Sophie: A Murder in West Cork - Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

I'm always happy to be corrected on detail, however irrelevant.

I'm not spinning any narratives. I'm just asking questions. Questions to which you are, obviously, unable to provide plausible answers.

I really don't have a dog in this fight. I just think that the Bailey propostion is so unlikey and has so many holes in it that it doesn't bear scrutiny.

Also, I have only ever had one identity on this board and I don't know anything about "scoobie". However, since you raise the subject, I have noted the striking similarity in style, syntax and frequency of posting to a certain "Moonunit" of past acquaintance. I'm sure that this is simply a coincidence.

Typically, you run and hide in unimportant detail, because it is transparent that you have no answer to the big important question(s)

What relationship existed between Bailey and Sophie?

Why would Bailey, (or any man) walk so far, in the middle of the night, To attack a woman for no reason? And then walk home again.

How did he do so, without leaving the slightest trace of evidence, either at the scene or on his person/clothing.

And what was his motive?

I realise that these are uncomfortable questions for you, and that you would rather discuss the phase of the moon on the night, or whether Bailey was in the habit of taking morning coffee to his partner and I expect you will charge me with sounding like a broken record, but these are the questions that I want answers to before I can give serious consideration to this absurd proposition.

Like the DPP, really.

People are hung up on Bailey walking 11km in the dark based solely on Marie Farrell's evidence, a woman who if she told me water is wet I'd splash some on myself to make sure. Her evidence should be totally disregarded.

Alfie Lyons seems a far more likely candidate - someone who lived next door, a criminal and who already had disputes with Sophie. Of course he would "see" Bailey meeting Sophie.

Quite possibly the Gardai were in on his cannabis enterprise as they offered one witness cannabis if memory serves, hence the coverup. It certainly wouldn't be the only case of Gardai colluding with drug dealers.

Whatever the truth, there were certainly some nasty people living down there at the time.

there is plenty evidence he knew sophie. you just do not accept it as it does not suit your story

he could have seen her is schull the day before and that could have given him a motive. a sexual motive. This was in one of his confessions in the third person.the one " you saw her in Spar .."

Just because she was not sexually assaulted does not mean he did not go to her with sex as a motive. she may have rejected him or even hit him first. If you stove in someone head you would not be inclined to then sexually assault them. he probable lost it when she rejected him. he had had whiskey, his violence trigger

Moonunit was a Bailey backer so i doubt tibruit is Moonie

I have no story.

He might possibly have done it, but the liklihood is extremely remote.

What evidence?

Could have? Could have? May have? If you? Probably?..Trying to fit square pegs into round holes there..

Moonunit was no Bailey backer. Neither am I.

the evidence has been set out above. several gave evidence he knew before he should have known, several heard his confessions. I am not repeating it. why would they all lie or be wrong

Moonunit was no Bailey backer. Neither am I.

both of you defended him

Bailey said in a sunday indo interview with Brigid McLaughlin in 1997 that he had burnt clothing on the morning after the murder but it was because it was covered in turkey blood. This is in Malocco's book and i got a copy of the article. why does he now say there was no fire

He drove Brigid McLaughlin over Hunt's Hill and stopped "where I stopped on the night of the murder"

I have not seen any evidence of an association between IB and Sophie.

Moonunit was insistent that Bailey was guilty.

The "he said" "she said" stuff on the confessions and timings was comprehensively debunked by the DPP.

I'm still waiting for answers on the big questions. If anyone can provide me with them, I'm happy to reconsidder my position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Deeec

In the 1990's people living in the country had fires when having a clearout and to dispose of rubbish. My father would have lit a weekly fires outside to dispose of our rubbish as we did not have a bin collection service. Although a fire is an odd thing to see or do now it wasnt at all in the 1990's. People disposing of old furniture, clothing, rubbish etc by having a fire wasnt unusual at all. Thats why again this cant be used as evidence. Just because himself and Jules had a fire means nothing.

Im sure other people living in that locality lit fires to dispose of stuff at that time - Should they be suspects to?

And the fact that I reject the proposition does not make me a Bailey backer or defender.

why did he say he had a fire to burn turkey blooded clothes and then no fire?. how many gave evidence they saw your father investigating a murder he did not yet know about. It is not one thing it is the build up of different things. it is how circumstantial evidence works

The DPP re got his arse kicked in the libel court [ or maybe the case against the gardai] so i would not pay any attention to him. The judde was very critical of how the DPP rep presented his evidence. I agree with the podcaster who said the DPP did not want to prosecute bailey because it would show up their office and harbison

I have not seen any evidence of an association between IB and Sophie.

then if you do not want to see it i am not pointing it out again. Many people gave evidence he knew her both here and in France. A journalist like bailey would know everyone and what is happening in the area. I believe he saw her the day before in schull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Deeec

My point is lighting a fire to burn your rubbish wasnt unusual at all for the time. Everyone living in the country lit fires! This seems to be hard for some people to understand and they see this as suspicious when really it was an ordinary thing to see fires lit in peoples gardens and fields.

Now he very well could have been burning his bloody clothes after the murder or he could be burning old clothes himself and Jules were finished with. There is no way of proving what he was burning. The act of lighting a fire is not evidence that he is guilty though.

Context

Why does he change his story from burning turkey blooded clothes to no burning at all? He also changed his story re spending all night in bed.

He saw her in Schull?

And that constitutes a relationship/association?

Square peg....round hole.

it ties in with his confession "you saw her in spar" and went there to "get some". It gives a motive of sex and the fact she was not sexually assaulted does not mean he was not looking for sex. He had whiskey taken too so a rejection would be likely to trigger violence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

You don’t have a point.

He said he had a fire to burn his clothes that were soiled by blood from a turkey and then denied he had a fire.

He was a miserable git that was a hoarder, if it was turkey blood on his clothes he would more likely have boiled the clothes and drank the water afterwards thinking it was gourmet cuisine.

Anyone killing a turkey knows if they slitting it’s throat it could potentially get a bit messy but it usually doesn’t. Anyone with a brain half the size of the turkeys can avoid any blood stains on the clothes they choose to wear beforehand.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-witness-claims-ian-bailey-told-her-i-was-washing-the-blood-off-my-clothes-41959737.html

Speaking last week, the witness said: “I am sure that he told me at the beginning that he had met her. He also said to me that he saw her on the ferry to Cape Clear Island.”

This backs up what the woman said in garda statements which are now over a quarter of a century old.

who is this woman anyone know?

Square pegs...round holes.

There was no connection between them.

you don't know that, there is much evidence you do not want to see as you are a bailey backer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

What do mean by this statement:

The judde was very critical of how the DPP rep presented his evidence. I agree with the podcaster who said the DPP did not want to prosecute bailey because it would show up their office and harbison

“Many people gave evidence he knew her both here and in France.”

He knew her in France? Is this in your Malloco book?

Sophie was having multiple affairs herself. These affairs on both sides were common knowledge so there was nothing to expose.

And she was in West Cork on her own - her kids weren't there either. Over Christmas. Very odd

Reading this I hope I'm never on trial ... So many people would convict Bailey even though there isn't a motive and no hard evidence, just because they basically think he's a creep. Frightening. That's not to say he didn't do it - but there is no credible evidence as the DPP pointed out.

The Gardai were either laughably unbeliveably criminally incompetent or were framing Bailey to deflect from someone else.

The French justice system is like something out of North Korea.

I refuse to believe that there isn't any useful DNA evidence available even now - they have sequenced 20000 year old mammoth DNA FFS.

A pod caster the crime analyst i think she cslls herself, says the DPP didn't prosecute because they didn't want to show up how harbison took 28 hours to get there and there was only one state pathologist

You don't know there was no motive just that you don't know of any. It could be as i said above

It mentions guy Girard and Sophie's friend Agnes Thomas. Sophie told Girard she knew a writer bailey in Ireland