Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Would make sense really. The lack of intercounty management probably was a big factor in him not getting the Mayo job. Limerick is a bit of a win win situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

What does success look like with Limerick though? Same goes for Andy, I kow its great to get intercounty experience but IMO you're better off at a big club

I was actually looking at it from the what does failure look like angle.

They probably won't expect to stay up in Div 2, no real expectations in the Championship. That's why I think of it as a bit of a win win, he'll get the intercounty experience without a whole pile of expectations around it.

He might be better of with a big club but I think the bigger county boards like to see previous intercounty experience. It just seems like a box that has to be ticked.

And I can see the reasoning behind it tbh, an intercounty job is a step up.

And on the other hand, he might see himself as having done all he can do with Knockmore?

Going for the Mayo job has to have been a bit of a distraction this year and it might be hard to get back to where he was with the players before that? Sometimes things like that just change the dynamic for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,107 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Agreed - even to have a managerial job that involves that logistics of an Intercounty team is big

Lot to answer for, county board meetings etc. Lot of stuff you just don’t get at club level (have seen it myself at lower level Hurling county teams)

Honestly he could come out of county management hating it - you’d never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,107 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Confirmed now

I think it’s good for him and Limerick. I suppose if there’s one negative is that it’s highly unlikely ever going to a ‘long-term’ job, but what is now really

It’s a stepping stone role and I’d say him and Limerick understand that

I think looking back it probably was a distraction, when you couple it with the burn out it all adds up

Best of luck to him, I'd be delighted to see him do well, a very genuine fella

John Brogan probably favourite to get the Knockmore job now. I'd love to see Kevin O'Neill involved, he had a very brief stint as a temporary coach a few years back and the lads raved about him. Tony McDonnell also in with a good shout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Hope it goes well for him, with two county titles in Knockmore, he can be happy with what he's achieved although he may feel like we could have won a Connacht with a bit of luck. Thanks for two great years Ray

Presumably, Limerick will have a decent budget with McManus backing them so his backroom team will be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

Has McManus not pulled out or was that just rumours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,097 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Dempsey will have his work cut out big time.

There's the nucleus of a half decent team there atm but the reality is that any promising young lads are now siphoned off into hurling primarily, and to rugby and soccer to lesser extents but still very much ahead of Gaelic Football.

Football is basically an afterthought in most clubs in the county...in my own local club the football club is actually a separate entity altogether and trying to get access to the pitch for training etc is awkward at best.

Most of my older fella's U-11 games were called off due to no-shows. My younger lad is mad to play as well (after being brought to every Mayo game this year) but I was told there won't be an U9 team this year unless I wanted to manage it myself :-(

So yeah...best of luck Ray 🤞🍀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭blowitupref

I think its a decent gig to get for Dempsey. This will be his first taste of senior inter county management and has Div 2 football team to manage with low expectations. If they are relegated they could have a right cut at the Tailteann cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

So a member of management team can come on to the pitch and assault an under 17 player and only gets a two week suspension?

I don't have any first hand details but from what I've heard, I think it's bad form of Westport to appeal considering the incident

Not much chat about the semi finals, did Gibbons get off his red?

Ballina & Westport both favourites and would probably make the best final from a football point of view but if it comes down to a low scoring scrappy game, the two underdogs might be better positioned to win.

Where'd you see about the two week suspension? I wouldn't believe the telegraph if they told me it was Thursday.

IMO the right decision to reinstate Westport, it's not the kids fault that some lunatic can't control his temper. The penalty should be against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,710 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The next person thinking about it might be a little more composed if he was thinking of going on to the field to assualt a player and that would get his team thrown out of the competition.

I've heard Gibbons got off, quite rightly imo.

That'd be my opinion on it too. Pretty unfair on the kids but it would be a bigger punishment for the mentor knowing he had let his players & club down like that

Exactly, given all that has went on recently, any time a mentor walks onto the pitch (even before anything happens) should be an automatic forfeit of the game and suspension of that mentor imo.

They need to crack down on this very hard but in typical fashion, a half arsed "solution" has been found.

Let the club/mentor apologise to the kids for the error of their ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,930 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Is there any weekend pass thing for Mayo GAA Tv this weekend? Looks like you have to buy all three games individually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,208 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht QF winners play Galway in SF.

Not an easy route

It also means that a Div 2 team fails to make the Sam McGuire championship because Sligo or Leitrim will get to a Connacht final and thus one of the 16 for the Sam McGuire championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,710 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Worst draw you could get.

Only if you want to win a Connacht championship though.

If Mayo lose to either Roscommon or Galway they will still go into an All Ireland group as third seeds that could possibly contain as second seeds Sligo or Letrim, or Cork or Clare or Limerick.

Or a bunch of Leinster teams they would have no problem with.

For Division 1 teams like Mayo the provincial championship is now almost irrelevant when it comes to the All Ireland championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,930 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

How does the seeding work do you know? I know prov winners are first seeds and runners up 2nd but after that?

Wrong code

I'd say the third and fourth are then based on league position.

Some end to the Mitchels Westport game, high drama.

Should be an excellent final in store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭mattser

David Brady won the Meath SFC final with Ratoath today.

I'm working in Castlebar, you get a good cross section of supporters

Castlebar gutted to have left it behind them, 30 seconds was all they needed to hold out for. Westport delighted, much better than winning handy

Unfortunately Ballina looked very good, Frank Irwin in particular but Ballintubber have only themselves to blame, all three goals were from their mistakes.

Swanny commits about four yellow card offences per game, it'll catch up with him some day

Was at the ladies final in Bekan, Burrishoole the deserved winners, awful game though