If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,091 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Depends though if they're in separate sacks there's no rush. Had a cow last spring had a Friesian heifer one morning around 10am, cleaned. Next morning a second heifer calf with her in shed.

I imagine it's more expensive but I haven't decided what I'll do yet as I outwinter everything now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Best texts ever 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭148multi

Look on the bright side, you won't need to buy air freshener 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,238 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

F49F9973-EAFE-4478-8860-F8307E17C1AD.jpeg

Obviously eamo got enough of a break from selling us down the eco river to get out and get burned like a lobster on the Egyptian beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭farmertipp

did he get the go ahead to sign us up for various commitments like he wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,091 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The matt Hancock of Irish politics

at least Hancock wouldn't be blaming farmers for everything. at a kerry meeting on latest rules for next year a farmer said 10 of his neighbours had their septic tanks inspected recently and all 10 have to fix their tanks. makes you wonder between septic tanks and councils discharging effluent and Irish water discharging sludge how much all these contribute to water pollution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Awh lads, just after realising that agricultural relief is calculated on the beneficiaries assets, not the inheritance itself.

That means I'm gonna have a huge tax bill. I hope it's another 25 years before that time comes but during that time I'll have a house of my own, and cash and it'll be more than 20% of the farm value I think.

Does anyone know if I can buy land and machinery without being a farmer? I don't have herd number but will have green cert.

Just trying to think of the best way to set things up. Would joint herd number be good or what are the benefits and disadvantages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,607 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Business Relief is similar and easier to comply with re your own assets.

You should look it up and work towards that if Agri Relief doesn't suit

That's really helpful, thanks!

But would the farmhouse and machinery be included in that?

I don't know but the general opinion is that it's easier complied with than Agri Relief regarding your assets.

Agri machinery has to be included , eg if you were transferring a joinery the machinery would surely be included,

It'd be worth your while talking to your accountant sooner rather than later and not be snookered at the last minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,238 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I've decided to let the beneficiaries worry about the tax,

There's that many broken marriages now you couldn't plan anything, so feck it

Passed the QA inspection today, scored 97% I'd say she was the most particular inspector we ever had, nothing would get by her.

Some of the criticisms.

1There's supposed to be a spraying health and safety statement in the pesticide store.

2 Empty spray cans have to be triple rinsed crushed and a hole drilled in them.

3 We recorded buying the enzovax and toxovax but forgot to record vaccinating the ewes

for all the difference it makes to the price at the end of the day its a lot of hassle

After losing the tunnel roof I almost lost the drone to a dodge battery today, was flying it over an estuary when all the alarms went haywire, got it to dry land by the skin of my teeth. Could have been an expensive week 😲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭Jb1989

When the factory animals are plentiful , it means a big difference.

Processors insist on QA and then insult us with a bonus...... Our producer group insists on QA---

Dept are going to insist on it in the new beef schemes now, we were warned at the CAP meeting last night not to let it lapse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

It's hard to get cattle into the factory without QA and in reality it's not that big of an issue. Every auditor needs to find 1 or 2 things to put you down on they can't be giving out 100% all over the place. Had a real sound lad here one time and he more or less said to me give 1 thing that isn't right that I can dock you marks on. Told him there is no record for any cat medication, so he was happy out. I see in the Mart even forward FR stores are making about 20 cent / kg if they are QA.. think its for the Northern market.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

QA is becoming more of a selling point for forward stores. A man that buys locally for a factory feed lot told me recently he got strict instructions to not send them anything out of a non QA herd. He'd have other jobs for non QA stock but at a different price of course.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Anyone have a subscription for The Currency?

Seems Justin McCarthy leaving the IFJ has a backstory: https://thecurrency.news/articles/101855/fighting-over-the-farm-an-ill-fated-dairy-farm-and-a-departing-irish-farmers-journal-editor/

"When the Bellair Estate in Offaly came on the market late last year with an asking price of over €5 million, the Irish Farmers’ Journal said it was a “wonder to behold”. It noted that the 345-acre farm had a commercial dairy operation, plus a “stunning” and “exquisite” period house with an indoor swimming pool. It was “an uncommon combination of assets”, the Journal reckoned.

Journalists at the newspaper might never have guessed that their own boss might think the Journal should buy it. Yet the purchase of Bellair Estate, to be used as a research farm and the newspaper’s…"

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Must've thrown the toy's out of the pram.

A journalist told us last night justin is still CEO

It seems to say individual asset transfers aren't included, and gives an example where one nephew got land and the other got machinery. The land would count as business relief and machinery wouldn't.

So I think it sounds that if say, machinery was transferred to a member of family, if the value added to over 10% it would count as business relief but if it was valued at less than 10% of the total business, it wouldn't.

Example Business Relief Allowed

Under his will a deceased farmer left all of his farmland to one particular nephew and left his farm implements and machinery to another nephew. The farmland comprised 268 acres and was valued at €207,000.

The farm implements and machinery, which were old and largely obsolete, were valued at €2,000. The nephew who inherited the farmland was not previously a farmer. On inheriting the farmland he started to farm the land.

The question to be determined is whether the nephew who inherited the farmland had inherited property consisting of a business or interest in a business which qualified for business relief or whether he had merely inherited an individual asset (farmland) used in the business which did not qualify for business relief.

On these facts, the nephew who inherited the farmland should not be refused Business Relief because the farm implements and machinery (valued at less than 10% of the value of the land) were not transferred with the land. The nephew who inherited the farm implements and machinery is not entitled to Business Relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

If you’re married - then wouldn’t it be half of everything (house + cash) would be used as the comparison against the farm value.

I don’t know the rules around it - but could you transfer some of the farm now. Transfer enough to come under the ag relief rules. Then, in time, transfer the rest - would the value of the bit transferred now work to your advantage in the calculations in years to come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,857 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I never worry about minor issues in the QA. Usually hit mid/ high eighties. Arriving at the gate the first thing he misses seeing is the QA sign. He arrives in the yard with a smile. He is happy he is marking down from 99%.

I will have my medicines and feed book up to date, herd register right etc.

Best I heard was an ag college who went to extreme lenghts. Everything was perfect. A cat ran accross the yard and the inspector mentioned ''she helps with the rats I suppose''.

The herd manager replied ''yes'' and the Inspector looks for a vaccination record, Got ya 99%.

Slava Ukrainii