Why is Dublin such a shιtty city?

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

There's quite a lot of ethnic eateries in Dublin. Compared to say Italy where you'd be hard pressed to find very many non Italian restaurants bar McDonald's/Burger King and the odd kebab place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

True enough I guess the closest thing you'd get to an Irish meal that isn't a tourist trap would be a carvery

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I never appreciated a carvery when I lived in Ireland. I’m flying home tomorrow and it’s on my “must eat” list. My missus, who’s Canadian, has been talking about them all week.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

There are tonnes of places serving good seafood too. That's plenty Irish.

Do not ever bad mouth a 3 in 1.

They may be about as Chinese as my arse, but they’re delicious

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Order off-menu in M&L Sichuan restaurant just-off O'Connell Street (bonus points if you do it in Mandarin). The chef there will whip you up any regional Chinese cuisine you want, and he'll even ask you how you want it. In fact a lot of Chinese restaurants bar the sticky 3 in 1 places are delighted to make you food off-menu if you ask. Get to know Chinese people in Dublin and they'll tell you which restaurants do what better.

You'll never complain about a lack of [insert Chinese province] cuisine again. You're welcome.

Ka Shing for your dumpling and Canto needs, and there's a couple of hot pot places on Capel street that meet the bar. There's a Dongbei-style snack place in a random newsagents on Westmorland Street.

It's not Flushing in Queens, but there's no lack of good Chinese food in Dublin if you know where to look.

''The chef there will whip you up any regional Chinese cuisine you want,"

That is not possible. Ingredients, expertise etc, some dishes aren't so easy to make, Chinese cuisine is very diverse and can be quite specialised. But I know they can do better dishes ,yes, if you ask .

Anyway why do you need to ask for the secret meal lol. I have a friend that gets half price at all the resturants, not sure if it's because she is ethnic Chinese and they all get that deal or just good at making friends.

The chef in there is well accustomed to making dishes from all around China. And a lot of the nicer Chinese restaurants around Dublin are the same. It's how the Chinese diaspora get fed when they go out for a meal. Again, ask a Chinese person in Dublin what cuisine you're after and they'll tell you. The Chinese community share this on WeChat. You can restrict yourself to the laowai menu if you want or you could ask. It's not splitting the atom.

I asked the waiter in there could I get Chongqing style xiaomian, chef knocked it out just like it tastes in Chongqing and came out to check if it was to my liking.

Like I said, Dublin isn't Flushing in New York, nor will it ever be, but there's a world of good Chinese in Dublin if you get to know the restauraunts and aren't afraid to talk to the waiter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ah yes, O'Connell Street

https://twitter.com/SypherLou/status/1584243075500871686/video/2

Shithole casino that's a staging area for one our culturally enriching groups of New Irish is vandalised by that group

What a vibrant and throughly international main thoroughfare we have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

That’s some wholly unnecessary 💩 if you don’t mind me sayin.

Does Ireland have a 💩 fetish?

Also once or twice a year myself/herself go to kilkenny. The chowder is divine in the the hibernian Hotel. Off topic, but I love chowder (or shohthere).

Never liked Queens. Big place I know.

Although I may try out those places. Never been to Flushing. First time I lived in paddyland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The criticism of O’Connell St. here is specific - a breakdown in law and order has occurred in the very centre of our capital. The ‘data’ has been presented and can be experienced in person any day you like. How anybody could defend the status quo is beyond me.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Do I contradict myself?

I’d be more stunned by the countryside if I had the same rights to roam in it enjoyed by many other Northern Europeans. Even the Brits are way ahead of us on that.

Do I contradict myself?

I think you should do a little more research. Superficially that’s what Giuliani did. But how he did it was extremely problematic and led to many cars of false convictions and police brutality

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,091 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Did you try the restaurants I told you to try yet? Or have you been to busy crying over your keyboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Nah, London is miles ahead of Dublin wrt Korean food, it's got the biggest korea immigrant population outside of the US, and outside of the city centre you have places like New Malden that is almost wall-to-wall authentic eateries. There's 5, maybe 6 Korean places in town, 3 of them are Chinese-owned and are not 'real' Korean. Arisu, Kimchi and Drunken Fish are decent/good, but not a patch on what you'll get in London.

There's more Vietnamese places in Dublin thatn I thought there would be and most are fine i find, the best (and cheapest) is still Aobaba.

Chinese i'm not a huge fan of,so cant really speak for it, but the hotpot in Lao restaurant on Parnell St is top notch.

Thai is thai, and you have loads of the chain places like Camile, Saba etc offering up their versions, but there still are a few authentic places about - Full Moon, Baan Thai, Nightmarket.

The one thing Dublin is really missing is a proper Japanese restaurant. Most Sushi places are basic enough, tuna or salmon sashimi and thats it. Funnily enough, there are better Japanese restaurants in Cork and Galway than there are in Dublin!

As I said you can't just whip up some dishes by asking. They need to prepare them in advance and some take a lot of effort and specialisation. There is no such thing as an 'everything Chinese restaurant ' in Asia.

For instance xiao long BAO dumplings.

Or Steamed ginger and black bean grouper .

Or Beijing kao ya.

Or Taiwanese beef noodles

Or Hong Kong Dim Sum

It doesn't work like that. Same as a French restaurant probably couldn't whip you up a decent pizza. This seems to be confusing to some of you.

I also noticed unfortunately there are very few Japanese in Ireland which probably accounts for the lack of authentic Japanese restaurants (some are run by Chinese).

PS Aobaba looks like the real deal, thx

I can tell you where to get 3 of those dishes (and done to high quality) in Dublin. And for the other, I'd bet you your last kuai one of the high end Canto restaurants could do a very good approximation (fish availability dependent).

You're playing Marco Polo here (I'm familiar with the attitude). Dublin is well served for Chinese food. The problem is you don't know where to look and haven't gotten to know the food scene.

I overheard some tourists talking about Dublin when abroad. The words "not very pretty" and "tatty" were used. And when you compare to dozens of cities on the continent, it's hard to argue with. Dublin is a lot of things, but "beautiful" is not one of them.

Are you telling me you haven't been to Aobaba yet?

Never been to Hanoi Hanoi, Pho Ta, Aobaba or M&L and you on here telling us about your high standards & expertise in all Asian food and furthermore, you telling us there's no good asian food in Dublin?

Are you trolling?

Yeah I have never been to Aobaba. Big swing in me noodles.

And there's only a couple of streets in the capital city with semi decent Asian food. Otherwise it's a desert out there in the big city. Especially as many of us don't go into the city centre often cos it's...**** ..in parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Parts of Dublin are quite nice though, around St Stephen's Green and Merrion Square, swathes of D2 are quite nice. We may not compare to Vienna or Prague but we're centuries behind those places in some ways. Look at the state of most of our towns and villages around Ireland, ugly towns with little to offer expect permanently car choked streets.

Yeah as a Dub I got slightly offended but you can't tell people they're wrong for having an opinion. It was just jarring to hear unfiltered criticism. Normally tourists here are a lot more diplomatic and they tend to cushion the criticism with plenty of praise.

Aobaba is amazing. You're unbelievable!!! Can't believe you dragged tourists in to have chicken balls and sweet and sour sauce in your local take-away and then tell us all Asian restaurants in Dublin are crap!! What a silly billy post to put up before admitting you haven't been to many of them at all.

You really should try all the good Asian restaurants in Dublin before telling everyone they're all crap!

Get back to me when you've tried the ones I told you to.

I haven't eaten shite greasy Chinese food in Dublin in over 20 years, you need to sort out your confusion mate. I don't know who you are talking about.

Aobaoba looks like a bog standard Vietnamese restaurant to me. Which is equal to amazing in some folks shoes I guess.

Let's face it most of Dublin has little in the way of decent ethnic eateries, a bit in the city centre but sure a lot of us couldn't be arsed going into it very often cos of the well known issues. Dragging my family in and out of the North inner city for a meal isn't that enjoyable especially at night there. Parnell street and O Connell street being amongst the shittiest of all and an area I know very well indeed.

Yamamori sushi used to be better, but it really has been homogenised into the standard fair.

As for the Korean thing, I’m just repeating what I’m told.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Aobaba is grand. I wish they had the proper pig face sandwiches though.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky