Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,447 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Don't let them. Dublin is the City of the plastic bollard now. Even in the Georgian districts. Pure vandalism.

Owen Keegan was interviewed on the News earlier about this proposal above and said 'yes these proposals will disrupt business, but we have to think about the public good'.

I don't know what public good he thinks is served by a hollow City with a wrecked economy, but there seem to be no consequences for his acts. He, in particular, is the greatest vandal of them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

lol how long did they have to wait to get a sunny day. Wet windy Island. Would love the smell of mould and the heating put on for people getting soaked coming into work. 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The alternative to the Catholic church is atheism or some other religion. What is your alternative to 'the (monolithic) greens'

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

It seems that the current green policies are all stick and no carrot whatsoever. I understand the climate issues however, it seems the Green Party’s approach is a combination of misery and self flagellation for the Irish. Life is just getting harder and more miserable. Should rebrand to the brown party, it’d be more inductive of their policies and approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Fossil fuel is not subsidised, do you have any idea what a fuel excise is, or VAT? And then there is tax on the profit margin of companies. All the very antithesis of subsidies. Another green failing at economics.

Post edited by cnocbui on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Yup. Exactly the type of talk one hear from greens when they are quietly moving on to another target. To skin another sheep so to speak.

Why nobody think about our rivers!!! Dirty farmers trying to poison us and the planet!!! OMG OMG what should we do???

Solution? Of course there is one. It is being trialled currently in few other countries like Netherland for example. Nitrogen tax so filthy farmers (and by extension all of us) will have to pay for what they did to our waterways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

This is silly. if you knew anything about that area you'd know that Oranmore and Gort are already served by 14 busses in and out of the city daily. There is already four trains going through both of them and Athenry from Limerick as well. introducing commuter rail is just pissing millions into the Atlantic.

I thought the problem with the rivers is there not dredged anymore dead vegetation causing lack of oxygen all that.

Nope. According to our greeniuses it is da Nitrogen. Another Baba Yaga for Mr Eamon Wick to slain with barrage of well aimed taxes. 😁

I'm no historian but river management has been a thing since farming. free flowing water clears away the dead stuff and less stagnant water. I mean yeah in the Amazon it may do it's self rivers are huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,164 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

If grass is growing over 2 inches above a drain since about a year ago and that road floods is that climate change or an inconcompetent council? I remember growing up in the 80s annually the drains were dug and cleaned, why not now?

Because flood or few is needed to illustrate to the illiterate voter how doomed we are unless we pay more taxes. Carbon one is well established and Nitrogen one is creeping in. Lets try to guess what they are going to try to tax next?

When you see greeniuses hailing photovoltaic cells in a country which receive feck all of a sunshine in a year you know something isn't right.

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

What are you talking about? The government are literally handing out free insulation and home upgrades to anyone who wants them. What's more of a carrot than warmer more energy efficienct houses that cost less to run?

People can get big subsidies to install car chargers and solar PV etc

The carbon taxes are negligible compared to the cost of living in ireland

I'm not surprised that this is your level of engagement with actual environmentalism.

That and Donald Trump complaining about wind turbines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

free…. Ha. It costs a fortune to do any kind of deep retrofit. A few rolls of insulation won’t cut it compared to what these green gobshites are planning to do to fuel sources etc. hope you’ve deep pockets for all the “free” stuff.

If you live in a old cold **** house you have to pay to maintain it. But the government do free upgrades for:

• Attic insulation
    • Cavity wall insulation
    • External wall insulation
    • Internal wall insulation
    • Secondary work such as lagging jackets, draught proofing and energy efficient lighting
    • New heating systems and windows are occasionally recommended

For anyone who can't afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Climate newspeak has its own lexicon. For most of us subsidy means the transfer of money from the taxpayer to an entity by a government, usually with cost benefit analysis that benefits the public and government.

Definition of subsidy

: a grant or gift of money: such as

a : a sum of money formerly granted by the British Parliament to the crown and raised by special taxation

b : money granted by one state to another

c : a grant by a government to a private person or company to assist an enterprise deemed advantageous to the public

Definition of newspeak

: propagandistic language marked by euphemism, circumlocution, and the inversion of customary meanings

In climate newspeak NOT taxing fuel is reported as a subsidy, except there is NO transfer of money from the taxpayer to the oil refiner. This same corruption in the meanings of words as commonly understood by the public is also applied to farmers use of "green diesel" and fixing potholes (I am not joking) is counted as subsidy to oil refiners.  By their own definition the Greens subsisiding public transport here in Ireland is also subsidising oil refiners.

We should examine the taxpayer money transferred to the NGOs here in Ireland and what they do with it.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,006 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Ah here would ya stop!

Can you post a link to this FREE insulation and home upgrade, because I want one! 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,006 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

That’s not what you said in your previous post.

You said anyone that wants it.

More misinformation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

That’s not true. If you are on Carer’s allowance but don’t live with the person you care for then you do not qualify.

Eg: You sleep in your own property but go to work (yes, it is work even though you’ll never see an option on a drop down list) 7 days a week. You receive the princely sum of 224 euros a week and because you don’t live with the person you care for, you do not qualify for any fuel allowance, full grants etc. So you pay all heating, electricity and maintenance out of that 224 per week.

How can they afford any of the upgrades in the list you posted?

Anyone who is outside the eligibility criteria obviously won't be eligible.

There are grants for those in that situation.

I've no doubt that as they work their way through the BER G, F, E homes, they'll widen the criteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Is there? Could you send me a link to info on those grants as I haven’t come across them 🙂

Lol. How very ironic. The word newspeak came from 1984 and it means to dumb language and concepts down to remove nuance context and meaning. And you criticised me of using newspeak while leaping to the most narrow dictionary definition of subsidy, (and another narrow biased definition of newspeak)

This is from the encyclopedia Britannica

"Subsidies are implemented through a variety of financial techniques, such as (1) direct payments in cash or kind, (2) governmental provision of goods or services at prices below the normal market price, (3) governmental purchase of goods or services at prices in excess of the market price, and (4) tax concessions and similar inducements. In addition, there are numerous governmental policies that have subsidy effects, such as regulatory statutes that soften the full force of competition, policies that require the purchase of goods from favoured producers or nations, and protective wage and price legislation."

You're criticising the use of the word subsidy while using the word newspeak completely differently to how Orwell intended it.

From your own link

"Types of newspeak in Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-four include the elimination of certain words or the removal of unorthodox meanings from certain words"

By saying subsidy does not include tax breaks you are literally engaging in newspeak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

It's still unaffordable for most working people who currently have mortgages, car loans etc. So it's utter crap. Why can't you accept that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭PommieBast

That is basically just people on welfare.

Edit: Looking deeper into it if you are not looking after anyone (e.g. no children) and are actively working, it is pretty hard to qualify.

The SEAI site is linked in an above post, you'll find the info there