Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simmering anger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I think most of our problems lay with a government that doesn’t give a damn.

Population growing, why aren’t the government building new schools. Or better still, stop single sex schools and use all state schools for everyone.

Population growing, government close beds in hospitals and some A&E departments. Why aren’t they building more hospitals and to ensure we have staff in them - make all health/medical graduates work for 2 years in the system - and teachers and stop their 5 year career gap - all employees be treated the same, doesn’t matter if public servants or private.

No housing? Who’s not building? The government. Why aren’t they building houses. When we had no money in the 80’s we could build houses - housing should be back with county councils and anyone between the ages of 18 and 24 who is on social welfare should be made to work for the county councils, learn a trade and build houses.

We need aa change of government - neither FG or FF give a shite about you or me - if we made our TDs actually work for us and vote them out at the next election if they didn’t, then maybe they might actually do something for their big salaries, private health insurance and government cars with drivers.

I bought a house in 1998 in rural irish town on one salary for 45K punts.I lost it thru a bad marriage and will never get another mortgage and no chance of ever having a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

It is criminal how much money FFG have wasted over the last 2 decades. We should have much improved infrastructure, transport systems, hospitals etc. The MNCs windfall will not last forever.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

Cut down on your internet and social media use and you will be mostly oblivious to all this apparant hate and lead a happier life.

It's very hard to get a handle on whats happening, apperently Center parks was full during the mid term despite the massive utility bills that's families with children, it's not the well of older cohort, on the other hand some are really struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

On the way to A&E now as my GP can't see me and has recommended going and asking to speak with psychological services am not hopeful of being seen at all and really don't think being in a crowded setting will help with how I am feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Best of luck with it, genuinely. From all I've heard about the mental health services in Ireland, you'll be lucky to get anything of value. One friend of mine was literally begging to be seen by a professional, told to take some Xanax and await a call. No call. I can't imagine trying to get help if you're having a breakdown, it must be nearly as tough as the mental health issue itself and certainly not what's needed if you find yourself in that situation.

I wish you very well, hope you get seen to satisfactorily. There’s a psychiatrist guy in England I follow on Twitter who I consider inspirational, bern there himself and adores his work as an emergency mental health professional https://twitter.com/ahmedhankir/status/1587728680440274945?s=46&t=9EBcZ4PmFxZdIGxsuv1xgw

A lot of older people, like myself (born 1961) are doing ok financially in spite of small income. That small income is steady, I own my apartment plus a larger place that I let to good people. I’m single, don’t have children, grandchildren etc, my bit of money is my own, I skimp on socialising costs (restaurants etc) and save it for as much travel as I can afford, then I enjoy myself. This year I did my research in travel, and found that going selectively long distance with likes of Etihad is cheaper all considered than a week in Europe. Eg, I booked a week B&B in a five star hotel in Penang, all flights from Dublin to Kuala Lumpur via Abu Dhabi, internal connection to Penang, full 20kg luggage, private transfer total €1300. I tried booking various destinations in Europe adding all up, nearest equivalent was a four star for €1400. Ryanair and Aer Lingus are charging a relative fortune short haul atm, go Asia like Thailand and Malaysia for better bang for your buck

Family member made a suicide attempt towards the end of lahst year. Took until now to get an appointment with Adult Services.

At the appointment, they were asked "are you having any suicidal thoughts at the moment?" They answered no.

Response was "great, we'll renew your prescription and see you again in 4 months".

That was it. In and out in less than 5 minutes, literally NO actual treatment, no, "how are you doing?" Just "Here are some pills. Go away".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I would well believe it and it is absolutely infuriating. It's turning into America, no way to treat people so just throw some opioids/benzos at them. First world country me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

And the worst thing is AIB will just tear up any letter inviting them to explain themselves to any comittee. They cant be legally obliged to attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

The country's infrastructure is unrecognizably better than 20 years ago.

Cancer services on hospitals, new college campuses built, new road network, port tunnel, JLT, Limerick tunnel, Luas, second DA terminal, rural broadband rollout underway, gas and electricity networks, new and upgraded primary and secondary school facilities everywhere, investment in sports facilities, investment grants for agricultural infrastructure, support services for tech and pharma.

The waste has been in public sector salaries for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,500 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

We do.....

However the population is also growing at a fast rate and thats a challenge, but we persist and the work always continues.

The MNC windfall may not continue indeed, but its a good thing then that the Government has NOT included such windfalls in annual budgeting, but placed it in discretionary funds and used it for special projects.

In any case, the success of this economy is not based on MNCs. All of the State money minders, the Govt, the Central Bank, the NTMA, the CSO, the ESRI and others, all use mGNI rather than GDP as a measure of growth and that strips out MNC skewing of growth.

Spoiler alert, our gross national income is still among the highest in the western world even without the MNCs, because we have a population fully employed, well educated, lean, efficient, productive, with good industrial relations and good salaries.

For those who want to see Ireland fail to justify their own negativity, I have bad news, it ain't happening any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭blackbox

For a so-called wealthy country, Ireland looks very poor.

The maintenance of public spaces is very poor - so many places are simply grotty.

In the rare places where bins are provided, they are not emptied frequent!y. Public toilets seem to be a thing of the past.

Apart from lack of action by local government, their work is hampered by lack of enforcement of existing laws. Toilets were removed because they were getting wrecked. Scummers dump household waste in and around public bins, not to mention the ones that dump mattresses etc in the countryside. Lots of dog owners don't clean up after their pets.

The government seems to be unable to progress the simplest of legislation. It may not be top priority, but for example why is it taking several years for e-scooters to be regulated. All they need to do is copy and paste from a jurisdiction where they are already in place.

It doesn't bode well for health and housing.

...and unfortunately I have no confidence that the opposition would do better.

I'm more exasperated than angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Economists critical of how economic growth is measured (rte.ie)

International economists, including Nobel-prize winner Paul Krugman, have criticised how Irish economic growth is measured.

Critics say Ireland’s GDP is distorted by the accounting manoeuvres of large US multinationals capitalising on low tax rates here.

In 2015, Apple moved intellectual property assets to its Irish base, thereby helping to drive Ireland’s GDP up 25%, which led to Paul Krugman calling it "leprechaun economics".

Yesterday he said Irish officials are "in denial".

Mr Setser is also critical of Irish fiscal measurements. "The basis issue is that Ireland is now the tax home of a very significant number of multinational companies. Many, particularly after some of the initial round of global tax reforms have located a lot of their international property in their Irish subsidiaries and this in effect inflates the measured size of the Irish economy."

He said Apple essentially reports all of its foreign operations as running through Ireland, which registers in Irish GDP data, "even though I don't think anyone in Ireland sits and sees Apple as a huge Irish company, as a huge Irish employer so there is a fundamental mismanagement of the true size of the Irish economy".

"The GNI* measure is actually a more helpful measure," Mr Setser said. "I applaud the Central Bank and the Central Statistics Office for developing this measure, but when Ireland submits it's data to the Eurostat repository when the Euro area compiles its GDP figures, they use GDP data."

"Ireland has to be conscious of the fact that people who are looking at international corporate tax avoidance are inevitably going to be looking at Ireland," he said.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,852 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Yes, it’s such a shame that we have to pay people to work inside those new cancer units, new colleges, new airports, new sports centres, new trams.

They looked so much better when they were all shiny and empty.

Maybe we should keep on pushing our young professionals towards Dubai and Sydney instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Morrisp

I guess you have your own house and we trying to are all in wrong as tone of your post . You have litttle regards for others and are everything that’s wrong with this country . If people feel have March there s more than likely a reason but a person like you sits and judges as if he was judge and knows it all , I pity your view of country that is running the complete opposite to how you think it is .

?

the poster is clearing making a point that PS pay is too high and costing us a fortune unnecessarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Morrisp

I’d say you few friends mate silly stupid head in sand comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think we are at a very very different era from the 1980s - people were angry back then but there wasnt the same level of abuse at all

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,500 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I agree with both of you in some ways.

The administration burden in the public sector is nonsensical. The absence of any staff reduction when the Health Boards became the HSE demonstrates it clearly.

I am all for professionals in the PS being payed World leading salaries; Doctors, Nurses, Therapists, Carers, Engineers, Lawyers, Accountants, Economists, Architects, Police officers, Defence Forces personnel, Firefighters, Paramedics, Analysts, IT professionals, Cyber Security, Environmental Scientists, Researchers and Technicians in a hundred different disciplines etc etc.

They should all get paid their worth and be given every reason to stay in a long career serving their fellow citizens, but I refuse to accept that massive efficiencies in administrative and support staff services cannot be achieved, through standardisation and group service clusters as well as the rationalisation and professionalisation of the admin grades, for important work like procurement, project management, HR and change, pay and pensions, finance etc.

We have a right to expect better public services for the money we are spending and to expect those services to be standard over a 7 day week instead of 5 and for longer hours.

That will require a massive facing down of Union interests and I'm not sure any of the current parties have the stomach for that fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

It's the fact that they have him so much money is the problem. There is no way he can repay it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,852 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

And I'm making the point that we're losing doctors, nurses, teachers and more young professionals to emigration because they can't survive on their current salaries and have zero hope of ever buying a property here at current rates. No point in building shiny new public sector facilities when we can't staff them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,814 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The infrastructure is better, yes. The ability to access it certainly isn’t.

Hmmm, don't know about that. Plenty of teachers, nurses, young professionals are building and buying houses here, they just don't appear in the news pages because their story doesn't fit the story. They have worked hard, saved hard and are reaping the reward.

A lot of those leaving are doing so for the adventure, for a chance to work in a different country, and fair play to them. The difference between now and 1980s is that the quality of life they are leaving is broadly on par with their chosen destination. No argument that Australia/NZ might have superior standard to Ireland in some respects, but these countries also rank in the top 5 globally. Ireland is top 10 anyway so differences are marginal.

The Australian, Canadian and NZ media are full of the same stories about housing crises, pressure on healthcare, cost of living issues. Our adventuring emigrants will face that in those countries too. I know two couples who have returned recently from Vancouver and Auckland and they say the picture is not as rosy as they believed it would be. Vancouver is boring as shyt too, apparently.

This is a bloody great country to live in, plenty to improve on but jaysis if you have your life in order there are great opportunities to avail of.

I wonder could Eoin O Broin fix the global problem too?

The Sandinista socialist version of solving a housing crisis...can we look forward to this in Ireland?

Vancouver’s beautiful and has great outdoors and recreational facilities, but it has its issues in spite great social supports and charitable efforts. Drug addiction is commonplace especially among older males, and housing is ferociously expensive and a lot not built to last.