulchie, Cutty, Blade etc etc. I looked them up and they are over €2k a piece, yes I do think it would make financial sense having €8k worth of easily thievable mowers on your lawns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭raclle

That dry wipes ad for women. I'm sorry but I don't want to be looking at a woman sat on a toilet taking a piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

I don't know what is advertised, but the obese girl and the orange girl, where the obese one thinks her friend looks wrong???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Photobox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The Guinness 6 Nations ad with the 2 Welsh fellas who's mother leaves instructions in her will that what she leaves them is to spent on the 6 nations.As if first of all anyone would leave instructions like that and as if anyone would follow them , what kind of dumb-asses would spend all there inheritance on going to rugby matches.The fake sentimental bullshit in these type of ads really encourages me to actively hate both guinness and the 6 nations.

Post edited by Jack Daw on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Untitled Image

One can of course explore other options.... 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Tim76

That ad playing woke bingo, think it's PTSB.

Lesbian couple - check, gay couple - check, mixed race couple - check. I'm assuming yer wan doing somersaults on the bollards is vegan and being powered by excess gas. What else could they include? Now that I think of it, I didn't notice any one from the trans community. PTSB are obviously anti-trans and should therefore be cancelled! Nice try guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The ad with the D4 type young lad talking about sports "fawsillydees"

AIB ad background music This Will Be Our Year. The orginal isn't all that fast or good to begin with, but they've managed to slow it up and be "emotional" though it !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTndHe9O2OI

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Excuse my stupidity but are they supposed to be a couple, flatmates or a mother and daughter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭trashcan

I see Dad and “chicken” are back. Ugghh.

The ad with the guy at the petrol station where buys the bar of chocolate for the girl behind the counter - what the hell does she say to him over the microphone as he’s leaving ? As many times as I’ve seen it I can never work that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Is that the one where the mother rings him to say "he's dumped her". Thought that was a strange thing to say about a young teen. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭madmaggie

@trashcan Love you Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Food love stories so I think lesbians. On every ad break now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭Xander10

I thought it was just me and was going to book a hearing test. I then had the brainwave to put on the subtitles. "Love you Dad"

Ive never been able to decipher what she says.

Also considering the guy looks about twice her age, is it not a bit creepy?

The always ad with the ice skatting rotund girl. Im not fat shaming but I find it difficult to believe that someone who regularly ice skated could be that large. A former boss of mine used ice skating to lose weight and he lost shedloads.

Well its as clear as mud. I suppose you can ignore my creepy comment up above.