Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone painted my wall outside my house without my permission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭mondeo

I'll probably end up having to pay for this myself now or wait 3 months for whoever did this to undo it, if I find out who they were. It upsets me someone altered my property like this when I was out of the house. Anyone would be bothered by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 crashbang1

I'd imagine the person is with TUS or CE and was doing the work on behalf of the local tidy towns committee or equivalent. If he is still around he should be able to put you in touch with his supervisor.

I'd try your local partnership company, they will be running the local TUS scheme and if it wasn't TUS they should know who the contact point for the local CE scheme is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I think your concept that it will attract graffiti is almost absurd. I doubt very much that local scrotes are scanning the area checking out the general hue of your walls' undercoat to be honest? If they are going to scribble penis effigies on your wall they will not be losing sleep over what colour it is drawn on?

How tall is the wall and if can you please clarify if it runs at the back, side or the front of your house?

Most artists will be looking for a public wall which has good access to where their work can be admired. They are not looking to piss off private home owners, at all. If you are concerned about graffiti as a form of vandalism then it is a different matter entirely.

As you own the wall you can contact the council and ask for the paint work to be removed, if you are arsed doing so. I am astonished that a community worker was given permission by anyone else to be honest?

I would say he was 60 years old, some retired guy. I will make a few calls tomorrow and see if he can be tracked down. I was also thinking I might drive around the area in and out of estates and see if by chance I can spot him doing other work and confront him that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭SwimClub

Maybe this old dude will appear again and repaint if there's graffiti, I'd wait a while and see how it pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,331 ✭✭✭✭kippy

It's possible someone complained about the state of the wall to someone else and one of the workers was told to put some paint on it.

Not the right way to go about it of course.

In Fingal at least it seems as unplastered block walls are against exempted planning.

https://www.fingal.ie/sites/default/files/2019-10/doing_work_around_the_house_new_doc.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭dmc17

Maybe he is the graffiti artist and was just creating a blank canvas?

The house is a corner house and the wall as expected is at the side. I am concerned about graffiti as a form of vandalism ye. The house is a target for it now as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭dmc17

I wonder if all else fails would it be worth painting over it with a dark grey paint to make it less desirable than a white canvas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,111 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Think of it this way - suppose the area around your house was strewn with your rubbish, dog crap, unkempt lawns, etc. and someone came along and cleaned it up. That is, they altered your property (for the good).

To many of us, our neighborhoods are spoiled by those who seem to think bare unplastered, unpainted block walls are acceptable. I'd much prefer to have graffiti on a painted wall than an unpainted wall without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Ulmus

You could grow a climber, Boston ivy, inside the wall and let it hang down on the outside. Painting garden walls is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,420 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Try typing in your town/area name in to Twitter to search for recent posts about it, a lot of times these chancers start 'enriching' property that's not theirs they fill social media with it. Hopefully you can track down who financed it and sue them to reinstate it as it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Some of the replies here are hilarious .

For those who think the guy did nothing wrong , who is supposed to re paint this wall now every few years ? The OP or whoever put the old guy up to it .

OP definitely have a drive around your estate tomorrow and ask around , but it wont be easy to get the paint off the wall now especially if he put water in the paint to help it soak in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ratracer

How do you take white paint of a bare concrete block wall??

Do you want/ expect them to paint it gray?

And I don’t think ‘confronting’ an old guy is the way to solving anything, maybe asking him politely will get you a more favourable result…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

If it is a tall wall on the side of your house you are always going to have this issue, it will not matter what colour the wall is.

My best advice is to not get in the way of graffiti on a side wall. In many cases it can be territorial on a street basis. If you start getting poxy with the local scrotes you will become a target for their ridicule. Before you know it you will have " Mondeo Sucks Cock " all over the thing. Not a good luck for you.

If it is a side wall you technically only control one side of it. The public have access to the other side of it, it is their wall now.

If the wall is waist height it won't get the action. Scotes don't like putting effort into anything and will avoid bending their knees and find somewhere else.... unless of course they know it is pissing you off, that is a whole different story. You don't want that.

See what happens, as things stand you just got your wall decorated for free?

I would guess some sort of sand blaster would remove the white paint ? I really don't know how it would be done.

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Trying to remove the paint will make it look worse. It'll look even worse than it did when it was just bare block. Blocks drink paint, you aren't going to get it back how it was.

Your best bet is just to get whoever painted it white to paint it a colour you would prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MoxoM

just ask around, someone will know who’s responsible. I’m also guessing sand blasting will remove it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,012 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Pressure washer might take some off, but it'll look awful for quite some time afterwards (years).

you’d have a fecker of a time getting it off and looking anyway decent tbh.

So I might be stuck to paint it a dark grey or something if I cant get the white off :/.

Look on the bright side, a dark grey painted wall will look less shite than a bare block wall.

You shouldn't be out of pocket for this and they should leave your wall in a state you're happy with, but in the end they've done you a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

The comments on here my god people try to troll. If the OP does not want to paint his wall for whatever reason that is up to them we all have different tastes and experiences.

The guy was only doing what he was told so going postal on him will not solve anything if anything doing stuff calmly gets things done quicker the majority of the time as if your confrontational it will only get them angry and not really want to do anything. Should have asked him where he was working out off and get there tomorrow. Ya try the local council tomorrow they might be able to help.

Never heard of paint on bare block unfortunately will leak in to it I say and you will have speckles of paint. So unfortunately it is to plaster it and then paint it a color you hope does not attract graffiti. Who know graffiti scrotes were picky on there color of wall but I suppose it stands on on white with any color

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,359 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Very easy to paint blocks. Without it leaking in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Did not know that thanks

However if this is a scheme like people believe I wonder how gifted people are on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MoxoM

The OP was happy with how it looked as a block wall.

How is it painting the wall white done the OP a favour?

Im guessing since he built the wall himself, he would have the skill set of painting it white if that’s what he wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭beachhead

My jack hammer is twitching with all this talk about wall,structures ...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Did his car have a Z painted on the side? Maybe he saw your sig and was trying to get a rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,141 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Could also have been the local men's shed. Auld retired lad doing the painting fits the description.