Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade & Retro Chat' Special Championship Edition

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Yeah Ill just keep my eyes out for a few cheap ones with narrow bezels.

Just be another pointless project I'd like to do 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Hope ye had a good Christmas too

Trip down memory Lane to 1980 Trade SHow in London

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otx_4HAT9_I

• Registered Users Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Anyone have a Steam Deck tried emulation? Birthday coming up in Feb, thinking about getting one for emulating PS2 or Dreamcast at work.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭phily2002

Haven't tried Dreamcast but ps2 and ps3 run great so id imagine Dreamcast would run fine as well

• Registered Users Posts: 10,935 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Very sad that Roger Keane died. One of the men behind Crash magazine (and Zzapp 64) back in the 8bit micro heyday. He only lost his partner and co founder (and artist) Oli Frey a few months back. They had a really interesting life moving from gay interest magazines/art and books to home computing.

I think they both loved the mini resurgence those magazines had in recent years, even appearing back on selected newsagents shelves. RIP.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,963 ✭✭✭Doge

I was thinking the forum change wasn't so bad for mobile users like me, I got my wish of embedding media on mobile without having to use BB code.

Now I just went to enable email alerts for a thread and realized you can't!

You can only enable it for all bookmarked threads. Absolute nightmare!

Does anyone know a workaround?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,541 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I lived for the monthly issues of Crash back in the 80's, it was so much better than the rest of the markets efforts, a magazine with real character. I understand the C64 and Amstrad stablemates were also great, though as a Speccy owner I never read one of those filthy rags...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Enjoy your colour clash you speccyhead. I'll enjoy my hardware sprites with chunky pixels. Just don't mention how badly the C64 handles 3D games or the awful conversion of Chase HQ.

Not the only bad 3d game on the C64. Don't leave out Hard Driving. The programmer apparently walked off, and a new one was hired and coded something in 2 weeks. Not sold as a full price game but part of a compilation.

Atari in Limerick from CR Video Vaults

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EN16MRog38U

• Registered Users Posts: 7,514 ✭✭✭Inviere

Just wondering if anyone here has the ability to burn/supply an Amiga rom chip for me? It's absolutely nuts what has happened with Amiga licensing, and there doesn't appear to be a single legitimate way to buy a license for the version I want....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I’m can probably sort you out with one. What rom is it and which Amiga?

Sad news for the Irish arcade fans

• Registered Users Posts: 10,935 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Fate certainly wasn't kind to them was it. Very sad.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Ah feck sake. Only been down once but it was a cool spot, definitely some class machines there to mix it up. Only heard good things about the guy running it, seems to be a real passion. Wish I got to give Paperboy a go! I wonder what will happen to all the machines.

I'd say Token have the benefit of being a popular spot for food and drinks, myself and the missus like to pop in for food before the cinema. The novelty of their arcade has worn off though. One of their latest additions is some Fast and Furious motorbike game, the sort of modern rubbish you'd see in an arcade casino place.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭frasr

Ahhhh, was planning on going next Saturday...

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭dav09

Cheers folks, I can only take a small amount of credit for it as there was a team of us and lots of staff who made it all work but glad we could bring something unique to the city and country, it was a real passion project. We cycled machines every few weeks so I reckon over 100+ we're in over the 3 years, I usually have a terrible memory but I could probably list every single one of them off.

Keeping some of them running was difficult. Had some greats over the years like having Sega Rally, Daytona 2, Manx TT, Paperboy, Tekken 7, Maimai, Groovecoaster, Elevator Action, Outrun, Chase HQ, The Simpsons, Street Fighter 2-4, Cowboys of Moo Mesa, Vendetta, Star Wars Trilogy, Dariusburst EX, 6 Slot Neo Geo's, Blast City's, R-Type, Ghosts n Goblins (in the 20 Goliath's we had) and tonnes of cool pinball but that's just to name a few.

It would definitely be a shame if this was the end of the road but certainly the end for the time being, but thank you to every single person who supported over the years, it's really much appreciated by everyone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Raging I never had a chance to visit it. Hopefully something works out but if anyone is renting at the moment its hard to keep up with the stupid rents and insurance premiums.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,551 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ah no that's terrible to hear :( I never managed to get down for a visit either.

Sounds like you really had some amazing stuff in over the years. Was it all owned by you guys or did you rotate in bits and pieces from people's own arcade collections?

Thank you. Machine wise it was mostly owned by ourselves, took a small few bits from one or two operators too over the years but it mostly came from each of our own private collections as we are all collectors really, so we could shift things in and out when needed. Would have been happy to do that but I suppose would have been extra responsibility as people break machines sometimes.

Will be selling off quite a bit of my own personal collection shortly now unfortunately.

If you are ever feeling depressed about being stuck in a corporate dead end job then take solace that it could be a lot worse.

Imagine if this was your legacy, your life's work:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,542 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Very sorry to see ye close but, with the way inflation was hitting and especially energy prices, the writing was on the wall.

I was in & out quite a bit and even had my son's 18th in there, think it was actually the 1st event in the function room.

I really feel that ye were dealt a rotten hand by fate. From opening just as COVID kicked off to the current economic shítshow. It must have seemed as if the universe was conspiring against ye.

Great venue, great machines and rotation of same.

One thing that must be very frustrating now that we've made the call to close? Is the number of folk who have said "ah I always meant to go" and so on.

Thanks very much for the support on everything, I remember you being in a couple of times before COVID and during and I was only down briefly for the birthday party night, but seemed like a great night.

Yeah the writing was on the wall unfortunately, I honestly felt like we tried almost everything. We had some great evenings and great months but then followed by more lockdowns and more economic issues, supplier prices rising every week and electricity gone crazy. The way I looked at it was the economy is only going to get worse this year, when you have ECB and IMF sending out warnings along with most economists making negative predictions + our costs were due to rise again in January so yeah, I suppose how long you do give it before calling it a day. Would love to be back in some shape or form, you'd never know, but for now it's just not viable.

Yeah we got loads of those comments, "I never came because of location it's a joke being out there", etc, you'd think we were up in gort or something by some of the haha. 5 min taxi from town, 22 min walk from center O'Cornell street, and 9 min walk from punches bus stop, I think some people always want a reason to moan and make excuses. City center seemed to be a non runner renting that amount of space, you'd need to upmarket the place a lot on the bar and restaurant side to make it viable which I'm not sure we (or certainly I) had the skills to do. Somewhat surprised by the amount of people who said they enjoyed the place, hundreds and hundreds of comments, glad we could make some impact on people, definitely gives some motivation to keep going. Anyway heading to the UK early tomorrow to go to an Arcade trade fair with some of the guys, so where there's a will there's a way but still not fully sure what lays ahead.

Master of the Universe

That's the tricky thing about arcades alright, you need a large location that's conveniently located and that doesn't break the bank rent wise. Unfortunately you can only really ever have two of the above mentioned criteria at once, never all three. Must be a next to impossible task trying to find somewhere.

I want to pick up a psp and get a little Library of games and movies for it.

Whats the going rate now? Because I'll try and pay half that

Have a look at Japanese models on eBay, you'll more than likely get one in far better condition and for cheaper too than you would in here cuckoo land.

Master of the Universe

Ah the PSP, one of those consoles I always forget exists!

Looking back, it really was bizarre where they placed that analog stick. Especially with Sony's D pad generally being absolutely shite.

PSP game prices I heard are starting to go up very quickly. A lot of the best stuff on that console is the weird obscure late life stuff from Japan that got low print runs.