Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Met Sonia O’Sullivan a few times over the last few years at a mobile home park in Kerry (I think the Mobile Home she stays at is shared among her family)

Incredibly down-to-earth I have to say. Is in insane shape for 52 years old

Her husband a nice guy too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Wouldn't have thought Big Joe gained celebrity status but I did meet him about 15 years ago and even sold him a van. To be honest, I found him to be very decent and spent about 2 hours talking boxing with him after the deal was done ( and yes it was cash boss, a big adidas bag full of cash 😁). He left me a nice tip too.. Serious pair of paws on the man though.. I definitely wouldn't like to be on the receiving end of a slap from them at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

As I was writing I remembered a friend jokingly saying he was star struck when he seen him at a Cemetery Sunday. Still he does have a song written about him:

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Meet them frequently as well as international celebs, spent a few hours mackerel fishing off the rocks in Clare with a well know American actor a few years ago. He hadn't the right gear but I helped him set up with what I was using. He went home with four mackerel. A few Hollywood stars like to stay in North Clare during the summer's and fall, as a few of them have access to property up there. Whats his name has a house.

Nobody batts an eyelid, we're aquatinted with the more sober and humble celebs. None of your trash you'd see craving attention like getting on the rags you'd see on the shelves of newsagents, instafuck etc.

Irish celebs and International can often be seen sipping on a refreshment and eating in ...... They also like having breakfast in ....... on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

A few supermodels from London used to frequent the flaggy shore, and could be seen walking barefoot on Fanore beach. You'd want to be a right ghoul to take a picture of them or look for a selfie and post it for a few likes... they would appreciate solitude and anonymity.

The majority of them are more like working class people or upper classes both seem to get each other's humor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Do you look in to the distance with the wind blowing your hair, your eyes bleached by the North Clare sun in the "fall" & tell these supermodels how windswept & interesting you are?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,574 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a friend used to live in newtownmountkennedy, and was related the tale once by the lady who runs the indian takeaway there of getting an order for delivery from the day lewises. she dropped it out herself, and was met by daniel day lewis, dressed as abraham lincoln, and who did not break character once during the short transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

First one to meet was Miley from Glenroe, was at the ploughing championship with my grandfather. Seemed pleasant.

Got autographs from Roy and Robbie Keane, Hart and McCarthy in 2002 I think.

Seen but didn't meet Ardel O'Hanlon in Barcelona.

Met Shane Lynch in Mondello Park, absolute car nut and friendly. Asked some questions about my car and had to show him the engine. My brother met him multiple times too and gets along well with him.

Dáithí Ó Shea is an absolute prick. Was in Supermacs in Gort one night, so rude to the girl behind the counter, skipped the queue, shouting do you know who I am. Gobshite.

Met Sharon Shannon when I was a kid walking with my bro and dog. Very friendly, wanted to pet dog. I hadn't a clue who the hell she was.

Gabriel Byrne lived back the road from my grandparents before I was born. Supposed to be really friendly back then.

Jimmy Carr not technically Irish but has Irish roots. Made fun of me while asking for a light in Galway. Definetly my favourite.

Arcade fire was at Morans, The Weir in Galway, one night I was there 8 or 9 years ago. Didn't go over to them

Im about as interesting now as an obscure sea thrift on the edge of the Atlantic. I'm as dull as a damp day in ballythehob.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

Not sure about his family background but my parents used to hang out with Michael D in college. He was the first person they met after they got engaged and they went on the tear I think. My mother was telling me they used to go for a feed in the Galleon in Salthill and then go into the toilets and climb out the window so they did not have to pay. So, maybe more truth to the story than you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

lol... you just lean on your shillelagh, take a puff on your pipe and slowly shake your head... "celebrity"

And they're wondering did they see a well fed stumpy leprechaun or elf, I'd be wearing an I shot Jr t-shirt too.... copying your man from Fr Ted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Aidan Walsh! As mad as several boxes of frogs with colourful balloons attached.

Used to see him a lot when we used to practice in Temple Bar studios back in the 80's, but never talked to him.

I was suited and booted and killing some time in a charity shop on Camden St. when he walks in.

"Ah there you are! I always new you'd make it big!" he says to me, we chatted for ages. I think he I thought I was someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,354 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

A few international soccer players, grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,155 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

"I run 60 miles a week faster than 95% of the Irish population"

#AccidentalPartridge

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

Keith Duffy - seemed polite and nice

Brendan Grace - gent

Ronan O'Gara twice - nob both times

Donnacha O'Callaghan - nice guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,988 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Keith Duffy I always thought would be a prick but in real life he’s actually a very nice person. Zero ego from what I’ve witness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Demonique

Briefly met Stanley Townsend in the abbey theatre bar after his play Solar Bones (which he won best actor at the irish theatre awards for), he seemed nice

Most of his TV work seems to be in the UK, he was in Andor a couple of days before I saw Solar Bones and he voiced giant space tortoise Nakmor Drack in Mass Effect Andromeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Made some small talk with Jimmy White in a pub where he was playing a pool exhibition last year - polite and friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭adaminho

My dad played against Jimmy a few years ago in an exhibition match after not playing for years. Jimmy came up to him afterwards on beating him 104-4 and said it was the best frame of the night as my dad didn't " try not to snooker me all night to not get hammered!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Yes he is - i made an exception for Jimmy as he is very popular in Ireland and plays exhibitions here regularly.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

A friend went to a signing by Brian O Driscoll when his autobiography came out. Unlike myself this fella is a huge rugby fan but he said Dricco was a moody tosser, they were instructed beforehand not to speak to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Odd. He was always friendly after matches, signing autographs for kids, getting in selfies, etc. And on a night out once he embarrassed a relation of mine whose birthday it was, after he'd been told she was a fan and it was her birthday, by coming over and posing for photos with her. Did see him coming in through airport security once, and he kept a phone to his ear at all times, probably to keep people from hassling him.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭easygoing39

When I drove a taxi I picked up

Gavin Friday of The Virgin Prunes and droped him at the gate's of Bono's gaff at 2am--a very nice bloke.

Michael D Higgins,from Hueston Station to his Dublin apartment in D2-- sound as a pound,chatty.

Joan Burton,from the Dail to her house.She introduced herself as soon as she got in the back,again very chatty and nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,992 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Niall Quinn - Sound.

John OShea (footballer) - Really sound, amiable type.

Paddy Casey - gas fella , seemed a bit insecure/worried about his performance in the gig he had just played.

Hector - was sound - Told him we had a dog called Hector - he asked 'has it won anything?' - we said 'no, its a collie'

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

I’m going to call bullshït on this one, dude. It’s widely known that Brian O’Driscoll is a famously nice and decent fellow and the idea that an audience would be told not to speak to him is preposterous. Especially at the launch of his book!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I dont place a great deal of faith in the veracity of your claims dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I despise rugby and everything about it but I have to concur, by all accounts “Drico” is a sound sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

Jack Charlton back in the 90s at the great southern in eyre square a galway. A lovely person

bono outside his house gates said good morning and thanks for being a fan.

t tiernan many times in Galway always seems sound but as someone else says here a sense of sadness off him.

sean kelly as sound a person you’d meet.

hector met him in a gym I worked in

greeted him introducing myself and said if he wanted anything to ask for me. Asked him his own name and he looked at my like I was talking the p1ss.

I hadn’t recognised him straight off but that did him no harm. He was sound enough.