Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle today part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Yup. That was my conclusion when I got home. Pair of those will be going in with the spare tube for next time.

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,835 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

They'll rip when you don't want them to - stick two pairs in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Gorey to Ferns, Scarawalsh roundabout and on to the Enniscorthy bypass. Left turn to Enniscorthy, got a blowout just other Quay. Changed tube out, tyre seemed fine, no sign of anything embedded in it. Across bridge and out the road to Oulart, about 2km out....another blowout. Then it absolutely turned foul weather, a squally downpour with hail and rain that lasted the whole way back to Gorey. When we checked tyre on second puncture, noticed bead was coming away from the sidewall , about quarter of an inch long. The McIvers on the spin, thought of putting a used gel wrap in to stop tube squeezing out of the slit. It held up for about 23 kms back to Gorey. I stayed off the front in case it blew again.

73km , avg 29.4 kmph , 450 meters , pretty cold as we were drenched .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wheelo01

I stayed off the front in case it blew again. @secman

Likely bleedin story 🤣🤣

I think we've all been there, but hey, every day is a learning day, Seth's suggestion of latex gloves help, but if you're a sweaty B like me, it's still hard to get back into the gloves.

@Seth Brundle I saw your photo of today's cycle ~ I think I'm having buyers remorse over the latest Galibier jacket offer 🤣

@Seth Brundle I saw your photo of today's cycle ~ I think I'm having buyers remorse over the latest Galibier jacket offer 🤣

The photo on my Strava ride? Whilst I'll admit that I look gorgeous (in a Pat Mustard kind of way) in my new heather coloured Galibier jacket, it also feels quite lovely too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

Not today's cycles but my last bike adventures. Weeks holiday with the wife in Gran Canaria. Based ourselves out of Maspalomas for the 1st half and rented a couple of bikes from Free Motion. I got a Specialized Tarmac with Rival EPS and the better half who will cycle but refuses to go uphill rented a Specialized Cruz ebike.

First ride was part of a tour organised by Free Motion. 65k with 1300m of climbing. First climb of 6k at 6% followed by a short descent then a 9k climb at 6.3%. Then a rolling descent the whole way home. Weather was perfect; mid 20s and blue skies. I've never cycled climbs that long before. They're pretty hard to find in Ireland. So I took the pace pretty easy as I didn't want to blow up. Probably had a bit more to give but it was a fantastic day in the saddle, the scenery is amazing and climbing and descending mountain roads full of switchbacks was a whole new experience. Especially descending! My bike handling definitely needs some improvements!

Morning Ride | Ride | Strava

For our second cycle it was just the 2 of us. So I planned an 85k route with 1800m of climbing. Bit of light gravel thrown in for good luck. The wife's battery on her bike died just as we reached the summit of the main climb so it was an interesting 2nd half trying to nurse her home. We had to do some walking on a couple of the steeper ramps as like I mentioned earlier, she is not one for the climbs.

GC Cycle #2 | Ride | Strava

Overall a great experience. Free Motion were top notch as was the tour guide. Amazing cycling. Views were incredible. Wife also really enjoyed it which will definitely make it easier to plan another holiday like this. Only downside was my Karoo2 lost GPS before the top of the mountain on both days so that is the reason for no KOMs. Also passed by Pavel Sivakov and Lauren De Plus on some training spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭cletus

IMG-20221126-WA0000.jpg

---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭cletus

I like that colour

I took a bit of a wandering commute this morning giving me a few extra Kms. Although it was mostly uneventful, I did see three buzzards on the ground in short grassland on the top of Lyons Hill. Not sure were they eating worms or what as they were maybe 50-100m apart.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

heavy legs this morning on a spin out to howth, but on the way out, a crow dropped what i think was a mussel onto the cycle path about 30 or 40m n front of me, from about 5 or 10m up, and swooped down and picked it up and flew off with it.

also, i see that famous church between sutton and howth has knocked what i would suspect is a new car entrance into their grounds.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

looking at street view, the irony is that they seem to have taken out the pedestrian entrance

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3906366,-6.0862947,3a,75y,194.82h,75.85t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sUchsN60NIWRpBFV_D0mikQ!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

They applied for PP, no record of it being approved though

95C841A4-7341-40CB-8A84-BBE103849202.jpeg

Got out at 7am for three hours yesterday. Have been doing a lot of reading on zone 2 work of late so am going to try and do a good bit of endurance base work at this zone this winter. Problem is I'm 87kg and I picked a hilly route so spinning up steep hills at 230w is not easy.

First hour in darkness but unusually for this winter, the roads were very dry and it was remarkably still. Nothing beats being out on a beautiful winter's morning, especially in that first hour after the sun rises. So peaceful and so good for the head. I loved every second of it despite a poor sleep the night before.

Zone 2 is easy in theory but it requires constant pressure on the cranks and there are no breaks at all in the ride. However, there is no real fatigue afterwards and none of that fuzzy feeling you get after going hard when all you want to do is flop on the couch. Not an option as wife was heading away for the day and I was holding the fort.

Nearly taken out by a white van (always a white van!), who just drove out in front of me, on a roundabout close to home but didn't let that spoil things. Driver apologised which made for a change.

Overall, 82k with nearly 1,000m of up at 27kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Endurace spin here too, headed out for 8:30 meeting up in Walkinstown. Headed for Newcastle, Lyons estate to Ardclough, across to Maynooth and out to Summerhill. Back via Straffan, Clane, Celbridge. Back to Newcastle,Saggart and home.

113 kms 550mtrs and 27.5kph avg.

Felt tired from 90kms onwards after we did a 1km rollover into a headwind for about 10 kms. 3 of us in total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭DrumcDub1

Any recommendations for good pieces to read up on Z2?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Had a great 2 hours around mid Meath. Tara, Trim, Summerhill, Drumree, Dunsaughlin and back to the start.

Pitch black by the end and roads around a few farms, like warrenstown, were pretty mucky.

Lovely spin, really have to wash the bike after it though, smells of cow shite

Had a plan to head up to Sally via Ballinascorney & Bohernabreena to complete my weekly distance and elevation targets.

Crossing Seskin towards Brittas, the rain was torrential. My overshoes were beaten and my feet soaked and starting to get cold. The rivers of rainwater coming down the hill reduced the available road-space. Then the feckin hailstones came. It was bad enough having them belting me in the face but they built up on the road where there wasnt flowing water.

By the time I was near the top of Ballinascorney, the hail had covered the entire road with the occasional passing car cutting grooves into the mush. However, it felt like it was starting to harden and I figured that while the rest of the uphill would be ok, going downhill would be quite risky. I decided to knock my plan on the head, turn around and just do some smaller hills.

By the time I finished, it was 70km with 1100m at a slow 22km/h but given that my feet were saturated and numb, I think I did ok. More importantly, I met my targets for this week!

While out, I passed four others as stubborn as myself (2 solos and a pair) - not sure if they're from around these parts but fair play to ye!

https://strava.app.link/KTm6pD2puvb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,924 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

The Lamb is a small hill now is it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭JMcL

You'll find some good material on Trainerroad blogs, e.g. https://www.trainerroad.com/blog/endurance-training-for-cyclists-where-zone-2-fits-in-your-training-plan/ - just bear in mind they are trying to flog you their service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

I was due for a jaunt yesterday with a mate but we both chickened out, I ventured out today as the forecast did predict any rain even though the roads were saturated from recent rain. About 20K in around Slane the rain started, last about 20 mins and I was properly wet, I could feel the feet were soaked and getting a bit cold. I ventured on as my core temp was still ok as long as I kept working. About 15k from home my hands became very cold and weak. Got home nicely cold, took about 15 mins to warm back up. Not sure there will be much more cycling this week. My Garmin failed to register the climbing number, it registered just under 300m but when I corrected it with Strava it was over 600m. Poor Garmin felt the cold too!

My Garmin failed to register the climbing number, it registered just under 300m but when I corrected it with Strava it was over 600m. Poor Garmin felt the cold too!

When I was out yesterday, my Garmin slowed down when it was at ablout 230m. By the end of the spin it was telling me that I had climbed 380m and although I knew I had done more, I didn't have a ballpark in my head of how much more. It turned out to be 1100m, which was a nice surprise.

Maybe Santy will bring me a new Garmin that can do what it is meant to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

Im blaming the cold, I only got the 530 this year and hope it was a glitch. I'd prefer a Varia instead of having to replace it

Headed out into a cold morning and got almost 1km from home when my rear derailleur cable popped out of the shifter. Its a new cable so may have stretched recently. When I was looking at it, I noticed that my BB is on its way out so made my way back home. I threw the bike onto the car and brought it up to my LBS who will fix both issues today/tomorrow (if they have the same bracket in stock).

Popped onto my ~15kg hybrid and headed off to work. Depending on time later, I might take it up around the Saggart hills on my way home.

Bugger - just got a call - turns out the BB shell has come apart 😖

you're clearly putting out too much power.

frame is totalled?

I collected the bike from the LBS and managed to get it in to Carbontec in Palmerstown who will look after it. The BB shell came loose but he reckons a new one can be put in once he cleans the frame, etc.

Had it come to it, I don't think herself would be impressed with me buying another bike this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭JMcL

We're down a car this week, so I needed to pick up the wife's at lunchtime from her work to do taxi of dad later on. Short flat 12km spin into town to do so, but oh was it brass monkeys. Temperature about 2-3 degrees to start with but a stiff northerly breeze managed to drop that a few degrees in feel. I honestly think it's the first time I've felt cold in a Mistral

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Nice 25k around the Bohernabreena reservoirs at lunch. Cold starting out but great cycling weather once warmed up. Thinking about putting the ice tyres on for the weekend.

20221208_132146.jpg