Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've been looking in the wrong direction, the dangers are coming from the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Has the journalist who reported on this incident, reported things that didn’t happen in the past for which the Irish Times had to publish a retraction and apology?

The answer is yes.

Why the deserved scepticism of other journalists who have previously reported things that never happened but unshakable confidence in this story by this journalist?

Maybe people from a certain ideological perspective are willing to suspend disbelief solely because they wish it to be true.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

It's coming from the far right yes.

Comical how you all don't see how transparent it is. Living in an echo chamber reduces awareness.

This is what happens when the supply of “dangers coming from the right” are less than the demand.

If they were living in an echo chamber how would they be on here discussing it with people of opposing views.

Anyway looking forward to proof this happened. Put an end to this speculation.

They actually think that they are convincing people that nothing happened. The lads living there just decided to do a runner but not related to this.

Maybe they just wanted to be left alone and didn’t want to be bothered by agenda driven journalists.

The Irish times yesterday described their reporter Kitty Holland as an “eye witness” to the attack.

Today Holland herself admits “I never said I witnessed it”.

This is after yesterday saying she interrupted the attack to ask them why they were doing it. Was she hiding behind a tree with her eyes closed when she interrupted them?

Yeah they are on their last legs and they left because of the journalists and not because of the scumbags.

Oooookay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,598 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Well they lived there peacefully for months until Kitty Holland turned up.

You don’t know the reason they moved. Perhaps they wanted to avoid the authorities and press as much as the locals.

Now that’s just speculating on reasons like yourself.

Usual snide remarks from you.

I just checked a few sites and then asked here. I didn’t google it. And didn’t check RTE radio. Looks like a buried story to me.

Four links that repeat the same unverified story and a Garda report that nothing was reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The more likely thing is this is an ongoing criminal investigation. Wonders never cease.

Some thread comment earlier alleges she did snap photos.

You’re assuming people around the corner who were attacked at this camp with baseball bat and sticks and dogs etc. so abruptly were in the presence of mind to fight back with a cell phone camera?

I think we’ve already been over this. She eye witnessed the attackers both trespass on and leave the site, in addition to hearing the fight take place and actively shouting at the attacker and subsequently asking the attacker face to face about their motives.

Just sounds like the laziest glance to confirm a confirmation bias. All those sites and none of them Google it’s like you didn’t actually want to disprove the story was not “buried”

youre new so I don’t know why anything is usual to you.

I don’t see why. Nobody stepped outside their home to record the beating of Tyre Nichols on their phone either.

Incidentally if I’m at this camp where is the iPhone charger at

There are snapped photos of the assailant and eye witness accounts.

Throwback to 5 years ago when the Republicans acknowledged the serious threat that Putin was. Even in 2017, they boasted about aid they sent to Ukraine to fight back against Russia.

During Impeachment 1, in 2019, their *entire impeachment defense* nearly hinged on the fact they sent weapons to Ukraine. Very proud of this fact!

But now that Biden has to deal with Ukraine, suddenly sending them weapons is the worst thing ever and we should just roll over for Russia and accept their expansion over Europe

April 17, 2017

MARC BERNIER: A lot of people are wondering where we are with the Russians after the Syrian situation. They’re not happy with us. The president had talked about how it would be good to get along with Russia and it confused some people. So where do you think we’re going with Russia?

RON DESANTIS: Well, this idea that, like, it would be good to get along with Russia. Yeah, it’d be good to get along with anybody. But you got to understand, when you’re dealing with somebody like Vladimir Putin, he does not see the world the same way that we see the world. He views the biggest tragedy in the 20th century to be the fall of Soviet communism and the evil empire. That was something that was responsible for enslaving millions of people. Millions died on the watch of communism. And yet he thinks that’s a tragedy. He wants to reconstitute the Russian empire.

And so what you see with him in a place like Syria and I think some of the administration’s message about, oh, does Putin really want to be on the side of Assad and these unsavory characters? Honestly, I don’t think he cares about that.

What he sees in the Middle East is a chance to project power. He has access to a warm water port on the Mediterranean. He has the ability to launch aircraft in the region. And that brings him one step closer to having a mighty expansive Russia. And so I think that he’s been a threat for a long time.

You know, Clinton tried to work with him. Bush tried to work with him. Obama tried to reset. Trump was very positive about Putin. And I think that reality has set in that this is not going to work out that way, and you’re better off dealing with Putin by being strong. I mean, we’ve tried to deal with some of this in the Congress a couple of years ago. We authorized lethal aid for Ukraine so that they could resist some of the Russian incursion. The Obama administration fought us on that. But I think that’s the type of thing when Putin sees he can gain an inch, he’s actually apt to take a mile. And basically, if America’s not going to give him any pushback, I think he’s going to continue to try to expand Russian influence.

Hold on. So if the attackers trespassed onto the site as you say, how did Kitty Holland get there. She was roaring and shouting at people who she admits she didn’t see committing any crime. So she herself trespassed onto the site.

The Irish Times described her as an eyewitness to the attack.

It has emerged now that she didn’t witness the attack. Do you not acknowledge that this is a misrepresentation?

Hold on. So if the attackers trespassed onto the site as you say, how did Kitty Holland get there. 

You already know, having listened to the interview you yourself linked me to. You're JAQing off now.

Explained not 2 minutes into broadcast

"They showed us around the tents and how they organized it ..."

°°°°°

No official complaints were made to the Gardai but somehow there's an ongoing criminal investigation?

There were some videos posted to Twitter which showed a different situation to what was reported, interestingly there was no sign of aggression nevermind violence.

The story since the posting of those videos has disappeared from the media in Ireland entirely.

There's no evidence to suggest that this assault occurred and this is confirmed by the Garda statement that no complaints were made or injuries reported.

The only thing we can say is that a bunch slightly rough sounding middle aged men went into this camp and had what appears (in the videos posted to twitter) to have been a polite dialogue with these men.

Maybe in the time Kitty Holland was following these men they had the time to make these videos where they're acting in a non confrontational manner in an attempt to fool us all and then proceeded to viciously attack these men after the cameras were turned off?

From the time line the article gives us this seems like an unlikely scenario.

Glazers Out!

Sounds like you don't know enough about this case to speculate one way or the other so probably best to leave it be and let the Gards handle it then.

°°°°°

Glazers Out!

So you are claiming that the other trespassers, the people who had been living on this land which they didn’t own for months. Could give another person who didn’t own the land, Kitty Holland, the right to trespass onto it also?

I am sorry but that just doesn’t fly.

All the parties involved. The migrants in the illegal camp, the journalist and photographer and the alleged attackers were all trespassing.

°°°°°

The Gardai received no official complaints so what are they handling exactly? One of the links you posted outlined that they received no complaints FYI.

It seems like everyone here knows more about this case than you so a little less condescension might be an idea.

Glazers Out!

You say she eyewitnessed the attackers without seeing the attack.

That is a complete oxymoron.

Ohhh, you're playing word games because I said trespass to shorthand the fact the lads were "trying to get in over the ditch into the forested area" which seems awfully conspicuous to me, not 'they walked into the camp' it sounds like they didn't use open ground or a path to get in, but trying to enter where the camps attention wasn't.

But yes, sure, argue that the entire camp is an exercise in trespassing. Just know that's not the context I'm referring to there in her account. Lads climbing over a ditch and through the trees with weapons, hmm. She doesn't mention ever having to get through a ditch etc. to enter the camp, and at the head of the video indicates the camp is readily visible from the street - so why go through the ditch unless you're trying to sneak up on someone, with reported weapons?

No. You used trespass because of its connotations to illegality and then object when it is pointed out that the residents and journalists were trespassing also.

Carry on.

So you are claiming that the other trespassers, the people who had been living on this land which they didn’t own for months. Could give another person who didn’t own the land, Kitty Holland, the right to trespass onto it also?

No, you seem very lost. As I said, just explaining how an eye witness would know they were up to conspicuous activity by the manner they entered the site.

Have you read the updates?

Now being classified as an “alleged” assault.

No far right motive for the “alleged” assault either.

No complaints.

No injuries thank God.