General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Good shout there,

They are getting out at the top of where they can take Liverpool without spending there own money something which they have never done, ( nothing wrong with that)

I wonder would such a statement come out without them already having a few offers in advanced discussion ,

Be very amateur thing to do business wise to make such statement & then be left with a club people know your willing to sell,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭adaminho

What's the story with "Super Sunday " this weekend? There are better games on the Saturday, is it just Sky getting their have to cover everyone games out of the way?

Edit. Just realised that both Utd and Villa are playing in the league Cup on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

Can someone explain why Cancelo is serving his ban in the Carabou Cup match and Dalot is serving his ban in the league? Has there been a round played in this already? And are Utd out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Bluebb993

Good question. Dalot picked up 5 yellows in the leauge so must only count leauge games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,876 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Dalot has a suspension for accumulating 5 yellow cards in the league, so he is suspended in the league.

Cancelo was a professional foul & red card in a game so he misses the next available domestic game.

That's my understanding of it.

But Dalot gets his punishment in the competition he carried out the crime in. Why doesn’t Cancelo? Seems very strange…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Ralph is a great guy and a top class coach. It's okay to say that now he's been sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,042 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

It does stop the potential situation where player X (on 4 yellows) deliberately gets their fifth yellow card before a cup game - happy to miss that cup game and be back to zero again for the league. Seems sensible enough that way.

Presumably no-one deliberately gets a red card and it doesn't have any potential advantage, so there's no need to have a special rule there.

Broadcast revenue fell by £50m, as it will for most PL clubs, yet Man City commercial revenue increased.

Mad how they have a Matchday revenue on par with Man United but the eye test will tell you they don't have close to the same number of fans attending.

As you said, those people buying tickets yet don't show up for the games must contribute an awful lot. Very generous fans they have. Pay for the tickets, but don't go to the game.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.” ― George Orwell, 1984.

Sportswashing is winning. The evil people are winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Ryanair must have scrapped the Jeddah to Manchester flights.

Only explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Not a dig a you but just on the whole general sports washing thing. What does it actually achieve? If you didn’t know what odious regimes the Qataris and Saudis run, if you didn’t know about the misogyny, homophobia, Middle Ages never mind Middle East work practices, you certainly do now.

To me sportswashing is counter productive. My advice would be to save their money for the extra camels they will need when the oil runs out. I think it’s great that Europeans and Yanks are milking them and then buying bigger houses and sports cars over here.

Considering the counter productive effect it has, I have always assumed it is just an ego trip for obscure sheiks to appear on tv with world famous sports people and to think they are ‘friends’ with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

It is working as they have fans of Man City and Newcastle backing them all over online and such. Qatar have paid fans from each country now to appear in promotional stuff for the World Cup and to post only positive stuff online about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Pep giving out about the World Cup schedule, the guy has some neck.

He was instrumental in Qatar getting the World Cup, he was an ambassador for them at the time Barcelona were at their peak.

It distorts competitions that have evolved organically. The owners of these clubs are people presiding over murderous regimes and clubs owned by them are tainted because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Of course it works, these guys are not throwing hundreds of millions at the clubs for the craic.

Saying it doesn't work is like the tobacco companies or alcohol companies saying that them spending on advertising doesn't influence potential customers.

These guys are not stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,758 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

It boils my p**s hearing Pep come out with that. He should have been called out on it...

https://www.reuters.com/article/ozasp-soccer-world-qatar-guardiola-20100-idAFJOE61I02J20100219

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,029 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

A lot of Spurs fans seam fed up with Conte , have they thought who would take over ?

Another Nuno - would the likes of Tuchel really be better.

It’s the Carabou Cup but I see Lisandro Martinez is wearing the poppy. Wounded how that does down in Argentina…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

This and it drowns out the bad noise online about these countries. Type "saudi arabia" into google and look at the links/news articles, among all the horrible sh1t they do you'll see stuff about Newcastle, Tyson Fury, WWE, some Tennis match, the Spanish super cup, etc. Muddy the waters enough, distract from the real story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Same about Abu Dhabi /Dubai, high class hotels, Grand Prix, shopping, celebs, Man City, great bunch of lads.

Of course it works.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I doubt very much that anybody there even thinks about it. It's a British thing and we only know so much about it because we're next door to them and we watch their TV and read their newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

What do you guys think of the World cup squad

I think Toney should have went, id have had him in over Wilson for his peno's alone ,Id have probably brought JWP for the same reason given English frequency of having shootouts,

CB options are all pretty poor bar Stones , so nothing really surprising ,

Personally i thought Tyrick Mitchell would get a call due to lack of left backs, I'd have brought him over Coady or Dier seen as Walker & White can play CB , I also thinks calls like that are need to give players hope in future tournaments that you can be the surprise call up

Crazy to think Sancho has not been picked & there no fuss about it, He really has fallen off a cliff ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Esse85

Toney is the only one for me, especially as he was in a recent squad. Wilson/Rashford haven't done enough and are too injury prone. Other than that, no real surprises. Players have every chance to make the squad given its a 26 man squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,111 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Toney is definitely the odd omission alright - if Kane goes off, they basically have to change how they play now. I'd still have Wilson there I think, but he's a different kind of striker, and ideally you need a backup for Plan A - especially when your Plan A involves a fella who looks as tired as Kane does right now. Having Toney in the squad would let them swap out a reasonably like-for-like big man to build play around.

The list of CBs is well off, wouldn't have Maguire or Dier near it, while Tomori and Tarkowski are in much better form. But he's a great man for loyalty, so it's no surprise really.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Toney is being investigated for gambling on games and is assisting the FA with there enquiries.

The English tabloids do love to find a scandal when the national team are at finals.

That could be a reason to leave him out.

You'd have to wonder about the timing of the Toney gambling thing.

The charge is related to bets he placed before he moved to Brentford, so it must be 3 years ago and has been ongoing for 7 months.

Why did the story get leaked now, a week or two before the WC squad gets announced? Maybe another player had something to gain from it? I feel sorry for him in that sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

“I have lived there, they were very persistent, and because of the way they looked after me I decided to accept,”

Im sure they looked after you allright Pep, just like you are being looked after at City, wink wink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭chicorytip

If Calvert-Lewin was fit he would have been included. He's a better all round player than Toney. I don't rate Maddison highly. He'll be lucky to get much game time. Maguire will obviously be a first choice. This brings risks, of course. I'm surprised he didn't include another centre back, one with pace like Tomori or Mings. Both of those are an upgrade on Coady who should be nowhere near an international squad.