Why is Dublin such a shιtty city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sure have, grew up in one and my family came from another 😂

If you could afford a house in firhouse? Thats a bit like saying that Bono was from Ballymun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

You would have much more real life experience of what is going on so.

I just see the dealing happening in broad daylight and without fear.

There's a spot I walked past last weekend at the bottom of the hill from Dublinia at the traffic lights. 3 or 4 strung out lads sitting on the steps clearly waiting for someone. I looked around and could see two young lads one on an e scooter on the far side of the road. Looking around them too ,hoods up, face masks on and the lad on the scooter crosses over and starts dealing. Open and blatant.

The "punishment" is not a deterant .

Lock street level dealers up for 20 years. Lock the higher ups for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

You are insufferably judgmental, being an arse to half the posters on here.

I know Grangegorman and the Northside and North Inner city well, the LUAS stop there is rough as hell, often seen kids throwing stones , fighting , pushing and shouting. Would not let my own kids near the place on their own.

Same goes for the stop further down at Parnell st .brutal..usually alcos and junkies hanging out there. It's the worst single public transport spot I have seen in the whole state.

Connolly station and Talbot street is grotty and dirty, full of Roma on street corners and others thrown out of emergency accommodation hanging out there, the shops and cafes close at 5pm or so. The whole place is mangy. I have seen the teens going up and down the street selling drugs from their escooters.

You live in Coolock.....what do you know about our neighbourhoods....shut it mate. You ain't the boss of anyone here lolz.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

We are lower on the list than most countries 85 per 100,000 UK is 150 or so and USA is a huge 740!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,091 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

LOL!! Hilarious, another night in Gotham City!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭getoutadodge

Yeah the junkies, gary glitters and georgie michaels ruined them so DCC closed them all. I heard a private operator offered to install commercially operated ones like you see on the continent with attendants and security and money required etc... but DCC blocked it. Do the staff in DCC never **** or piss? Amazing that the upper management haven't been fired en masse.

I hope you are joking. I live inner city northside and cycled all over throughout the covid gulag days. The centre was like a derelict harbour with the tide gone out. A real zombie landscape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The permanent government never get fired. They are in charge.

Sure didn't John Tierney make a load of dodgy mistakes in DCC and then got promoted to head of Irish Water for more of the same.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭OEP

Dublin is grand, it's not a **** city neither is it a fantastic city. It certainly has it's issues - north inner city, public transport and housing (not small issues) - but most people aren't that effected by them. It has a vibrant nightlife, decent food scene compared to a lot of cities of a similar size, an accessible coastline with lots of nice beaches and coastal towns and some nice mountains within easy reach.

Lots of hyperbole from both sides on this thread.

"Dublin city is grand because it's near stuff that's actually nice"

And contains stuff that's nice, as I pointed out

Yes, it has nice nightclubs and restaurants, the rest of the stuff isnt in the city centre which is the area that people have been complaining about.

People have been complaining about O'Connell street

Dublin is **** because in general, urban Ireland sucks, and always has. Whether we're talking about small country towns or regional cities, our urban centers are dreary, treeless, dilapidated and grey. You see German, French, Italian and Spanish villages and small provincial towns - they're mostly beautiful and full of interesting, quaint buildings with lovely tiled rooftops, little gardens, pleasant squares, and cobbled streets.

Spot on. Like you I'm A Dub born and bred. Lived much of my life overseas and have a love hate relationship with my home town. But its not all doom and gloom. Being a child of the 80s this place has improved dramatically since that dreary period. Improvements to be cheerful about:

• the Docklands; Grangegorman campus; Glasnevin/Botanic Gardens merger and upgrade; ongoing Royal Canal Greenway; Tolka Park, Phoenix Park changes, Islandbridge modernisation, Royal Hospital Kilmainham (minus the crappy art), the GPO museum, Thomas Street area changes (but loads more to do to make it livable), Heuston Station area progress, Boland Mills area, ongoing Portobello improvements, Chapelizard to city centre river greenway, the Black Church again in use, the Dodder walkway cyclepath and flood defences, ongoing development near the Teelings Distillery, St Patrick's Cathedral Park.....to name but a few.

Some areas which have remained static and frozen in time ....or even deteriorated in my view are:

• Mountjoy Sq/NCR area (lived there for years), Phibsborough (pls nuke the shopping centre), Dollymount bridge and walkway, Croppy Acre, whole swathes of the south city such as Pimlico, Donore, Ballyfermot, Bluebell. And not forgetting dear O'Connell St down to Amiens area with the shithole prize going to Connolly Station.

I could rant on but the scale of dereliction/deprivation in Dublin city still to be tackled shows just how low this city had sunk by the late 80s. A borderline failed state which I gladly left behind. Thankfully mostly in the past now along with the drink culture which was so prevalent then.

The only way is up!

As for the scrotes now complimented by imported beggars who cannot be named, for sure the cops beat a hasty retreat (after the Covid checkpoint frenzy) to their offices to fill in their overtime sheets. But the real problem lies with the courts and political class and chatteratti on RTE etc who undermine them all the way. Case in point: I recently saw the cops trying to clean up the park of vagrants near the Mary St (still derelict?) Fruit Market. But what can they do since no sanction or deterrence is ever applied by their overlords? No wonder they look the other way. I don't envy them.

What do think of the job on Manfield Chambers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

I'm sorry i would have been in the Dublin is grand camp a few years ago but i couldn't be further away from that line of thinking now tbh. Ive been in the city a few times recently for work related stuff both in the day and social stuff at night and it is completely gone to the dogs. Parts of the north side are like something out of the walking dead with horrible boarded up shops and businesses as well as a general air of menace in the air.

I remember being to Birmingham in about 2009 with work for a week and thinking that was bad and thankfully my home city was nothing like it but yeah i ain't thinking that now.

I lived in New York in the 90's and remember how well the mayor did in cleaning up the streets of junkies and bringing a more family oriented feel to the whole of Manhattan. By the time i left in late 1999 NY was a very different place from the NY of 1992. Unfortunately i don't see that same urgency here from anyone to clean up our city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

If you know and understand then why did you use it as an example? It is a common complaint of the ill-informed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭PommieBast

@EOQRTL

I'm sorry i would have been in the Dublin is grand camp a few years ago but i couldn't be further away from that line of thinking now tbh. Ive been in the city a few times recently for work related stuff both in the day and social stuff at night and it is completely gone to the dogs. Parts of the north side are like something out of the walking dead with horrible boarded up shops and businesses as well as a general air of menace in the air.

Just before I left mid-2021 the impression I got was lot of businesses finally throwing in the towel because of the lockdown. Not so much menacing as depressing in the way the authorities just left people and organisations to fend for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭tastyt

Whenever you say get the guards on the streets and do their **** jobs the huggers will tell you you can’t do that , it’s not the solution to long term drug addiction and we have let down the scrotes and they all have an excuse for little rats being let run amok .

Its not the only solution , of course it isn’t . But build another prison and put more guards on the street as a deterrent . Then , after we keep people safe and keep our tourist industry afloat we can try to help the unfortunate addicts who have genuine and sad issues .

But fcuk the scrotes off the streets first because they are only laughing in the face of the law and the normal people of the country . Don’t let the bleeding hearts and PC bull shitters force us to put the cart before the horse .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It’s funny then that the German, French, Italian and Spanish* people I know love Dublin.

*Portuguese, Korean, Dutch, Saudi, Romanian and Greek people as well.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Definitely not. That’s a very Irish thing to do.

The Dutch are blunt to the point of being rude. Ditto the Koreans and French.

the rest I believe because of the level of enthusiasm

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

No, Dublin is hugely popular amongst cultured people that visit museums, restaurants, galleries, cafes and appreciate architecture, the many parks & beaches the city has to offer. Most foreign friends of mine will have visited more places of interest in the capital than your average Irish person that just "comes up for the match" or concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

They are only visiting. Most will likely only stay a few years. No real connection to what was and what is now.

Like when Irish people go to Australia for few years. Blinkered

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude