Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Ukies are here to stay. Many are marrying and having children here. The housing crisis will be a whole lot worse. If you can't see that then there's no point explaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,373 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

But clearly more people will put pressure on the housing supply.

It may lead to a massive housing building boom but can't see that happen as so many people object to large apartment blocks near them including most opposition TDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

I know time flies but 2003 was only 20 years ago. Its only been 19 years since those first waves of EU migrants that we were initially told would be tiny.

A number of posts above stated that 2004 was 30 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 palette

I'm sorry, but if you can't link the arrival of tons of people, ukrainian war or before, with lack of housing, and therefore the requisite rise in cost of housing, then there's nothing to be said that can help you.

As someone pointed out earlier, the sheer amount of pps numbers handed out to non Irish over the last decade is phenomenal.

What else, I wonder, has seen a concomitant lock step increase too?

This doesn't even approach economics or statistics, this is fundamental common sense first and foremost. Anyone tripping up at that initial stage is a lost cause.

Yes, more people need more housing. Less people need less housing.

If the Ukrainian war, on its own, doesn't prove that, nothing ever will to some. But Ukrainians, asylum seekers, chancers, economic migrants, martians, it doesn't matter, they are all extra people, and they all need housing, in a housing crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I was thinking to ask someone here who is witty and good with language to take one of the biased RTE reports that water down what happened at the reception centre last night and rewrite it but telling the truth. Satirical like. I thought nah, leave it off.

But you're rewriting that tweet there convinced me to put it up. So, anyone willing to take the flaky RTE article and rewrite it with proper language describing what's going on? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,125 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I was thinking to ask someone here who is witty and good with language to take one of the biased RTE reports that water down what happened at the reception centre last night and rewrite it but telling the truth. Satirical like. I thought nah, leave it off.

But you're rewriting that tweet there convinced me to put it up. So, anyone willing to take the flaky RTE article and rewrite it with proper language describing what's going on? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Yes,

Just the other night on RTE Baz was doing up 5 houses for Ukrainians. DIY SOS. Thats 5 out of the supply chain for everyone else.

That being said I think most folks here are not complaining about the war affected ukrainians/russians - its the sudden influx of those claiming to be Ukrainian and destroying docs on arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 palette

A buddy system would be interesting.

For every person that wants into the country, for whatever reason, an Irish person can volunteer to be their legally binding keepsake and support them until they find employment and housing of their own, or until the cows come home.

How many would there be with their hands up?

11?

But when it's at everyone else's expense? The more the merrier, 70 kabillion. With those 70 kabillion we'll be able to build 90 gabollion homes, have eleventy pillion health staff and teachers sprouting like trees, trust me. ^10 years later^ oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

What an idiotic comment

Anyway…that’s for a different thread

What a disaster we are facing. Sorry, but all the goodwill in the world doesn't change the fact that you can't just open the borders up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

How is it an idiotic comment? Look at the post it was responding to -

They’re probably not the half of Irish people who think a home somewhere between €200k and €300k is affordable -

https://www.thejournal.ie/affordable-housing-poll-5477459-Jun2021/

It isn’t because of Government trying to accommodate refugees that young people are thinking of leaving Ireland, it’s because they see themselves having a better quality of life abroad, like every other migrant -

The survey also found that 80% are fearful for their future, 50% reported worse mental health in the context of the rising cost of living, 40% were not as happy as they were six months ago, 50% are struggling to make ends meet, and around a quarter said their experience with housing in the last six months is worse.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40959242.html

They aren’t being replaced. They do come back -

Census 2016 revealed that there were 888,899 residents who had previously lived outside of Ireland for one year or more. Of these, 557,611 were Irish nationals (62.7%) and 327,330 were non-Irish nationals (36.8%). Figure 6.3 shows the year of arrival into Ireland for both Irish and non-Irish nationals for the years 1997 to 2016. When analysing these results, it must be borne in mind that a high percentage of residents who were born abroad failed to answer the question on previous residence abroad – repeating patterns observed in 2006 and 2011.

Returning Irish nationals have always been in evidence, averaging around 16,000 persons per year in the late 1990’s and then increasing to reach a high of 21,299 in 2000. Numbers reached a low point in 2009 with just 10,198 arrivals but have increased in more recent years with 18,571 persons in 2014. 

The graph shows that the flow of non-Irish nationals into Ireland remained fairly steady over the period 1997 to 2003 averaging 6,000 persons annually. The numbers increased sharply from 2004 onwards and reached a high of 23,089 in 2006. They fell sharply up to 2009 (8,192) but have since risen again to reach a high of 31,694 in 2015.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp7md/p7md/p7ri/

And they purchase affordable homes, and they enjoy nights out, and they enjoy plenty of the finer things in life, the things that refugees will dream of. No fear of young people in this country who have a bit of initiative and an interest in making something of themselves and making a better life for themselves and their families.

Imagine that, young people hanging out, moving from place to place, seeing the sights, living the dream 😂

I’m not being conned at all, I would be if I were to take that post seriously, like it’s unexpected that young people would be living their best life on social media 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,633 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

seeing the sights... of Dublin.

Living the dream... in CityWest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Every home a Ukrainian or Asulym Seeker takes is a home off the market for people here on VISAs, Irish people, EU people working here etc.

I mean thats just basic, at a minimum it's reducing supplying this increasing rent/purchase prices

Isn't this what happens in Germany? Think close to 300k homeless refugees there (might be outdated)

Europe as a whole can't cope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Tide is turning though, the Eu is now looking to change the rules around returning economic migrants, as only 21% ever return to their countries of origin even when safe to do so. We can’t take in the world and as we can see in Ireland, it causes other problems, some of which we are only starting to see.

I have 0 problem with war refugees looking for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 LaoisWeather

I have 0 problem with war refugees looking for help.

As long as the numbers are capped as to what we can provide for. Geographically we are situated quite a distance from pretty much all of the conflicts in the world over the last ~75 years. We can take some war refugees, but resources would be best spent supporting neighbouring countries beside where the conflict is who take in the Lions share of refugees.

If that means shipping out NGO workers to those regions to work the front lines, then so be it. It's time they got out of their comfy offices in Dublin away from the photocopiers and actually rolled up their sleeves and did some real work to earn all the money the Irish taxpayer hands them.

There are quite a few NGO operatives on Twitter who I'd much rather see spoon feed a hungry toddler in Gaza instead of spoon-feeding racist accusations and other guilt to the Irish population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,500 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

What are you talking about?

The houses are in a charitable trust which ran by the Church of Ireland which maintains and them and houses adults and families in 23 of them.

8 of them were empty and in a very poor state and in need of extensive renovation. This was done by the DIY SOS series. The charity receives 8 more finished houses at a cost of zero, the price to do this privately would have been astronomical as you are dealing with listed properties that are 250 years old.

So the idea the houses were firstly in the supply chain and then subsequently disappeared is absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Yeah it was fantastic, I was responding to a poster who asked if a single Irish person lost out on a house due to Ukrainians - it doesn’t matter what way it’s sliced the fact is supply in one form or, another charity/rent/purchase etc, is being impacted by Ukrainian and other inward migration.

That was a low hanging fruit example.

They could have been restored in the same manner for Irish people, so I would refute it being nonsense - but at least they went to genuine refugees by the looks of it.

I was responding to a poster who asked if a single Irish person lost out on a house due to Ukrainians

Again, they didn't. Those 8 houses would not be habitable if not for the war.

it doesn’t matter what way it’s sliced the fact is supply in one form or, another charity/rent/purchase etc, is being impacted by Ukrainian and other inward migration

Yes in this case impacted spectacularly positively, the charity now has 8 more houses hopefully for another 200 years which it can use to help unfortunate people in dire straights which it has done for decades.

We need to come up with a final solution...we'll have to build massive camps to keep them concentrated in one area

Jaysus. 😕

Who makes those decisions, you? By scrolling through anyone’s social media accounts looking for anything which you think might support your narrative? How’s that not a con-job, exactly? Portraying yourself as an immigration official who has the authority to make those sorts of determinations.

There’s nobody affecting anyone else by referring to either asylum seekers, refugees, economic migrants, etc, there’s no such thing as actual refugees or genuine refugees either - anyone is either granted refugee status, or they’re not. It isn’t determined on the basis of scrolling through anyone’s social media, the people who actually have the authority to make these decisions have better information available to them than some numbskull with a megaphone and a chip their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Why are you ranting and raving about "scrolling through social media" when the poster never said anything as such? You're trying to discredit the source of their views, by telling them what their source is. There's far more sources than lads on Twitter as you well know, yet you've to pretend that that's the case, is the name of trying to score some points. The desperation is getting very palpable.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Moving from safe country to safe country looking for someone to accept their asylum application while getting free accomadation and meals in the countries? Not exactly like young back packers travelling the world at their own expense?

The poster put in a link in their post to a Twitter post of a 13 second clip of someone scrolling through someone else’s social media posts by way of supporting their claims of the person being accommodated in Citywest Hotel. I don’t have to try and discredit anything, there’s just nothing credible there in the first place! I do know there’s far more sources than twitter, I also know they’re as credible as sources on twitter. I’m not so desperate to prove utter nonsense that I’m willing to go so far as to manufacture evidence to support my claims. That’s what that poster is doing, and telling other people they’re being conned by the the Government, NGOs etc spreading misinformation 😂

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Yet another reminder

This thread is about refugee accommodation, as set out in the thread title.

If this turns into a general discussion of Ukrainian refugees the thread will be closed like the last one was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Marcos

A question for those advocating taking in everybody who turns up, and Roddy O'Gorman said we should plan for 80,000 more in the next year. If there is nowhere to put them, where do you think they should put up their tents? Maybe they should take over Stephen's Green or the Polo grounds in the Park, directly by the Áras, or is there anywhere else that you could think of?

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Well it certainly won’t be in the apartments/houses or gardens of these advocates

And that’s because by and large, they’ll full of shíte and only trying to make themselves look better than everyone else by their calling for unlimited numbers.

Michael D can surely take in about 100 or so bunk beds in every room