Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Well, if by his suggestion you need officers plural on every flight, and I'm assuming they want full background checks, that's gonna take time and bodies, you'd also need them at the ferry ports, that's thousands, and the border to the north, but wait can't do that......

I'm starting to think lads haven't thought this through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Economics101

I see the Irish Times ultra-permissive line on immigration is getting up the nose of at least one reader. I'm mildly surprised they published the letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

On the flights like a U.S. Marshall would be OTT. Just need the means to check in and pre clear their passports before they get on the flight so destruction on arrival is next to meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

DUBLIN

Eastwall – 15th Feb, Wed 6pm / Location: Eastwall Road

North Inner City, Dublin – 15th Feb, 6pm / Location: 5 Lamps

Sheriff St, Dublin – 15th Feb / Location: Sheirff St. Church

Coolock – 15th Feb, Wed

Ballymun, Dublin – 17th Feb, Fri 6pm

LOUTH

Drogheda – 19th Feb, Sun 1.30pm

WESTMEATH

Mullingar , Co.Weathmeath– 16th Feb, Thur 7pm / Location: Army Barracks

GALWAY

Tuam, Galway – 16th Feb, Thur 7pm / Location: Tuam Cathedral Carpark (assembly point)

OFFALY

Kilcormac – 17th Feb, Fri 6pm

CAVAN

Cootehill – 18th Feb, Sat 2pm / Location: The Pig Market (assembly point)

KERRY

Listowel Sun 19th 1pm

CORK

Fermoy Thurs 16th 6pm

photo_2023-02-15_15-57-30.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Looks like things are about to get tougher for the State. If this refugee is successful then I have no idea how they'll deal with it

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2023/0215/1356857-courts-asylum/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭Juran

I wonder are the courts going to ask why he passed through several safe countires, including 7 months spent in France, before arriving in Ireland.

I can't understand why the Dublin convention is not being applied by European countries who all wanted it, signed up for it, yet no one seems to be implementing it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,752 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why are you try to turn this into an American issue?

Maybe you'd feel more comfortable commenting on American refugee threads.

Looks like a huge amount of the population is far right now according to the opinion poll for Virgin Media tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

You are mistaken.

It's an Irish issue that there is inadequate preclearance for inbound air travel, which is causing a run on people entering the state with destroyed documents. That's an Irish issue. And it was asked how the US would handle it and it was thusly explained, pre-clear your passengers before they fly in. That's an attainable goal that helps a country further control its zero to nth refugee policy or policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Would be interesting to know if he applied for asylum in any of the 3 countries where he lived in each for over 6 months. If so, aren’t the state well within their rights to send him back to first country he applied for asylum in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I heard it on the Virgin media news around 6.30.

I think it said a Red C poll had 66% saying we had enough refugees here and I'm almost sure it said Ukrainian.

I didn't hear the other figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What's an ethically Irish person Potatoman? 😉

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭minimary

If Leo wanted to show us that it wasn't just rhetoric and he was being firm and fair on asylum he would make sure every single person that arrived on that container was sent back to France asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

On the US comparison, the US has a cap of 125k asylum seekers for 2023.

Obama had a cap of 85k not that long ago. When the population of the US was over 320 million.

Ireland has 5 million population and admiited approx 80k last year.

Either someone is taking way too many or someone is taking in way too few...

I'd argue the latter, but your figures are spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Just so you know where your money goes as a taxpayer, you are paying for the State's lawyers, the judge, the court, partially for this guys representatives (Irish refugee council are providing the legal for him) and finally for his support and likely accommodation after this.

This is all after he's passed through several safe countries where he stayed many months.

When you see all that are making bank out of this farce, you can see why it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭buzzerxx

When the Day report came out I wrote a letter to the editor about it. It wasn't published and I'm under no illusion that anyone has a right to be published but they posted zero letters to the editor about it. I can't have been the only one who wrote in that it was a mistake or even I'm sure some people would have written in favour of it but they just avoided the topic.

The protests have thrown open the Overton window on this. Which is great its just a pity that rational debate on this issue was silenced for so long. We mightn't be in the mess we're in if all debate on the issue hadn't been stiffled for so long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Tuam seems an unusual place for a protest ?, would they place immigrants in a town with so many travellers ?

then again it’s not like you could hold one in Galway city , place is full of WOKE leftists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

What was this? Seems to be gone from Facebook now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Clearly it can't be that every safe country on the way to us absorbs all refugees. Otherwise the countries surrounding the areas the US carries out it wars will have to take all the refugees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,071 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It should still be stressed that the protests are relatively small in number. How many people have physically participated in an anti-refugee protest in Ireland in the last three weeks or so.....perhaps 5000 in total? You have a small amount of people making a huge amount of noise on social media and trying to give the impression they are some sort of 'silent majority'. Certainly immigration has come onto the radar in the last 12 months or so because of the Ukraine refugee situation and the accommodation shortages, but the idea that an anti-immigration party is going to hoover up 20% of the votes at the next general election is very hard to believe.

The majority is wondering where these people are going to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

The article says "The man then sought help from the Irish Refugee Council Independent Law Centre, which is assisting him with his case."

Most likely, they went looking for him. But they should be careful what they wish for. With Irish sentiment now turning sour, the spectre of these welfare tourists wasting more of our money in frivolous lawsuits is only going to engender further ill-will. The Irish Refugee Council should stop prioritizing their own careers and refrain from trying to line the pockets of their buddies in legal profession. We can all see through this racket for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,071 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

For sure, but is that the No.1 issue facing the country? It strikes me as more of an abstract issue that is in the news daily than something that is directly impacting on people's live - 99.9% of Irish people don't live in a hotel or a direct provision centre or an army barracks etc.

Things like the housing and rent crisis, overcrowded A&Es, cost of living crisis, energy bills etc are events that are very directly impacting on people across the country on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭clytemnestra

There are 40 million people in Afghanistan. It'd be quite the legal precedent if this guy won.

Amazing how Irish people aren't suing the state when they're forced to live with their parents til they're 40 or emigrate. I would say this guy has a neck on him like the jockey's proverbial but as a previous poster said, it's more likely that he was sought out by the treasonous grifters in some NGO.

We would likely have never known without them taking this case that containers of people are coming from France. What are the Gardai doing about this and why was this not caught when the container was leaving France?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Aurelian

Now that they are starting to build quiet significant modular estates for Ukrainians around the country I think it will become a more concrete issue for more people. A few more communities will start to see themselves as being in competition for housing and resources. I've seen these comments already. This will feed into politics outside of East Wall, Ballymun etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

This debate is infuriating. Had a look at the debate currently on tv3, some joe soap getting an earful, for questing the housing of refugees in his town, from some Karen and a labour senator.

🙈🙉🙊