Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,391 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Well, they are also adopting an 'eff you' approach to their European neighbours - many Syrian refugees who have tried unsuccessfully to claim asylum there have had no choice but to move on to other EU countries and apply for asylum in those states (which wouldn't be doing much for Denmark's reputation). They sound remarkably like English Brexiteers at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

It’s amazing that a former minister was previously afraid to bring up the issue of illegal immigration. What other illegal activity would a member of cabinet be afraid to condemn?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There was a piece on the TV3 news earlier that non-Ukranian arrivals would be given food vouchers, but would need to source their own accommodation as there is no supply.

The best part of the quote was that the department was urging those already in safe locations not to travel....

... Why are we (STILL) entertaining such people in the first place???!! If they are ALREADY safe then they can hardly come here looking for protection!

There's only one reason for them to come here at that point, and it's nothing to do with SAFETY! It's for handouts and opportunities, for which there are already ways to apply legitimately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Where is the outcry about this lack or accommodation for future refugees?

No one seems to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The NGOs care alright. They have to protect their industry after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

You'd really have to come and see a (rare) protest that there was any NP presence at. They stand apart from everyone with their banner looking pretty Spode-ish. They don't interact apart from handing out leaflets. And most people see them as oddities.

As East Wall 4 All have shown, you can have nothing to do with a thing and still hand out flyers.

When the NP are there it's because they want to associate themselves with the protest as a kind of advertisement. They don't add anything to a protest and the way they can undermine one is pretty obvious.

They're like AIG and Dublin. They want to associate themselves with success but no one thinks they deserve any credit for it.

There are a couple of Ballymun residents in the NP. That's why an NP member was there with a megaphone on the first night and they rallied the troops the following night when the rest of us showed up.

(You're paying them more attenton than I would but the "Ballymun Says No" poster showed up at a later protest. The first weekend all they had was their generic "House the Irish not the World" one)

Come along to the Shelbourne tomorrow (Sat) at 2. The NP may show up - who knows. But East Wall rules mean if they do they won't be let display party banners or give speeches. (We're even promised a counter protest)

If I was you I'd be much more worried about Fine Gael than the NP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

NP guy with a megaphone in the middle of the crowd talking at everyone isnt standing apart from the crowd

Leafletting the entire ballymun the next day... 😅

Your stories just dont add up

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

That didn't take long. If you don't like it you can always go home.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2023/0120/1349919-refugee-families-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

I'd have no problem with genuine refugees, it's the parasites that I have the problem with. Unfortunately our government can seem to differentiate between the two.

I would be very. Very. interested to know why exactly Dolcain House in Clondalkin has been deemed unfit for further use as emergency accommodation "due to fire safety concerns".

It was presumably fire safety compliant as open plan offices. Now, divided up in cubicles, it is not. Makes sense. Evacuation times greatly reduced.

From a fire safety perspective how does Dolcain House differ from say the Gateway Two Office block being used in East Wall?

Meanwhile, 148 people seeking international protection are to be moved out of a building in Clondalkin where they are currently being housed due to fire safety concerns.

Dolcain House was offered to the Department of Integration for use as emergency accommodation for international protection applicants.

The department said that the property was deemed safe by an independent inspection.

However, it said Dublin Fire Brigade is not satisfied with the current fire certifications for the building.

"After significant engagement with Dublin Fire Brigade, that office has stated that they are not satisfied with the specific fire certification arrangements that exist currently in the building to allow a continued use for residential accommodation", the department said.

It is understood the 148 residents will be moved out in the coming days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

A fire would spread rapidly through those cubicles. Overcrowded with no modern fire escapes. Full of children . A disaster waiting to happen. As is East Wall .

There is a hotel lying idle in Dublin btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

It'll be aircraft hangers, pallet racking and forklift trucks next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The absolute state of the conditions I’m watching on the news tonight

I have no anger against them but I have for the ones who actively encouraged them to arrive here

Cracks appearing in the narrative.

Aidan Mullins, Sinn Fein Councillor in Portarlington, the new home to 4 Georgian men who were involved in the stabbing incident in the Centre in Killarney.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10227252312031237&id=1162278711

Seven men were granted bail and the Georgian men were then transferred out of Killarney and in to Portarlington. As usual no consultation took place with the local community.

The International Protection Act 2015 is our key piece of Legislation covering our obligations regarding claims for asylum. This Act, among other things, sets out the circumstances under which an application for International Protection is inadmissible and this includes where the person arrived here from a safe country of origin for which there is a designated list.

Georgia is on that list and is deemed to be a safe country of origin and so it is clear from the 2015 Act that these applications for asylum should be declared inadmissible.

So why is our Government not implementing this legislation for applications from Georgia which is a designated safe country and it’s pretty self evident that these are economic migrants?  

My honest opinion? Put them on the next plane home.

P.S. please don’t insult me with comments about racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭jackboy

Good luck to him requesting to get no comment about racism. I assume he will get pressure from the party to make a retraction and apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,226 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

McDonald won't be happy with him breaking rank and speaking his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,226 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Let yer one from the school that was "so angry and cross" take them in.

You know its bad when even O Gorman is saying there will be no place for these economic migrants.

More said from the do gooders about the protests than the dreadful conditions many of the refugees are living in.

Jaysus. You're swrear protesting outside their homes isnt one of the dreadful conditions.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭slay55

Who cares , I think it’s Marvellous

well done to all participating and keep it up :)

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

The government finally seem to be copping on.

Food & clothing vouchers then fend for yourself out there.

The word will go back - don't bother coming to Treasure Ireland, it's full.

Who is 'encouraging' refugees to come here? It would seem a crazy strategy in fact, given the huge accommodation shortages for asylum seekers at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

In what way? I don't recall the Irish government ever sending out a message of 'please come here' to international refugees and asylum seekers (and such a strategy would seem insane at the moment, especially when you see that report about overcrowding on RTE News this evening).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,040 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"Ah sher twill be grand" naive wishful thinking.

The magic housing fairy will find foreveva homes for all..