Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harrassed by Garda taking a photo

• 07-10-2022 1:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭

Today I was walking around the town and saw 2 Gardaí telling a homeless guy outside a shop to move on. I had my camera with me and proceeded to take a few shots. As I was walking off, one of the Gards came up to me and told me I wasn't allowed to take photos of them. I informed him that it was a public space and I could take any photos I wanted. He then said to me that he didn't give me permission to take his photo. I told him I didn't need any permission from him. He then just says "Fair enough", and walked off.

A few minutes later they drove very slowly past me and glared at me. A few mins later down another side street they drove slowly by and stared at me. I felt very intimidated by the whole experience.

I assume I'm correct in what I informed him about my rights to take photos in public?

Post edited by Myksyk on

• Registered Users Posts: 23,843 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You are correct.

But what you aren't correct about, is characterising that interaction as harassment. It was a disagreement, in which the Garda was wrong (as they often are about that particular issue).

Harassment must have a persistence and a malign intent. If the Garda followed you home, or got your address and began doing frequent drive-bys, or started pulling you over when driving your car for spurious reasons - thats harassment.

Glaring at you a couple of times on one occasion isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,933 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

You've the right to take photos in public spaces, and don't need their permission. So you were right to tell them so, and they correctly backed down.

On the other hand, they have the right to drive past and look at you too. I understand it may feel intimidating, but there's probably little you can do about it.

From the comfort of my desk at home, I'll bravely say that I would have taken another photo of them as they did so, but we all know that's probably not true. I'm actually not comfortable at all with the whole notion of street photography, I do think it's kind of invasive even if it's fully legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,811 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Don't know the legalities of it but...

1. If I took a picture of a stranger in public and they approached me asking why ...if my only reason was "because I can" I wouldn't be bringing unnecessary grief onto myself, so I'd just delete the picture Infront of them and get on with my life.

Which brings to

2. What is the motivation/intended use of the photograph that made you compelled to take it?

Is the photo worth p*ssing someone off , guard or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭Allinall

OP. How come you felt intimidated but don't have any concerns that the gardai may have felt the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mattser

If someone was taking pictures of you at work ( presuming you work ), without your permission, how would you feel ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭AyeGer

If you live in the same town as them and have attracted their attention you may need to make sure you have everything above board. Don’t let your tax or NCT run overtime.

In reality though he’ll have forgotten about that interaction in a day or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Depends if you work in a public space or not, and it depends if you're being a nuisance while taking the photo.

Gardai should be aware they are being recorded while carrying out their duty and should act accordingly. If they're in the right, then all the photo will show is them doing their job correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

What did you expect??? If you were to just stand there taking multiple photos of them in close proximity, at what point would you expect them to get annoyed by it? Why did you take the photos anyway, and what was your intention with them? Could you not have at least been discreet about it? Have you ever annoyed anyone else by taking their photo?

If it wasn't for people like you, maybe the police would be more comfortable taking the initiative on streets because they wouldn't feel that some idiot would get to capture a potential mistake of theirs and put it online forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭chewed

Steady on there!

So you're saying gards should never be recorded in the line of duty? We don't have any gards with bodycams in this country, so I think it's fair enough they are open to being recorded. So the reason why you're saying gards shouldn't be recorded is just in case they make a mistake. What an idiotic statement.

My question was around the law. I don't have to give a reason why I'm taking the photos. I could be a journalist, so is that OK?

If it's a public place, then you don't need to give permission.

I wouldn't really care myself. Although I work from home, so I would be a bit freaked out if someone walked into my office to take a photo.

A lot of the times, I will ask people on the street, especially those working, if they're OK with me taking a photo. It makes the interaction much easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

You should have asked for the Garda's number, paid a visit to the station, asked for him/her at the front desk and then proceeded to take more pictures.

A waste of time, yes but relatively funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,642 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Why would anybody take pictures of complete strangers ?

And without their permission ?

I would find this extremely rude, ignorant and entitled behaviour on the part of the photographer.

Especially when photos can be manipulated, taken out of context, and copied and stored eternally.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

They were probably annoyed the OP took the photo outside of the golden hour.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,208 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

While the Garda war incorrect he should have informed you that you are not allowed to post or publish the photographs.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mattser

Did you think of asking the Garda if it was ok ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,536 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Who told you that?

I'm a photographer and I've photographed people including Gardai, they've been published on the front page of national newspapers and posted thousands of times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

I don't mean a mistake as in the case of George Floyd. I mean a mistake like a guard tripping over himself during a chase and looking like a twat. You haven't told me what your reason for not being discreet was? You also haven't told us what your intention with the photos were. What was so interesting to you about this mundane scene?? Had the guards starting beating up the homeless person maybe then you could've started snapping, but there clearly was no need to in your case. And once again, I would like to know if it's your first time annoying someone with your camera?

You continue to ignore how this might make the guards feel during their work. Someone filming a guard on duty, will make the guard wonder if the recorder is implying something wrong is being done by the guard, and that the recorder is trying to catch them out... makes it more difficult for the guard. Try and wise up a bit.

Probably because the OP was deeply concerned about the homeless person and wanted to catch up with him later to buy him a meal and offer him a bed for the night. What other reason could there possibly be?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭thefallingman

I don't blame the garda in this case and i'm not their biggest fan, if i saw you taking photos of me or my family in public we would be having harsh words regardless of the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Rule no 1, don't piss off gaurds .

Had a few mouthy friends who used to get thick with gaurds. Not worth it, especially with the old boy's back in the 90's you're marked.

Bar of Soap in a sock, leaves no bruise's

Anyhow the right approach I've found is , especially when you've driven over the line or a tail light or front light out is, just say thanks for pointing it out, I didn't know and I'm willing to take responsibility. They'll usually, say just get it fixed as soon as you can. Move along.

Disarm them with a smile....

"I mean a mistake like a guard tripping over himself during a chase and looking like a twat."

So that's the only reason why you feel Gards shouldn't be filmed or photographed in public? Wow!

I don't have to give you or anyone else a reason why I'm taking photographs. It's completely my business if I want to take a photo in public. What I do with the photos is also my business. Gardaí have years of training and dealing with the public (well that could be questioned) so they should be well capable of conducting their duties on the street whether or not they're being recorded.

I think you need to wise up!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭mikethecop

any concerns for the dignity of the homeless person involved, how do you know what interaction was happening ? the shop who likely called as the has in their door way ? or was your own self righteousness more important .

I wonder at your version of the conversation, too . If i saw some one taking a picture of me while working i may approach them and ask them why, generally to be met with a self important response like your self, acknowledge that some people are just not worth engaging with and walk away, How dare they look at you mind !!! the fascists

Its not like there are multiple aggressive nutter groups left and right wing as well as criminal who specifically target garda both personally and professionally for their own reasons

Alsore your comment on body cams. Gardai have been calling for them for years but are being prevented bu the ICCL and GSOC.

Harassment of gardaí over policing of water protests investigated – The Irish Times

Partners of Garda superintendents recorded and harrassed, conference hears – The Irish Times

Garda F390: Tributes flow for tragic Dublin officer Alan Leblique hailed 'gentleman and credit to his profession' - Dublin Live

Gardaí 'bore the brunt of public anger over public health restrictions' (irishexaminer.com)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭TimHorton

It's a Public place, If the cops don't like it then tough, end of story, Photography is not a crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,694 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You were looking for trouble, simple as!

you went out of your way to antagonise gardai who were doing their job as public servants..

and your actions here, rude, ignorant, and intimidatory. Nobody wants any fooking strangers just randomly walking around photographing them. And I don’t care what laws you want to quote.

and you then have the gall to accuse them of harassment. A lot of strangers would have hit you a smack..

"I wonder at your version of the conversation, too "

Were you there? Are you saying I'm not telling the truth? I was told by the Gard in very unfriendly way that (a) I wasn't allowed to take the photo and (b) that I didn't have his permission. Both of these are untrue (as to my best knowledge), hence I was asking for confirmation on this thread.

Now I'm being attacked by many here as to my intentions, my own self righteousness, and my disregard to homeless people.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭nedkelly123

The Gardai have a hard enough job to do without idiots trying to photograph them ....

perhaps the business owner rang them and told them that the homeless people were causing problems and then you pop up with you camera out .

why didnt you just let them do their job... imagine i started to wave a camera around in your face when you were at work ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭thefallingman

I'd say there's a good chance the gardai got a good photo of you as they drove slowly past

• Registered Users Posts: 5,911 ✭✭✭kirving

Many posters are entirely missing the point of the OP. Given the very public nature of their work and the potential outcomes of a Garda lying, Gardai should have zero expectation of privacy during their day-to-day work. In fact, they should be routinely recorded, and the GRA themselves have been requesting bodycams for years.

That might be to protect the Gardai themselves, but they protect the public too. (once they introduced alongside laws to make them mandatory as opposed to optional, and stiff penalties for deactivating them)

A Garda doing their job professionally should have no issue with being recorded. If they do, they're not in the right job.