Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

The experience gleaned for some of the lads will be invaluable. I think that was Timoneys 1st start? So he's been involved for a while now and he knows the systems. I wouldn't be bothered at all if he got game time in the 6nations. Same goes for Casey! I'd like to give him a run out this week. He needs the minutes and experience. These 2 are in no way world class but, they can raise their games with opportunities. Ithink Loughman gets into the squad this week. He is becoming a very good player. Deegan too could play this week, a start for him would be ideal to see where he's at.

This week there was Lougjman, Ringrose, Carberry and Timoney all who played u20's for Ireland in 2015. I mention this as I think that years squad was fairly meh. That's good output for a u20 side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Ruaidhri O'Connor reporting that Sexton and Carbery are both injury doubts for this weekend, along with JVDF, Porter, Keenan, Ryan, Henshaw and JOB.

Could be a big game for Crowley!

Also shows the cost of a match v the Springboks...

Ehhh, wow. That's too many losses for us to cope with imo, though having said that who knows what Aus will show up.

I think the Aussies will be formidable. They rotated heavily against Italy, so their first choice team will be relatively fresh and stinging from the criticism from this weekend.

Are we adding players to the squad?

Will be interesting to see who gets the call to come in as the next out half if it is the case that all of Sexton, Carbery and Frawley are hurt. Will we see one of Ross Byrne, Jack Carty or Billy Burns backing up Jack Crowley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,103 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Also shows the cost of a match v the Springboks...

Carbery and JOB got head injuries against Fiji, Henshaw didn't even play against SA. Vdf and Keenan were carrying injuries already. And if we were worried about Ryan and Sexton picking up knocks, we'd never run a training session let alone a test match.

Be grand, I'd expect nearly all of them to line out against Oz. The HIA guys probably won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

I wasn't saying that they all picked up injuries from the South Africa game. Regardless, if 4 frontline players (Sexton, Keenan, JVDF and Ryan) are out of action after the game, that pretty substantial.

It just shows the kind of toll we can expect after meeting them in the world cup, and further underlines the importance of recent efforts to build depth in key positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,378 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Hansen, Sheehan, Capuozzo and Arundell are the shortlist for the World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year.

I'd give it to Sheehan, but it's most likely going to the Italian.

I don't see what Capuozzo has done to warrant it at all - he's looked good, but two 6 Nations appearances (one off the bench) and a good performance in the autumn against the Aussies shouldn't be enough. Same with Arundell, has barely played a meaningful game for England.

They'll likely give it to Capuozzo for political reasons to help grow the game in Italy, but to me on merit it should go to Sheehan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

It shouldnt be but like you said for political reasons he probably will win it. If there was any justice it would go to Sheehan.

The media lost all kind of objectivity long ago, if you swapped us with France and we had the performances France had against those 2 teams those same people would be saying its a sign that Ireland are peaking too soon...the irony but they wont say the same thing about France as they appear to be everyone's 2nd team so any kind of objectivity goes out the window.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I think by its very definition "breakout player" does not necessarily have to rely on extensive game time.

Sheehan was a better player potentially and certainly played consistently at a higher level, but in just two games Capuozzo had a massive impact on turning around the fortunes of Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭TRC10

It's interesting that South Africa only sustained one injury in that game, whereas half of our team seems to have been decimated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭crossman47

Do you not regard Grand Slams and championships as trophies? I do - they're well worth winning in their own right as winning the world cup will be very, very difficult. I wouldn't put reaching the final, or indeed the semi final, as more important than winning either or both next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Irish Rugby doesn't seem to agree with ROCs worries anyway.

Joey has returned to Munster. No outhalf has been called up in his stead.

Joe McCarthy has completed his RTP protocols and joins up with the squad.

JOB is expected to be able to return to train tomorrow.

Aki is back(i)

Porter, Sexton, Ryan, VDF and Keenan "will be monitored across the early part of the week and re-integrated into training according to their individual management plans."

Interesting that Coombes has not been called back up.

And for the (admittedly limited) outrage Milnes call up got - he is not listed with the squad this week

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Given the fact that Henshaw lasted all of 4 minutes on Saturday , Aki being back allows him toget properly sorted.

Suspect we'll start with McCloskey and Ringrose with Aki on the bench, which probably means JOB missing out and Carbery/Crowley on the bench.

Tbh as long as Sexton and to a lesser extent Keenan is fit I think we should be fine. The rest of those players while quality players the replacement playing I don't think would be the winning or losing of the game.

Interesting that no back up 10 has been called up considering that Sexton is a doubt...that may indicate they are confident he'll be fit to play.

Yeah, agreed. My too early team prediction would be:

Keenan, Baloucoune, Ringrose, McCloskey, Hansen, Sexton, Gibson Park, Porter, Sheehan, Furlong, Beirne, Ryan, O'Mahony, VDF, Doris.

Reps: Herring, Loughman, Bealham, Henderson, Deegan, Casey, Crowley, Aki.

Potential changes to this: Timoney for VDF if he isn't healthy, possibly Henderson for Ryan with Treadwell on the bench if Ryan isn't healthy. Wouldn't shock me either if Bealham started given he was rested entirely last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

Yeah you'd imagine they are confident Sexton will make it. Either that or Lowry is getting reps as backup 10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,103 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Obviously there isn't really any concern over Sexton.

Expect Aki to slot straight back in but it would be very harsh on McCloskey.

Post edited by Former Former Former on

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Baloucoune will need a big game I think as his chances to impress his way onto the plane for the WC are running out, assuming Lowe is back soon and Stockdale hasn't been completely jettisoned.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He's just never going to get a cap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

Wrong thread

At this stage Frawley is just so injury prone you'd have to wonder if he'll ever have a chance to play up to his potential. This feels never ending now. Must be immensely frustrating for him.

Real shame about Martin Moloney as well, he'd been making a good impact this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I think it's more about being able to win knock games. It's a different type of pressure from the 6 Nations, or a tour. Until we do, it's always going to be a stick used to beat us. Any Welsh fan can rightly point out that no matter how garbage they've been over the last decade +, they've played in two semis, and should've prob won both.

(massive deja vu with this post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭snotboogie

A 3rd choice Munster outhalf getting game time for Ireland sounds extraordinary but the two best 10 prospects since JJ, arguably since O’Gara, have broke through at the exact same time, it’s a very unique situation. Also JVG, contrary to both Rowntree and Farrell, didn’t seem to rate Crowley, which held him back a lot last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,004 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Carbery and Henshaw out.

Crowley starting would be very exciting to see. But it's likely Sexton will have recovered as no rep has been called up for Carbery.

https://www.the42.ie/henshaw-carbery-ireland-wallabies-5919404-Nov2022/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Jaysus! Let the bodies hit the floor! This is good, it will test depth and the other players.

A win this week would be nice. Not the end of the world though if we lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I'd prefer to see Ringrose get a rest and put McCloskey and Aki in together, GR on bench to cover wings and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,004 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Interestingly Australia are in somewhat of a similar boat with their depth at outhalf.

Noah Lolesio is 22 years of age but has 16 caps already. It didn't go well for him v Italy. Rennie made 12 changes to the team that played against France and gave a debut to another outhalf, Ben Donaldson, with 5 mins left and 6 points behind.

Rennie's preference is Cooper (35 at RWC) but he's injured with a serious achilles injury. Foley (34 at RWC) is his other option.

Rennie is getting serious stick after the Italy loss with allot of critics pointing the finger at the young No.10 and saying that Rennie hasn't given him enough exposure!