"GAA star in alleged scam" Mod Note on page 1 and 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

Mickey Harte will be working hard on the character witness statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭brokenbad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,143 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

At the end of the day though it's a very sad situation. What the hell was he thinking.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,680 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I think they are managing this in a way that encourages more victims to come forward, before a file gets sent to the DPP.

I've heard you say many times that you're better than no one
    And no one is better than you
    If you really believe that you know you have nothing to win
    And nothing to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭batman75

It could be argued the ultimate person he conned is himself. His name is commonly known at this stage. His reputation is in tatters. Nobody will trust him going forward. It's likely he has destroyed most of his friendships. Even friends not affected couldn't help but dislike after this scam. He literally has no prospects in Ireland as his 'brand' is irretrievably tarnished.

The tragedy of it all is he could have had a very comfortable life off the back of his illustrious sporting career doing media work, open businesses etc. The world was his oyster. He was adored in his home county as one of the all time greats of the game. It's not pleasant seeing someone's life unravelling but at the same the time the reason for it makes it hard to have any sympathy for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,643 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Exactly.

Thats the GAA mafia carry-on, which has happened plenty in the past and which certain posters on here don't care to acknowledge.

Speeding tickets squared, gambling debts covered (and covered up), planning permissions sorted, drugs and assault charges bargained away, bail guaranteed, exam results compensated, qualifications fudged.

I suspect that being so used to this wink and nod stuff, contributed in no small part to the outlandish behaviour of the character involved in this particular allegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭davidx40

They have to leave the country , there's no possible way they could stay here .......I can't see them getting jail ...... they'll be shunned where ever they said foot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Think Aidan O'Mahony did back in the 2000s...he got away with assault if I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,231 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭tibruit

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭brokenbad

He'll be grand wherever he goes - the Expat "Gaels" will look after him......

That’s what happens. And start up the scam again in foreign climes.

Nah. You`ve missed the point. He scammed the "Gaels" or the "Mafia" or what ever it is you want to call them. He`s on his own now.

There were many ordinary decent people involved too allegedly.

Including a man whose wife was genuinely undergoing cancer treatment.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

More reports in the newspapers. It does seem he has not been charged with anything yet thus the reluctance to print his name in the press even though everyone knows.

The only conceivable way he'd get away with this is to have loan notes for them all or be in a position to pay them all off.

I can't see either option occurring.

It's done a huge amount of damage to the GAA in that county.

I also wonder at people who are willing to give so much to a guy simply because he was a star? God knows there are many other worthy causes out there like purple House to give to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Have a fair idea without knowing for absolute certain. And therein lies a problem, at first I assumed someone else or maybe another. I'd be thinking a good many people have been fingered at this stage as the potential culprit. Secrecy is never a good idea and the sort of carryon here is a classic example. Far better the Mods here named the individual without acknowledging their guilt.

Well now you`ve implied that people within the the GAA can`t be ordinary decent people. Also, unless you know the identity of the man whose wife has cancer, you have supposed that he has no association with the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,135 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Without being facetious, the only reason many gave to him is because he is a “star”. People don’t give six figures to the likes of me and you

I’m not trying to suggest the GAA is to blame. Of course they’re not. But some people’s blind fandom of hurling has played a part. He took advantage of that

The sport will move on and won’t be effected by this at all. Rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭TipsyMcStagge

True enough but if me or you were at this it wouldn't have been kept under wraps for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I'd say to have a loan agreement in place, it would need to be signed by both parties i.e. the lender and the borrower. Otherwise it wouldn't be a legit document. I wouldn't say any of the "borrowers" would put pen to paper to help the scammer out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And the sad/ironic thing is that I bet if he had gone to his GAA colleagues and said he was in financial strife, there would have been many who would have helped him out without the deception.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am not sure if you do remember correctly and if you are not sure you should not name anyone. What you put up is scurrilous.

What is this GAA mafia. I know of one Rubgy International that for away with at least manslaughter.

If you look at squaring as it put by An Gardai the .post high profile was in Limerick where, mainly rugby players were the beneficiaries, however there was Soccer and GAA players as well. Mind you it seems it did not stop with sports people just like in the rest of the country.

Generally if you or your family are not getting into trouble the guards will give you the benefit of the doubt.

I have been left way twice with traffic offences by different Gardai at the side of the road years back. I was polite and apologized as I was opening the window to him both incidence were well away from my locality

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,135 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

What strife? All the reports are he continued to spend lavishly throughout

There is no shame in bankruptcy. He could have gone that route or a legitimate loan route.

I'm sure some of the GAA mafia would have helped him out if he had a legitimate business plan.

He is still a big name and could have created a comfortable enough living post bankruptcy.

But he obviously got a taste for the high life and was not going to let go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,537 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm noticing a big hatred of the GAA thing going on here. Did some lads not get their place on the U.16 teams?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,680 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

If by got away with you mean a Judge said there was absolutely no evidence whatsoever of him doing anything wrong - quite the oppostite in fact.

He was cleared of any wrong doing and was found to be 100% innocent of that charge.

A judge said that, in a court of law. I'm happy to go with that version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Anyone fancy DMing me who this is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,143 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I love the GAA. I'd prefer my son to play it than soccer but to be fair the"he was a great man to line out a pitch " defence has been over used by a lot of people

Waterford whisperers did a piss take a while back on it