Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At the end of my tether with gear shifting issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭standardg60

Cadburys someone said earlier, it is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Reading through that briefly there I'd put it down to user error to some degree. The face of the chain ring is badly worn, I'm not sure I've seen one that bad before.

Take a look at your front mech and make sure it's indexing out far enough to not cause any chain rub which could be the reason for the wear on the chain ring if it's not allowing the chain to move out far enough. Obviously as the outer wears on the chain ring then it will allow the chain to ride up onto the teeth an inevitably fall onto the inner ring.

Also embrace the inner ring, the amount of lads I see in a 53-25 or greater on some spins is ridiculous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

as mentioned by iwillhtfu though, cross chaining does imply failure to use the small ring (or vice versa); which will increase wear because you're generally expecting one ring to take most of the load instead of sharing it between the two.

Actually got chastised for cross chaining from some club emblazoned know it all on a charity cycle recently. I have a really low cadence preference so the big ring suits me, and would only be cross chaining for short inclines.

If i have to replace the big chainring more often so be it, F the begrudgers :-).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Sure knees are overrated anyway 🤷‍♂️ I mean who will need them when they're older😂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

True but in the grand scheme of things with modern chainsets, I imagine the difference is not of great concern for most riders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,307 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Is it a compact chain set? I find a compact “encourages” cross chaining as the difference between the large and small chainrings is significant. Example…it takes effort/ thought to change from a 50x25 to something like a 36x14 or whatever. Also if you believe the “experts”, a large sprocket/large chainring is more efficient than a small chainring/small sprocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭JMcL

Take a look at your front mech and make sure it's indexing out far enough to not cause any chain rub which could be the reason for the wear on the chain ring if it's not allowing the chain to move out far enough

I would imagine in that case the derailleur cage would disintegrate before anything. I do remember this happening on a bike I had when I were a lad - back when the world wide web was a mere glint in Tim Berners Lee's eye, books on bike maintenance in rural Donegal were hard to come by and, more pertinently, I hadn't the first clue about how to go about adjusting a front mech (I still hate it even though I know how to do it now). I don't remember it rubbing too badly (your honour), but the chain ate through the outer plate of the cage in no time. When I replaced it, probably by trial and error, I learned a lot more about adjusting mechs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,172 ✭✭✭G1032

Semi compact, or was a semi compact.. It's a 53/36 now 😂.

I use the 36 regularly though, especially where I'm trying to keep the watts constant and cadence high on rolling roads.

Also do my fair share of cross chaining but absolutely without question still spend more time in the small ring than most other I know.

Winter bike has a 53/39 which I much prefer. Can't say I've ever noticed a difference between the 52 and 53 but I find the difference between the 36 and 39 to be huge

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

oh yeah, i get on my winter bike (semi compact) and it feels sluggish as i'm used to the gearing on the summer bike, then remember there's a 6% difference in the gear ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,172 ✭✭✭G1032

This! Plastik was spot on the money.

Just to round back here...

This issue has persisted since July last. I had tried everything I could. Multiple cable changes (at least 2 by outer at the start of the issue and easily 4 or 5 inner, which on the CAAD12 is a painful process because FD cable has to be unclamped when changing the rear and vice versa). I checked frame alignment. Hanger alignment. Different wheels. Different cassettes. New chain ring. BB issues led to installation of a Wheels Manufacturing BB30A adapter and I put on Shimano cranks. Issue with rear shifting and chain drops off the front chainring still persisted. I bought a new hanger and that didn't solve it either. Still sh!tty shifting and still chain drops.

But I got my hands on an Ultegra shifter, R8000. Installed that and bingo, issue gone. Perfect shifting now again..