Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

David Cullinane of Sinn Fein compared it to Irish going to the UK looking to make a living.

The honesty should be respected, but it's also a clear own goal against how DP centers are being used at the minute, as they don't exist to support people who want to find work in Ireland.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,309 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

If hotels throw out thousands of people and we have no houses to put then where will they go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Emergency legislation will be brought in . Hotels will do as they are told .

However this will just mean more asylum seekers arrive every week seeking accommodation. And the problem gets worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭questioner22

To the moralising fools out there who have spent this time calling for continued acceptance of arrivals, pointing fingers, shouting down and labelling any dissenters as xenophobes for daring to mention the realities of our capacity - I hope you are pleased with yourselves.

Too busy getting high off the smell of your own apparently virtuous farts to consider any of the practicalities involved in this situation. I’d well hope ye all have the pull out couches and sleeping bags ready in your living rooms. You are partly to blame for this and the little few of you that aren’t entirely full of shít, I would expect that you will open your homes to any new arrivals lest they are left shivering in the streets.

I’m somehow skeptical that all these supposed humanitarians will do anything other than quietly slink away, satisfied with the bonfire of our infrastructure and public finances they’ve stoked. A great legacy.

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well at least the issue is being spoken about in MSM. Irish Times article on Jury's - tick, radio discussion - tick. etc.

It is subtle, but I reckon the Government are making outrageous statements like Greenie O'Gorman and climate change, you know - to rile us up into outrage. Then a few days later they say we are full, asylum seekers under IP will be on the streets.

I think the liner is turning, as always slowly but it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭jackboy

They will surely do everything to prevent it. If refugees end up on the streets then all the government politicians reputations will be essentially destroyed for life. They may have to go with the far right policy of capping the numbers, which will also ruin their reputations. Other than that, is there a way out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭hawley

How is capping the number of people coming into our country a far right policy?

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Can't believe the craziness.

We are still taking in bus-loads of male migrants from Calais and the Mediterranean.

They need to be told that if they accept Ireland as their destination, they will be living in a tent.

There are literally no other options available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭jackboy

That is widely considered a far right policy. Only very recently politicians who tried to suggest that we need to look at limits as we are at capacity were aggressively shouted down in the Dail and portrayed as racist in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

David Cullinane of Sinn Fein compared it to Irish going to the UK looking to make a living.

I despair, so basically let in anyone who wants to come here, an open door policy.

How is capping the number of people coming into our country a far right policy?

Any kind of sensible idea of not taking in more than we can accommodate is labeled far right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Compulsory Lease Orders on hotels might be next. Emergency legislation in one hour.

Speaking common sense gets you classified as far right these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

Such is the age of wonders that we live in, you don't need to rely on the media framing and editing of what happened last night in Fermoy. You can actually watch the whole incident yourself. Quite a few possible takes on it.

https://twitter.com/IrlagainstFash/status/1616169412955881477

https://twitter.com/EamonnVIDF/status/1616147937410547743

Gino is another story. Most politicians at one time or other must have dreamed of giving up on reelection and just telling their constituents what they think of them.

Gino is living that dream.

https://twitter.com/BligheDerek/status/1614025038201585665

He is behaving like he's given up on getting back in. And it seems to be having a really liberating effect on him.

https://twitter.com/gearoidmurphy_/status/1615083354675707905

Given that it's Gino I'd have my doubts about whether he has received all the threats he claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

It's backfiring on us though, not the govmt. The media are equally complicit and will be learning us by attacking this (i.e. us) from both ends: 

- they'll appeal to our peasant migrant heritage welcoming "our friends from Ukraine", congratulate us for being so "trusting",..

- while simultaneously continually threatening us with <pick your favourites!> if we allow the right-wing extremist element to take root

On the upside, there'll be lots of funding available for creative Historians to start capturing (re-writing) how this caring govmt steered the ship towards "modern Ireland" (now, what are those synonyms for traitor)

This is the kind of success that matters to me and that I've been waiting for.

https://archive.ph/k2V9K

The FG Parliamentary Party meeting last Tuesday.

Calls for a tougher stance to be taken on so-called illegal immigration into the State have been heard at a meeting of Fine Gael politicians, with the issue moving to the centre of the political agenda

Carlow-Kilkenny TD John Paul Phelan - people who arrive and are suspected of having destroyed their papers en route should be “deported immediately”.

deputy leader Simon Coveney also raised concerns about migration

Limerick County TD Patrick O’Donovan - immigration had to be discussed and that Fine Gael should lead on this.

Former minister Regina Doherty, now a member of the Seanad, told colleagues that she was concerned about raising the issue of illegal migration previously, but now felt that she needed to.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar also addressed the issue briefly. He last week told reporters that the Government was discussing “more appropriate and more robust” border controls to combat illegal immigration.

Senator Seán Kyne, who told the meeting that migration issues and controversy over the location of a direct provision centre in his constituency – which ultimately did not go ahead – was a factor in him losing his Dáil seat in 2020.

If protestors were addressing the meeting themselves they couldn't have put the points better.

-----

By the way your (quite correct) point that the protests are "disorganised / as coordinated as a crèche full of babies fumbling about the place" somewhat flies in the face of the mainstream narrative that they are expertly organised by shadowy right wing groups manipulating the misguided locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

That used to be called common sense.

And I don't much care if our politicians are harassed or targeted as I now see them, and history will prove me right, as enemies of our state and our citizens.

And you can include the media in that as well.

Quislings the lot of them.

I am not allowed discuss …

The other, obvious and realistic, option which has already been tried successfully in Denmark is to put time limits on the assistance available to our "refugees". 6 months or a year and then your support is cut off. This flies in the face of EU directives but it hasn't stopped Denmark.

No need to round anyone up and deport them, they deport themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

Guaranteed he and many other of the "Let them In" Crowd would flip very quickly if was suggested that we house them in their Communities.

Emergency legislation brought in to help with an emergency caused completely by government policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Yep . Just like the 6 month eviction ban and countless other examples.

L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

On Monday you have Green Minister for Integration Joe O'Brien saying that we can expect at least the same number of Ukrainians as we had in 2022 and that it is our moral obligation to acommodate them and open a path to permanent citizenship.

On Wednesday we have another Green minister Roderic O'Gorman saying that Citywest is now full and closing and that future arrivals may have to make do with food vouchers and sleeping on the streets.

This is the level of ineptitude we are dealing with. One Green minister saying 70,000 more at least will come next year, a couple of days later another Green minister saying we are full. Do they not even communicate with eachother before talking to the media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

Agreed. If they can tell you that you can no longer evict people from your home. They will gave no problem throwing millions at hotels and telling them to do likewise...

Post edited by Murph85 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,066 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Talking about converting an old factory in Shannon.

Not fit for human habitation says the local Govt TD.

Perfect then says Roderick O'Gorman I'll pack in a couple of hundred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,388 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Denmark has been accused of pursuing openly racist policies against Syrian people by a variety of human rights groups. They appear to be in serious breach of the European Convention on Human Rights but don't even seem to care. It's as if Priti Patel or Suella Braverman is framing their legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,066 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Denmark is very left economically and socially.

You can hardly expect them to take a Reaganomics approach to it.

I am sure the Danes couldn't give a flying fook.

Perish the thought they would in breach of the European Court on Human Rights.

Wasn't that what the British were in breach of when they wanted to extradite that one armed one eyed sicko Abu Hamza al-Masri who preached death to infidels.

Says it all really.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Of course it is only speculation whether the person who struck the undercover Garda was a protester or an agent provocateur.

However it seems unusual that people involved in these protests, who, as the media and posters here have pointed out, are also anti mask, anti lockdown and anti vax, should choose to wear masks. The only individuals wearing masks apart from the undercover Garda.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭LeeroyJ.

The Headline is "Ireland has run out of accommodation" the rest isn't really relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I actually dont accept your suggestion this wasnt all planned, premeditated and coordinated no. The National Party speaker didnt drop in from out of inner space. The National Party leafleting in Ballymun the next day didnt just happen as a coincidence. Sourcing leaflets, getting them printed and paid for, getting volunteers to leaflet Ballymun would all have been well planned and organised beforehand. The "Ballymun says no" didnt drop in from outer space. It would have to be printed and paid for. Nah its clear few people from the National Party riling this up behind the scenes so they could step in with their speaker and their leaflets and their volunteers and their money to order the banner.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet